We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but nothing special.”

Restaurante Lidia's Place
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Small family owned restaurant in town. I don't thing there are any street addresses there.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent, but nothing special.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This was the first place my partner and I ate at when we arrived in Puerto Viejo. We had our first plate of fish in Caribbean sauce with rice and beans, slaw and palm heart. We thought it was great at the time, but after having eaten at more restaurants, I realized that the food was pretty average and actually quite expensive considering you could get the same meal at other restaurants for less money and way more flavour. I guess in summary, I would say it was aight; not really a must-eat-hear place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bellalugosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    110
    40
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
156 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Perfect local vibe”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a spot that all the locals recommend--and with good reason! We ate our last meal here, and it didn't disappoint. The atmosphere is so Puerto Viejo, and there were lots of locals dining (always a good sign)! The chicken with the Caribbean sauce was a highlight!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank emiliewasmyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok food, ok prices”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Perhaps it's just the Carribean style but the answer to "thank you" is not OK even though the food and the prices are exactly that.
As everything else in the town they close early.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkusA83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, authentic Caribbean flavour”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a really good meal at Lidia's place. I thought that perhaps the food was a bit more expensive than you might normally expect at a soda, it was very tasty. I had the house speciality of red snapper cooked in a vegetable sauce and it was spectacular. Great patacones as well. Friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere. Very authentic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Visit this place! amazing Caribbean food ...!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Visit this place!
Lidia's has amazing Caribbean food & wonderful people
Great place to try the local cuisine and clean place.
The rice and beans with chicken should be at the top of your list .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Lidia's Place also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Restaurante Lidia's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing