We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Cottage Great People”
Review of Villas Serenidad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Serenidad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This gem of a cottage is very built, clean and gorgeous. It is entirely made from laqured hardwood. The cottage faces the beach which is a stones throw away. It's elevated construction not only makes for a great unobstructed view but also captures the ocean breeze making for a very comfortable open air sleep. Going to bed with the sounds of the waves and waking with the song bird's seranade was very relaxing. The cottage is roomy and well apointed with screened in windows, a large porch, mini galley - great for fixing breakfast and an evening snack, and all the appliances you'd need including extra fans, toaster, coffee maker etc. Debbie starts you out with a bit of the essentials (coffee, a few drinks, etc) but there are no less than three supermarkets in town and some local bakeries and meat shops to choose from if you decide to cook.

Jimmy and Debbie are excellent hosts. Great communication via email made planning the trip easy and they were there to answer any questions we had or offer a ride to town if we needed one. Although we almost always just walked down the deserted black sands beach 15 min to Puerto Viejo. They are super friendly and social when engaged but will just as well leave you be so you feel like you are alone on the property.

In this area the local "Sodas" (think small restaurant) are the best although we had great meals in a variety of places. Jeffery's - a locals place- is a 3 min walk and has great Carribean style cusine and is one of the less expensive options. The public bus stops there as well so you can access the entire eastern coast by waving a bus down. If you prefer, the property is on the stop schedule for Interbus from San Jose and all of the tour operators will pick you up at your door for a variety of 1/2 day to several day excursions.

All-in-all, I can't recommend Mother Dear enough!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Villas Serenidad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 231 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

Just unbeleivable! Un petit coin de paradis!
Shuch great people in this little paradise. Home away from home and more!
Location is great, private place on the beach perfect for honeymooners and lovers.
All the lilte attentions you are not expecting: a few beers, juice and croissants for your first break of the day. Need a taxi, the neigbour will bring you to where you want to go. Need advice, just ask Jimmy and Debbie. Howling monkeys wake you as the sun is rising, wild horses great you at the end of the day and the vegetation is as never seen. You will want to stay in for a romantic diner on the patio.
This place is just way better than expected! Reviews and pictures even if impressive cannot describe this place well enough! Our stay at Mother Dear was just full of smiles, laughter and relaxation...
Merci beaucoup Jimmy et Debbie pour un séjour inoubliable.
Sophie et Gaby

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I have traveled extensively in my lifetime and this is by far one of the most memorable trips I have taken and it was largely because of the accomodations at Mother Dear. I can not say enough about the cleanliness, the view and the hospitality. Although you can go into town to dine we chose to go to the grocery store and prepare our meals in the fully stocked kitchen. We absolutely loved waking up to wild horses feeding in the morning along the beach and having our coffee on the deck. In the evenings we dined outside while enjoying a glass of wine listening to the waves roll in on the secluded beach. If you need some time to "get your mind right", this is the place. Jimmy and Debbie are the most gracious hosts and they exude love for their little hideaway. Anytime we had a question or need they went above the call of duty to help us. I have already begun talks with my mom and sister about going back for a girls getaway.......!!! I will be returning!!!! I already miss it terribly....I actually cried when we left..LOL

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livinlife791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

It was incredibly peaceful, relaxing, rejuvenating and refreshing. And Debbie and Jimmy are like family, caring for your needs, smiling, chatting and enjoying their lives as guests pass through. I'd return any day, any time... and the longer the stay, the better. Literally, the two cabins are right on the beach, where few other hotels, hostels, etc. are located. Therefore, it's as if it is your own beach. Thank you Debbie and Jimmy!

Room Tip: The longer the stay, the better!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cam2yogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at Mother Dear for 3 nights in the middle of September. I wish we could have stayed longer. The beautiful wooden cabina sits on stilts looking directly at the beach. You can watch the waves while lying in bed. Although we had planned on doing many things while in Puerto Viejo we found ourselves content to just hang out, swim, and do our dining there. Mother Dear is conviently located out of town so that the noise of PV cannot be heard yet close enough to pick up goceries without a car. We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Both cabinas are excellent
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

For singles or couples looking for a beach-side location, this is difficult to beat. The construction and fixtures are top-notch and the hosts are gracious and considerate. If the price is in your range, stop looking and book. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This was our favorite, in all of the places we stayed during our 2 weeks traveling accross Costa. If you visit the east coast of Costa book a stay with Mother Dear.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
0.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,478 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
653 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,037 reviews
10.2 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Serenidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Serenidad

Address: Calle Bar Pen Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70401, Costa Rica (Formerly Mother Dear Ocean Cottages)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two hand-crafted hardwood cottages by the sea. Built for maximum air circulation, the cottages are elevated, cooled by ocean breezes during the day and mountain backdrafts at night. Beach music and forest sounds help you rest, relax, and renew. Beautiful hardwood floors and custom furniture make for a warm and cozy nest. Looking out above the beach from your porch, listening to the sound of the crashing waves, life is good! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Serenidad Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing