We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is Great, food is good, but not great.”

Tasty Waves Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tasty Waves is more than a humble cantina in beautiful Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica, it's a lifestyle. We always strive to become your "home base", giving you local advice on where to go, what sites to see and how to get the most out of your journey or vacation. Our staff is more of a family and we always want you to feel welcome in our home. For the most part it's a relaxed atmosphere but don't get me wrong, we know how to party. Tasty Tuesday has become the biggest and most anticipated party of the week and we always show you a good time, so good that we close on Wednesday to clean up the aftermath. Thursday is Trivia Night, Friday is R.E.H.A.B., Saturday is Karaoke, Sunday Funday and Monday is our Movie Night with new and classics running on our 100" projector screen. Stop in, say hi and have a shot of Guaro with us. Tasty Waves Cantina ~ Livin' the Dream
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Service is Great, food is good, but not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a funky little place across from the beach. They play movies on some nights, have specials on taco Tuesdays and so on. Some reviewers have said they are the best tacos ever, and while I certainly have no complaints, they are far from the "Best" I have ever had. I would put them as a standard texmexy type. They were yummy which is good enough. The service was outstanding, friendly and with great advice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lemonmerangue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    116
    33
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fun times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

stopped here a few times after being at the beach, great place to grab a drink..they have a good happy hour and $1 shots...all the bartenders and the owner were supper friendly and chill. they even had a band one night that was great! I will definitely spend some more time here my next vacation

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollitt, Il
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for our Group!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I just got back from Costa Rica with 19 high school students and our lunch at Tasty Waves was a highlight! I would describe it as an experience rather than just a meal. The owner Bryton and his staff were genuinely excited to have us and my students felt like very important guests. Bryton worked out a pre-order ahead of time, so my students had their lunch soon after our arrival. The system couldn't have worked any more smoothly. Our kids had fun playing pool (which was free,) playing bags and using the Wi-Fi. The adults were able to take a needed break and enjoy our lunch knowing that everyone was happy and occupied. All of our food was great and the kids gave an enthusiastic thumbs-up - not an easy feat with a pack of teenagers. The folks at Tasty Waves are really fun, but they also take care of business. I couldn't have been more happy with our experience there and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to other groups. Hasta pronto!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“C U next Tuesday ;)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great place to go many nights of the week. Tuesday nights are great for some partying. Amazing bar where you meet people from all over the world (mostly backpackers) and have a chill good time.
Thursdays are trivia night which is also a great event to enjoy company and the great staff. Cannot say enough about this place. It makes you want to stay in this wonderful village forever!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“tasty tuesday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Got into puerto viejo on tuesday afternoon. Caught some waves at cochel. Me and Sherri walked down to the tasty waves to get some food. Great tacos, drinks people really friendly. Live music was awesome. The owner and guys behind the bar were fantastic. We were back everynight after that. Trivia was hillarious. I reccommend it to everyone who likes to chill out and relax. Will be back asap.
O

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasty Waves Cantina also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to Tasty Waves Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing