We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic original art & fashion”

Luluberlu Art Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Luluberlu is a local Art Gallery and boutique in the centre of Puerto Viejo. It is the story of Lulu, a french artist famous for her mosaics, moving to Costa Rica. It's not just a place to shop, it's a place where you can discover the world of mosaics and art. The boutique with its workshop is definitely worth a visit. In the gallery you can purchase paintings of local Caribbean artist and national artists. Luluberlu offers a wide selection of handcrafted souvenirs, lamps, mosaics and jewellery. Besides art and souvenirs, you can find an exclusive collection of beachwear and bikinis created in the boutique and clothing of different national designers. Luluberlu is a versatile boutique where everyone can find something unique ! We now opened a restaurant in the garden of the gallery. So after shopping people can have a drink or eat something in our beautiful garden and admire the art pieces that are exposed in the back.
Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic original art & fashion”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I found this shop several years ago and now every time I come to Costa Rica (usually once a year to visit family and friends) I have to go to LuluBerlu! They carry really great original art and fashion pieces! From mosaics, lanterns, paintings, jewelry, wood crafts, cloths, swimwear, and more. It is one street back from the main street and totally worth checking out! They accept credit cards but if possible cash is more convenient.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dreemchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    5
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing. ”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This place we were sooooo excited to see..... And after walking through creepy side and back roads, we found the hours to be very unreliable and inconvenient. When we trekked back again, we were able to look around and it was not all the hype. It did not have much and what was there was very overpriced. Definitely a disappointment and not worth trying to find on Puerto Viejos premier back roads.

Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbird4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
177 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great LOCAL art!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Yeah, Trip Advisor, i'm not sure a shop should be considered an "attraction", but in this case, Lulu Berlu deserves the distinction!
This charming and eclectic little shop is a must-see for visitors to Puerto Viejo... even if you aren't interested in taking home souvenirs! What you get from the time you park your bike is a glance into the history, evolution, and attraction of Puerto Viejo and indeed, the Caribe Sur, in general.
Notice the remarkable mosaic work of the entrance walkway, walls and foundation. A clever depiction of the Caribbean coast, replete with its colorful, sparkly and diverse fish. The construction of the shop is Caribe as well, with oversized shuttered windows to encourage the breezes and bring the outside in. The colors displayed are vibrant and scream "no matchy matchy" just like the random, carefree and freedom loving people who are attracted here.
The arts and artists are juried for the store by virtue of quality and relevance to the area. They boast an enormous selection of high quality sarongs/pareos and beach bags, but not the cheesy mass produced versions you'd find at roadside vendors... beautiful pieces you'll be proud to own and show off back home... form and function!
The paintings and wall art comprise one of the best collections of history on the coast. Take your time to look at each, even if you're not interested in buying, just notice the unique designs and approaches by the artists, understanding that very few (if any) of these artists are professionally trained. The subjects are simple and beautiful, sometimes abstract, always unique.
Love this place!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janick2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Funky little shop with great clothing/souvenirs”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Cabinas Guarana just opposite Lulu Berlu so we decided to have a look. It's a great little shop with very cool clothes (some made by the owner) and souvenir items too. The owner makes bikinis and they are fantastic. I bought one as it was a bit more than I wished to pay for a bikini, but now regret not buying more as the bikini is excellent quality and looks great!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“artsy fartsy, but just right”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Found this great boutique a little off the beaten path (main street) of Puerta Viejo. They carry lots of great jewelry, clothing (although you must be fairly tiny to fit into any of it), lots of sarongs (pareos), art and other other fun stuff. It was a find amongst most of the other shops carrying t-shirts and other typical tourist items. I understood that everything was locally sourced and was a little dismayed to discover that the pareo I bought was actually from India. I still love it and am glad I purchased it, but might have chosen differently had I known at the time. I actually returned two more more times during my visit to purchase a couple of other items I just couldn't live without. Well worth seeking out on the jungle side of the main road back a street or two. People working there are very helpful and friendly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank verycoldone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luluberlu Art Gallery also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Luluberlu Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing