We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living on a past reputation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Selvin's

Selvin's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Hautes Pyrenees
Level Contributor
188 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Living on a past reputation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having eaten at a number of other restaurants in Punta Uva and Puerto Viejo, my wife and I were disappointed with this supposedly attractive Caribbean venue. A large number of tables with a lack of serving and bar staff. Any ambience was sadly lacking, and with regard to the 'locals', these seemed to include a large proportion of elderly expats busy drinking.
Our order for 2 Margaritas took at least 15 minutes to arrive and then in small cocktail glasses unlike the full tumbler measures served elsewhere. The Red Snapper was OK- presumably nothing can wrong with grilled fish.
By 8.00pm the restaurant was nearly empty and the kitchen being cleaned down, so do not plan on eating there at a European evening time.
Our bill was high as the 13% sales tax and the obligatory 10% service charge are not included in the individual menu items, an even more expensive Margarita!
A very ordinary evening

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stillworkingat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    83
    30
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Selvin's serve really tasty caribbean food! The dishes are really big and we loved that, but the service is terrible! We wanted to pay and leave but they wouldn't send us the check! We almost left there without paying because they wouldn't pay attention to us! They acted like they were doing us a favor!
They should work on that because the food was delicious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaiFrappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One tip - GET THE LOBSTER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

After waiting for 2 hours for our red snapper at Maxi's down the road in Manzanillo, we were told by the receptionist at the hotel to come to Selvin's, a lovely open air restaurant that seemed to be popular for the locals too - always a good sign. The first thing we noticed on the menu was the lobster so we presumed it must be good. Now it's not cheap! BUT it was amazing!!! My partner and I shared a 800 pound lobster and it was cooked perfectly, with butter and stir fried onion.. My mouth is watering just thinking about it now.. You must get the lobster. Also, we ordered seconds on the caparinhnias - the waitress/barmaid did it perfectly. I wish we had known about Selvin's before we went to Maxi's as no doubt we would have gone there twice! A wonderful gem in Puerto Veijo!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L0nd0n_traveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good food, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is an open air restaurant near the beach and right on the main road. The food was good, but they definitely run on Tico time so don't go if you're in a hurry. As our hotel owner suggested, have a beer and a sandwich before you go, and you'll be fine.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good local seafood right near the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This restaurant was recommended while staying in Punta Uva, as a place that served food with local flavor and atmosphere. The atmosphere was pretty casual, and the food and drinks were good, served in an interesting open air restaurant near the main road. We enjoyed the fish dishes and the locally fried plantain and drinks. The price was about right for the food we had, and would recommend it if you were not looking for a fancy place, but somewhere that is nicer than the local sodas for food near the beach and main road.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oxwood-Farm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selvin's also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Selvin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing