We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too bad it's on the less traveled side of PV” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Sunset

Mango Sunset
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Bar, Contemporary, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Serves Alcohol
Description: Mango Sunset is a beachfront bar located in the heart of Puerto Viejo. The bar offers live music Monday-Saturday with a variety of bands playing Reggae, Salsa, Calypso, and good old fashioned rock 'n' roll. After 11pm, Mango is the bar to be at for dancing and partying with Live DJ's every night and a late night happy hour which includes $2 Cuba Libres from 11pm-1am. On Mondays (Monday Mango Madness), Wicked Wednesdays, and Saturdays, the atmosphere really cranks up a notch with Global DJs, $1 shots, and late night hours. Ladies Drink FREE Daiquiris 9pm-10pm every night except Mondays, when Ladies Drink FREE Mojitos 10pm-12am. If you are a sports fan and do not want to miss a big game while you are on vacation, Mango might just be the right place for you to root and cheer to your favorite team on the multiple screens throughout the bar. Closed Tuesdays.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too bad it's on the less traveled side of PV”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Fun bar, very generous with the free drink specials for ladies. We walked in and were instantly greeted by 2 shots and a daiquiri (free for ladies from 9-10pm). The daiquiri was amazing, basically a mango batido with liquor, not like the usual sugarfest that is called a daiquiri. Then the free shots kept coming, and my husband got them too. Friendly and responsive bar staff.

All in all the night was fun and inexpensive. I could see this being a great place if more people had shown up to the party.

The DJ was alright. He had a lot of good music but some awkward transitions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    9
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colfax CA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Memorable night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I were searching for a bar to watch the Super bowl. We met Molly as we were passing by and she encouraged us to spend the evening. Since it was a special occasion they gave everyone hamburgers and free shots. We drank enough on our own and I was really glad for that hamburger! The owners and staff are great and we had such a fun time. They made our evening special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JypsiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best times we have ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Service was phenomenal!
The owners Benny and Molly were amazing from greeting us as we walked in to suggesting cocktails to order and making us feel like family.

Drinks: Delicious and great deals for a resort you expect to pay a little more Mango has Happy Hour specials.. BOOM!!

Dancing; The DJ was bringing his "A" game playing not only the "hits" but all the classics even taking requests. The dance floor was packed all night long

If you are going to Puerto Viejo dont miss Mango!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bbeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If I could move to Costa Rica, I would make Mango Sunset my home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The new owners are truly great. Like family! They know how to have a good time and make people feel at home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TobiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere, live and great music.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had a great experience there. The live music was amazing and the drink prices were very reasonable. Love the atmosphere there. Enjoyed myself all night and the owners make it a very friendly place to that I would go back there on my next visit. Highly recommend a visit to Mango Sunset if you are ever in Puerto Viejo , Costa Rica. Cheers!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Sunset also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Mango Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing