We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway right on the beach”
other travelers have booked this property
The front yard.  Yes that's the beach and those are wild horses!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front yard.  Yes that's the beach and those are wild horses!
View of house from the beach Back Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
The front yard.  Yes that's the beach and those are wild horses!
View of house from the beach
Back Entrance
View of the house from the parking area
The back patio
Downstairs living room
The Kitchen and dining area and couch
One of the two bedrooms
One of the two bedrooms with a double bed for two people
The front yard and beach
Back of House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
smedina89
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway right on the beach”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

BIGGEST PERK: The house is on the beach! You walk out to the back patio, head to the end of the yard and you hit sand. Black sad -- Playa Negra!

No matter where you are in the house, you can hear the waves. At night, we slept with the windows open (security doors locked) and enjoyed a perfect ocean breeze. The property itself is just beautiful and lush with gorgeous flowers and trees.

The house is comfortable and cozy with two bedrooms and one bathroom. The kitchen is equipped with all the necessary cookware and utensils so we saved money by not eating out every day. The bathroom is a really good size, huge shower, plenty of towels. There's Wifi, DirecTV and a cozy living room area. The master bedroom is a really good size with a huge safe to store your belongings. The second bedroom is a little smaller but still very roomy.

Susana, the house manager, was only a couple of houses down and she answered all of our questions about the house and about the area. She's an ex-Pat so she speaks English as well as Spanish. She is a sweetheart!

Pedro's Place is not a resort, there's no housekeeping or room service, but that's not what we were looking for. We wanted to get away from t all and we were looking a peaceful place close to the beach. Pedro's Place was perfect! In fact, we're going back in July. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locattion
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristenls...
Orcas Island, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rejuvenation on the beach”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found Pedro's Place a comfortable and perfect rejuvenation for our week on the Caribbean. We rented the entire house, upstairs and down, which made for a perfect combination of practical living downstairs and 'yoga, meditation, reading retreat' upstairs. The black sand beach stretching for miles in each direction was heaven on earth. Sleeping with the sound of the waves was soothing to the soul. Susana, the caretaker was responsive and helpful, making us feel comfortable and giving references for any sort of activity of interest. Her encouragement to take a guided jungle tour with Tino, an engaging Biologist with a wealth of information, was a highlight of our month long trip.

I would recommend this home to couples or families who want to relax, settle in, and explore all that the Caribbean has to offer without having to deal with the uber tourism that is prevalent in other places of Costa Rica, such as La Fortuna. You have the beach, culture, nature, yoga, restaurants, music, kayaking, turtles, sloths, snorkeling, ziplines, chocolate tours, jungle tours, fishing, more.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable beachfront - Great place - fantastic stay”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Location is unbelievable, house is rustic but has everything we ever wanted, manager super helpful and attentive.

Close enough for easy access to town but private enough to feel like we had our own estate. House has nice safety features and manager is just down the road. We felt safe and looked out for.

The deck out front is great.

We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ernieLoom...
loomis ca
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Mixed bag, decide for yourself”
Reviewed February 24, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the upstairs studio for 9 nights. We would consider this modest, rustic accommodations so we were not expecting luxury. Just clean, simple place with the killer view.
What we liked...
The view from the deck cannot be beat.
Nice foliage leading out to the black sand beach
Can hear the waves crashing day and night
In room safe( small can fit an i pad but not a laptop)
Small flat screen tv
Free wifi
DVD player
Bodega access includes a washing machine if needed. Clothes line as well
5 minute walk to Ananda yoga,
5 minute walk to The Point beach bar and restaurant,
Small grocery store with decent selection also 5 minutes away
Banana Azul, nice beach, restaurant, bar, bicycle rentals 10 minute walk
15 minute walk on beach into town

What we didn't, like...
Leaky toilet. There.s a bucket to catch the water, needs to be emptied 2-3 times per day or will overflow.
Lukewarm water in shower lasting only a couple of minutes. It was hot when we stayed so not an issue for us
Every screen on the Windows are ripped, a lot. Presents bug issues and potential safety issues. One can easily reach right in the open screen. We felt pretty safe until the second to last night of our stay when we were awoken by a man in front of the house screaming, then came into the yard (no secure fencing like many other properties slashing a plant, and carried on for an hour or so. Quite an unsettling experience.
Termites are abundant. Termite dust daily
There's a coffee pot but no basket or filters. We boiled water on the stove to make coffee.
The deck has a small table and 2 wooden straight back chairs. Very uncomfortable. Suggest plastic chairs like the downstairs unit Would be great
Water is not recommended to drink and purified water is not provided. I would recommend the owner provide a large bottle of water when you arrive and charge extra if need be. Water is expensive. We went through several 6 liter bottles and they are the equivalent of $5 US.
Unlike others, we did not have a good experience with Susanna, the onsite caretaker. Basically not responsive when we arrived. Met her the next day when she came to collect the money and answer some of our questions about wifi code and gaining access to the safe. We have emailed and texted her about our departure tomorrow and where to leave the keys. Still waiting for a response.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted”
Reviewed December 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Easily accessible from the main bus route.
Remote enough to often have the beach to ourselves, yet close enough to easily walk to town.
House was well equipped. Our caretaker, Susana, was always available if we needed help or info. Restful sleeps due to the sound of the waves.
We rented both floors, and were 7 to sleep there: 5 downstairs and 2 upstairs. We never felt overcrowded in the house - especially with access to two beautiful terraces.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DumesNY
Cohoes, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this place. The studio looks bigger in the pics and the bathroom is cramped (you almost have to sit sideways on the toilet or youll be chest up to the sink) but it wasnt a bad choice. The AMAZING views and access literally to your own spot on the black beach DEFINITELY made up for it. This place in my opinion is perfectly positioned. It was close enough to the town (especially with bikes) about one mile and far enough away to have a peaceful nights sleep with no one around. No need for an alarm clock - you have roosters!! Susana was GREAT! What a nice person! She was always available to us and answered all of our questions and gave us awesome suggestions. She intriduced us to the owners of "The Point" (the bar at the end of the street) and we ended up making great friends! We LOVED Puerto Viejo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The vacinity to the beach!
Liked least: The beds
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerri D
Manta, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice beach house”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This was called Pedro's Place last month. Nothing fancy but great for a beach house. Short distance to Banana Azul, about 25 min walk along beach to town. You can hear the surf day and night. I would have liked better access to property manager, Susana. Tried to call her 5 times in one day, as we needed toilet paper and a light bulb. Finally reached her on our 2nd day there. I know she was in th midst of moving, so that may have been the reason. However, the day I did see her, when we checked in, she was very friendly, helpful and a great resource for our stay. Also be aware that while you pay your deposit by CC they want the balance in cash. I found this to be the case at Wahoo Fishing also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and on the beach
Liked least: Distance to town
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing