We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tacos, great drinks!”

Tasty Waves Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Tasty Waves is more than a humble cantina in beautiful Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica, it's a lifestyle. We always strive to become your "home base", giving you local advice on where to go, what sites to see and how to get the most out of your journey or vacation. Our staff is more of a family and we always want you to feel welcome in our home. For the most part it's a relaxed atmosphere but don't get me wrong, we know how to party. Tasty Tuesday has become the biggest and most anticipated party of the week and we always show you a good time, so good that we close on Wednesday to clean up the aftermath. Thursday is Trivia Night, Friday is R.E.H.A.B., Saturday is Karaoke, Sunday Funday and Monday is our Movie Night with new and classics running on our 100" projector screen. Stop in, say hi and have a shot of Guaro with us. Tasty Waves Cantina ~ Livin' the Dream
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good tacos, great drinks!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Came here twice during our stay. I loved the Passionfruit Caipirinhas!! Came back one night to do trivia and it was a blast! Would recommend if you are looking for a laid back place for drinks and quality munchies :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wallyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    118
    34
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fun, fun, Fun!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

First of all, it's just FUN! One could spend much time just reading the walls! We met everyone who worked there and enjoyed chatting with them all. The fish tacos were GREAT and the Burger was bigger than my husband! Great service, great food! Another great find in Pto. Viejo!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Place To Chill Out”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very nice atmosphere here and the Tacos are excellent , just outside Puerto Viejo heading to Cocles . Great staff who pass on any relevant information about the area , this has become my second home whilst here . No pretensions at all just very relaxed and friendly .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Service is Great, food is good, but not great.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a funky little place across from the beach. They play movies on some nights, have specials on taco Tuesdays and so on. Some reviewers have said they are the best tacos ever, and while I certainly have no complaints, they are far from the "Best" I have ever had. I would put them as a standard texmexy type. They were yummy which is good enough. The service was outstanding, friendly and with great advice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lemonmerangue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fun times”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

stopped here a few times after being at the beach, great place to grab a drink..they have a good happy hour and $1 shots...all the bartenders and the owner were supper friendly and chill. they even had a band one night that was great! I will definitely spend some more time here my next vacation

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasty Waves Cantina also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Tasty Waves Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing