We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This ride ROCKS! So does Bruce and his horses and dogs!!”

Playa Chiquita Riding Adventures
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This ride ROCKS! So does Bruce and his horses and dogs!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I am a total animal and nature lover and this tour fit the bill for me! Playa Chiquita is south of Puerto Viejo about 3 miles. It is a beautiful area, with tons of gorgeous beaches! The stables are just of off the road, on the right side. Bruce is friendly, positive and a great person! He takes good care of you(and the horses) the whole time and makes you feel safe! All along the ride....mostly on the shade of the beach (lots of it!) and also on the actual beach, if you prefer...he spotted wildlife for us to see and also , on our break , he found some wonderful coconuts and opened them and we all ate coconut! Yum...my favorite! I will be back to ride again with Bruce! Thanks Bruce!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank margolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Horse Riding Experience!!!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I have been on many horse riding trips and this one was the absolute best. Bruce was extremely personable and went out of his way to make our day fun and comfortable. Our trip lasted longer than advertised (which was perfectly fine), brought us through the jungle, took us along the beach, and ended with a fresh coconut drink. I would highly recommend this attraction to anyone and everyone who makes their way to this part of Costa Rica!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xxawd777xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic ride in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We visited Costa Rica in May 2013 on honeymoon and spent a brilliant morning with Bruce and his lovely dogs and horses riding on the beach and forest. Bruce met us with the horses at our lodge and we had a beautiful and very relaxing ride, taking in the scenery and nature and chatting with Bruce about the local area, the horses and the flora and fauna around us. Bruce also found a very tasty coconut for us on the beach! Couldn't recommend this trip more highly, a few hours very well spent!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank clairejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tigra De Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you so much Bruce”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was our first experience at Caribian coast, we came just for 2 days and do not had enough time for take all tour with horse, but Bruce was so nice and found time for made small especial tour for our son, that make our baby so happy!!! Bruce the great person, he love his animals and next time when we will be at Caribbean coast, we will see him again, thank you so much Bruce for perfect service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OlgayDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best horseback ride ever”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

what could be better than a laid back guide/owner, whose only rule was don't fall off :) no helmets, no nose to tail riding...just beautiful beach and scenery, and fresh coconut when we rested.. Bruce loves CR and loves his animals. Very positive, kind man, great to take a ride with.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Chiquita Riding Adventures also viewed

Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Playa Chiquita Riding Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing