We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky little shop with great clothing/souvenirs”

Luluberlu Art Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Luluberlu is a local Art Gallery and boutique in the centre of Puerto Viejo. It is the story of Lulu, a french artist famous for her mosaics, moving to Costa Rica. It's not just a place to shop, it's a place where you can discover the world of mosaics and art. The boutique with its workshop is definitely worth a visit. In the gallery you can purchase paintings of local Caribbean artist and national artists. Luluberlu offers a wide selection of handcrafted souvenirs, lamps, mosaics and jewellery. Besides art and souvenirs, you can find an exclusive collection of beachwear and bikinis created in the boutique and clothing of different national designers. Luluberlu is a versatile boutique where everyone can find something unique ! We now opened a restaurant in the garden of the gallery. So after shopping people can have a drink or eat something in our beautiful garden and admire the art pieces that are exposed in the back.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Funky little shop with great clothing/souvenirs”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Cabinas Guarana just opposite Lulu Berlu so we decided to have a look. It's a great little shop with very cool clothes (some made by the owner) and souvenir items too. The owner makes bikinis and they are fantastic. I bought one as it was a bit more than I wished to pay for a bikini, but now regret not buying more as the bikini is excellent quality and looks great!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    17
    6
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“artsy fartsy, but just right”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Found this great boutique a little off the beaten path (main street) of Puerta Viejo. They carry lots of great jewelry, clothing (although you must be fairly tiny to fit into any of it), lots of sarongs (pareos), art and other other fun stuff. It was a find amongst most of the other shops carrying t-shirts and other typical tourist items. I understood that everything was locally sourced and was a little dismayed to discover that the pareo I bought was actually from India. I still love it and am glad I purchased it, but might have chosen differently had I known at the time. I actually returned two more more times during my visit to purchase a couple of other items I just couldn't live without. Well worth seeking out on the jungle side of the main road back a street or two. People working there are very helpful and friendly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank verycoldone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to shop for art!”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My friends and I couldn't get enough of shopping at this art boutique. They have beautiful handmade jewelry, clothing, pottery, woodwork, mosaics, and just about anything else you can imagine. The prices are very reasonable and the staff are really helpful and friendly. If you like original art, don't miss this place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Unbelievable art...so many interesting pieces from pottery to tiled tables to bathroom sinks! All unique, interesting, & beautiful!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JaxCR023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luluberlu Art Gallery also viewed

Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to Luluberlu Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing