We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exactly what we wanted”
other travelers have booked this property
The front yard.  Yes that's the beach and those are wild horses!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front yard.  Yes that's the beach and those are wild horses!
View of house from the beach Back Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
The front yard.  Yes that's the beach and those are wild horses!
View of house from the beach
Back Entrance
View of the house from the parking area
The back patio
Downstairs living room
The Kitchen and dining area and couch
One of the two bedrooms
One of the two bedrooms with a double bed for two people
The front yard and beach
Back of House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kathy K
loomis ca
Level 6 Contributor
598 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Mixed bag, decide for yourself”
Reviewed February 24, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the upstairs studio for 9 nights. We would consider this modest, rustic accommodations so we were not expecting luxury. Just clean, simple place with the killer view.
What we liked...
The view from the deck cannot be beat.
Nice foliage leading out to the black sand beach
Can hear the waves crashing day and night
In room safe( small can fit an i pad but not a laptop)
Small flat screen tv
Free wifi
DVD player
Bodega access includes a washing machine if needed. Clothes line as well
5 minute walk to Ananda yoga,
5 minute walk to The Point beach bar and restaurant,
Small grocery store with decent selection also 5 minutes away
Banana Azul, nice beach, restaurant, bar, bicycle rentals 10 minute walk
15 minute walk on beach into town

What we didn't, like...
Leaky toilet. There.s a bucket to catch the water, needs to be emptied 2-3 times per day or will overflow.
Lukewarm water in shower lasting only a couple of minutes. It was hot when we stayed so not an issue for us
Every screen on the Windows are ripped, a lot. Presents bug issues and potential safety issues. One can easily reach right in the open screen. We felt pretty safe until the second to last night of our stay when we were awoken by a man in front of the house screaming, then came into the yard (no secure fencing like many other properties slashing a plant, and carried on for an hour or so. Quite an unsettling experience.
Termites are abundant. Termite dust daily
There's a coffee pot but no basket or filters. We boiled water on the stove to make coffee.
The deck has a small table and 2 wooden straight back chairs. Very uncomfortable. Suggest plastic chairs like the downstairs unit Would be great
Water is not recommended to drink and purified water is not provided. I would recommend the owner provide a large bottle of water when you arrive and charge extra if need be. Water is expensive. We went through several 6 liter bottles and they are the equivalent of $5 US.
Unlike others, we did not have a good experience with Susanna, the onsite caretaker. Basically not responsive when we arrived. Met her the next day when she came to collect the money and answer some of our questions about wifi code and gaining access to the safe. We have emailed and texted her about our departure tomorrow and where to leave the keys. Still waiting for a response.

Date of stay: February 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonp6
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted”
Reviewed December 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Easily accessible from the main bus route.
Remote enough to often have the beach to ourselves, yet close enough to easily walk to town.
House was well equipped. Our caretaker, Susana, was always available if we needed help or info. Restful sleeps due to the sound of the waves.
We rented both floors, and were 7 to sleep there: 5 downstairs and 2 upstairs. We never felt overcrowded in the house - especially with access to two beautiful terraces.

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DumesNY
Cohoes, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this place. The studio looks bigger in the pics and the bathroom is cramped (you almost have to sit sideways on the toilet or youll be chest up to the sink) but it wasnt a bad choice. The AMAZING views and access literally to your own spot on the black beach DEFINITELY made up for it. This place in my opinion is perfectly positioned. It was close enough to the town (especially with bikes) about one mile and far enough away to have a peaceful nights sleep with no one around. No need for an alarm clock - you have roosters!! Susana was GREAT! What a nice person! She was always available to us and answered all of our questions and gave us awesome suggestions. She intriduced us to the owners of "The Point" (the bar at the end of the street) and we ended up making great friends! We LOVED Puerto Viejo!

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The vacinity to the beach!
Liked least: The beds
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerri D
Manta, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice beach house”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This was called Pedro's Place last month. Nothing fancy but great for a beach house. Short distance to Banana Azul, about 25 min walk along beach to town. You can hear the surf day and night. I would have liked better access to property manager, Susana. Tried to call her 5 times in one day, as we needed toilet paper and a light bulb. Finally reached her on our 2nd day there. I know she was in th midst of moving, so that may have been the reason. However, the day I did see her, when we checked in, she was very friendly, helpful and a great resource for our stay. Also be aware that while you pay your deposit by CC they want the balance in cash. I found this to be the case at Wahoo Fishing also.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and on the beach
Liked least: Distance to town
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smilentra...
Tucson, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation Spot”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Pedro's Place is a great option in Puerto Viejo. Susana the caretaker is wonderful. She helped us with everything we needed and even checked us in very late at night. The house itself is right on the beach. You have the beach to yourself. The house itself worked great for us. We rented both the bottom and top floors. There were 7 of us and the bedding worked great for us. We had 3 children with us and one slept on the couch bed each night. The house is rustic but met our needs fine. Felt very secure in the house. Also don't worry about it not having a/c. Open the doors and the porch area. With the fans it was very pleasant. My favorite part was sitting in a hammock listening to all the birds and seeing horses come through. Thanks for a great time.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael n
Eastsound, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beachfront Perfection!”
Reviewed November 30, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Pedro's Place last month for a postponed honeymoon. We couldn't have chosen a better spot! The owner and nearby manager were easy to work with and attended to all of our needs. The location was perfect; right on the beautiful black sand beach and within walking distance to nearby Puerto Viejo. We stayed in the upstairs apartment which is perfect for two people and has a fantastic view of the gardens and beach from an open air balcony.
We found Pedro's Place to be an exceptional value, accommodating and complete with all the conveniences we needed!
It was the perfect romantic getaway in Puerto Viejo and we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: October 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, price
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlette V
Deuil-la-Barre, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a disingenuous owner !”
Reviewed September 9, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We rented Pedro's Place for two days in august 2011.

After exchanging several messages with the owner, asking information about availability and the possibility of renting the house for a party of seven, Pedro gave us a positive answer. We made the paypal payment in order to confirm the reservation.

When we arrived at the house, we were really surprised as there were only six beddings. And that's what Pedro answer when we asked for an explanation :

"Arlette,
Sorry you are disappointed. I know you mentioned that you were 7 people, but there was never any mention by me or you regarding 7 beds. Our website is pretty clear that there are only 3 beds downstairs and 1 bed upstairs."

What did he think, that one of us was willing to sleep on the floor ???

If you agree with this kind of mentality, Pedro's Place is your place.

If not, there are many other places, with a much better price/quality ratio , and with much more frinedly owners than Pedro.

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Owner's mentality
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing