We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, even better vibe!”

Tasty Waves Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Tasty Waves is more than a humble cantina in beautiful Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica, it's a lifestyle. We always strive to become your "home base", giving you local advice on where to go, what sites to see and how to get the most out of your journey or vacation. Our staff is more of a family and we always want you to feel welcome in our home. For the most part it's a relaxed atmosphere but don't get me wrong, we know how to party. Tasty Tuesday has become the biggest and most anticipated party of the week and we always show you a good time, so good that we close on Wednesday to clean up the aftermath. Thursday is Trivia Night, Friday is R.E.H.A.B., Saturday is Karaoke, Sunday Funday and Monday is our Movie Night with new and classics running on our 100" projector screen. Stop in, say hi and have a shot of Guaro with us. Tasty Waves Cantina ~ Livin' the Dream
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, even better vibe!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This place was a fantastic find! I had the Wedge Burrito, and my wife had the veggie tacos. We had a nice chat with the server/owner after the meal... a real laid back guy that cares about the quality of his food. I'd go back again...and again...and again...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DctThirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    120
    35
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FISH TACOS!!!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The place doesn't look like it would have great food but it does. This is a great bar right across the road from the beach. Always a great place to party (Tuesday is their biggest night) but the food is excellent. Try the fish tacos and the chicken tenders. They get their chicken from an organize farmer and they could be the best I've ever had!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FinbarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldwick, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The food, drinks, prices, service, and location are all excellent but it's the crew that works here that really sets this place apart, they are some of the nicest folks you'll ever meet, not just in Costa Rica but anywhere. They also attract fun and friendly patrons, it won't take more than a few minutes to make some new friends in this place!

Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

There were 4 of us in my party, and all of us had an excellent time! Every night, they have a different "theme/activity", with the exception of Wednesdays, when they are closed. The fish tacos are extremely tasty and the beer was probably the coldest beer in town! The owner and employees are all extremely pleasant with genuine smiles.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsMeredith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Burger”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

It's very difficult to find a good hamburger in this latitude, I had one here. Fun place, the night I was there with friends the band was so high they couldn't "work it out". Took 45 minutes to get the burger, overall though good time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BradW98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasty Waves Cantina also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Tasty Waves Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing