We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Serenidad
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Banana Azul(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Maritza(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Loco Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Boutique Indalo(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Umami Hotel(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blue Conga(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Escape Caribeno(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Yare(Cocles)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
238
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmother dear cottagesocean cottageswonderful hostspuerto viejowonderful cottagesound of the wavespata negraprivate beachminute walkbanana azulbeautiful bathroomcovered deckslice of heavenperfect mixprivate toursan josein town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 241 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Mother Dear is a wonderful getaway! Leave the hustle & bustle of life, slow down, kick up your feet watch and listen to the waves crashing just meters away! The grounds are beautiful! We even saw wild horses grazing in the yard!
The black sand beach right out front seems almost private as we only saw a handful of people. If you're looking for a romantic getaway...look no further!
If you're looking for adventure, the tour companies picked us up and dropped us off right at Mother Dear!
Debbie & Jimmy are great! The Cottages are beautiful and the weather was perfect! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lloyd9881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at Mother Dear early this year. The property is beautiful and well located. Jimmy was efficient in answering queries when booking, and the whole experience was pleasant and smooth before we got to PV. When we got to Mother Dear, Jimmy and Debbie were excellent hosts and helped us settle in and also gave us an overview of the place and nearby places. They also helped us arrange excursions and taxis, and provided good suggestions for places to visit and restaurants. I would definitely go back to Mother Dear, and it was our best experience in Costa Rica. Do not hesitate, just book your stay here.
Many thanks Jimmy and Debbie!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StickyFingaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I cant. Absolutely incredible.
My wife and I just returned from 8 nights there and are already planning our next escape. Jimmy and Debbie have done an amazing job at creating something special there. I'm not much of a wordsmith so I will keep it simple.
I am a Canadian carpenter and the construction is great. Bathroom is beyond North American standards. Water is pipping hot, shower has great pressure and you can flush your toilet paper. (actually a big deal down there). Layout is simple and functional, lay in bed (which is uber comfy) and gaze through the open double doors out to the beautiful yard, pristine beach and blue water. Having a stove and an apartment size fridge is great, I might have used the blender a bit also ;) Grounds are in great shape as they have a full time caretaker. Super helpful and never in the way. Honestly though most off your time will be spent on the deck or the beach. Your PRIVATE beach. I mean I saw more dogs,horses,chickens,birds,frogs,butterflies etc then people every day. I was feeding wild horses with my morning coffee in one hand. Incredible!
The best part by far though was Jimmy and Debbie. There "vibe" is great and there needs to be a place I can click 6 stars for just them. Just super people. Great advice at every turn. Make sure to listen to Debbie sing a few tunes down at the Lazy Mon, enough said;) One of there friends Neil took us on a "locals only" walking tour to some of the most spectacular hidden beaches you will every see. Track him down if you can you wont regret it.

Room Tip: Currently cabin #1 has an empty lot next to it and a much stronger wi/fi signal. Yes I know leave work at home if you can, but if you cant, a decent signal is nice. PS Jimmy will probably have the wi/fi figured out by now as he was mid-improvement when we were there
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JohnMooney_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of these beautiful cabins for 7 nights at the end of December. We have stayed in amazing places all over the world, and this was right up there as one of our favourites. No, it's not a Ritz Carlton hotel or an all inclusive, but it was absolutely perfect. The owners are Debbie and Jimmy, a lovely couple who live on the property and are always available it needed, but leave you to your privacy at the same time. They have two cabinas on their property, and they honestly have thought of everything and have done it to perfection. The cabins are handcrafted out of the most beautiful woods ever, the units are absolutely spotlessly clean and very spacious. The pictures don't give you a sense of how large it actually is. There is a wonderfully comfortable king size bed, and a very large bathroom, with a huge shower. And the deck, oh wow! It was huge with two hammocks, a table and two really comfortable captains chairs that we spent way too much time sitting in and gazing at the beach, watching wild horses roaming through the yard and at night watching fireflies all around us. We were there during the rainy season, and throughly loved it. When it rained, it was like the skies just opened up. You could sit nice and dry under the covered deck and just watch it come down. Even had a massage on the deck one day by a fellow Canadian named Ro. She was awesome. Highly recommend her. The kitchen has everything you need to cook, a full size fridge and basic spices, olive oil etc. which was very much appreciated. Debbie even had cold beer and pop, milk and croissants ready for us when we arrived. As a frequent traveller, I can't tell you how these small details make such a difference. We were in other places during our three weeks in Costa Rica that didn't even have salt, pepper or sugar when we arrived. The location is ideal too. It is far enough away from the town of Puerto Viejo to enjoy the quiet of our own stretch of beach, but close enough to walk it. There was a couple of grocery stores to chose from, a fish monger and a meat shop, which Debbie told us about, so we were totally set. One day we rented bicycles from Banana Azul which is a 5 minute walk from Mother Dear. $6 a day and you can ride up and down the coast and explore to your hearts content. Sorry we can't report on any of the tours available because we didn't do any. We chose to just relax and go into "sloth mode" as we like to call being 100% lazy. We ate at a couple of restaurants and they were not bad, but we ate most of our meals in. The seafood is so fresh and the chicken is delicious, and considering we had an oceanfront table at our own place, why would we go anywhere else? I would not hesitate in recommending Mother Dear and if we ever get the chance to go back to the Caribbean, we will make sure we stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We live in Costa Rica on the west coast and were looking for a apecial get-away in a tranquil place a little away from town and the main highway,. We found it at Mother Dear cottages. Only the birds and the sound of surf to awake us each morning.

The hosts were very non intrusive, which we enjoyed...there if you needed them, but very respectful of our privacy. One evening we told the cleaning person that we would like to grill some fish we had. He not only brought the grill over to our cabin downstairs (where there is a shaded space and some furniture), but made sure it was all cleaned and ready for our use.

Even though someone was in the other unit part of the time, we felt we really had our privacy by the way the units are arranged. The hosts are finishing their home, which stands between the two rental units, so that might change once they are living there full time.

The seas were pretty rough in Jan. when we were there, but we did wade in the water often.
We had 5 days of sunshine and one night of rain...perfect for us!

Renting bikes from a nearby hotel was great for a day of riding to all the nearby lovely beaches. Some nice breezes and shade en route on the highway to escape the sunshine.

Plenty of dancing to be found in Puerto Viejo...even live music several nights. Salsa, rock and roll and reggae...lots of music for all types of dancing. That made the trip for us!!

It's the cleanest, most well-equipped and beautifully located lodging in the area. Three fans, full sized fridge and eating areas outside and in. Always felt safe there...being up high offered nice views, security and great breezes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews