We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful beach”
Review of Villas Serenidad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Serenidad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at Mother Dear for 3 nights in the middle of September. I wish we could have stayed longer. The beautiful wooden cabina sits on stilts looking directly at the beach. You can watch the waves while lying in bed. Although we had planned on doing many things while in Puerto Viejo we found ourselves content to just hang out, swim, and do our dining there. Mother Dear is conviently located out of town so that the noise of PV cannot be heard yet close enough to pick up goceries without a car. We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Both cabinas are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 231 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

For singles or couples looking for a beach-side location, this is difficult to beat. The construction and fixtures are top-notch and the hosts are gracious and considerate. If the price is in your range, stop looking and book. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This was our favorite, in all of the places we stayed during our 2 weeks traveling accross Costa. If you visit the east coast of Costa book a stay with Mother Dear.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

thank you for all. it's a little paradise, in front of the sea . we appreciated the house, it's new, very well done. it's a peace palce to rest and appreciated pueto viejo . we can only recomand this place

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie2262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

What a great location next to surf and sand. The two modern 'casitas' are wonderful. Since each cabin is elevated, there is a nice ocean breeze plus a view. Very pretty inside and the porch was a delight for reading, napping in a hammock, having breakfast or a glass of wine while watching tropical birds or friendly wild horses which came for a visit! It's a true escape from the urban 'jungle'. At the same time there are excellent restaurants down the road in Puerto Viejo and lots of choices for excursions, from seeing turtles laying eggs in season, to biking, and other excursions up or down the coast. True fun and relaxation. The hosts, Jimmy and Debbie are warm and wonderul and provide valuable local information and resources. Debbie even arranged for a massage in my casita! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We needed a quick get-away from San Jose, and Mother Dear was the perfect spot for exploring the southern Caribbean coast. The house itself is, with no exaggeration, the nicest rental property we've seen in Costa Rica: well-built, beautifully furnished, and immaculate. The view from the balcony is wonderful, and the beach-side location means you don't have to leave the property to enjoy the ocean. We also loved getting to know Jimmy and Debbie, a sweet, interesting couple who were very attentive and helpful. In short, a fantastic place that we hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful cabina. The owners are some of the best people you will ever meet. Theirs is a unique place, with a stunning view of the ocean right from the bed. The amazing beach is isolated and surrounded by green forests and tranquility. The room itself was impeccable and it is impossible to find a fault with the staff or facilities. Even the wireless speed was faster than at my home.

We visitied a nearby shelter for wild animals and spent good time petting the monkeys and sloths! (amazing!) There is also easy access to a number of wonderful restaurants. Even a wonderful masseur is offered, this is a must.

The things I loved the most were: definitely the beautifully designed room, with amazing wood work, the neatly set up kitchenette, stocked with everything you need to make your vacation easy, the ample balcony with the counter to have breakfast in front of the amazing view of the ocean, the visits of wild horses to the beach, the monkeys and the bed... so soft.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabyRojas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
0.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,487 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
694 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,043 reviews
10.2 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Serenidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Serenidad

Address: Calle Bar Pen Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70401, Costa Rica (Formerly Mother Dear Ocean Cottages)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two hand-crafted hardwood cottages by the sea. Built for maximum air circulation, the cottages are elevated, cooled by ocean breezes during the day and mountain backdrafts at night. Beach music and forest sounds help you rest, relax, and renew. Beautiful hardwood floors and custom furniture make for a warm and cozy nest. Looking out above the beach from your porch, listening to the sound of the crashing waves, life is good! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Serenidad Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing