We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vere nice affordable and good location place to stay !”
Review of La Casa de Rolando

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa de Rolando
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were 4 ppl travelling to Puerto Viejo,wihtout any reservations.
We got off the bus and Glenda, offered us to stay at her place...we were about to go to Heidis but the price she offered was better.
Well we made a good decision.Not only she was super sweet and always cared and asked us if everything is fine(wihtout being too much) ;)

We had previously stayed at Guarana(which is also a nice place,but more expensive and with a bunch of rules....
We are all young and we did came back late at night and made a bit of noise, and she never complained, and we never heard anybody around us neither....
i do agree there is some dog barking but just like anywhere else.

The room was SUPER CLEAN , with private showers and bathrooms(seperated)
with a Kitchette(fridge little stove ) Free WIFI, she provided towels and clean sheets.

I was a bit scared about our things getting stolen, but it was very safe, just keep in mind just like everywhere else, dont flash your things around and make sure you hide ur most valuable things in some special spot ;) That applies to anywhere in Costa Rica anyways
Also note that this place is very near town without being noisy at night.
Right next Door an amazing Soda
and a fews meters from the beach

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 32 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

The aspect I loved most about this place was the overall vibe and the friendly family that welcomed us to their property. There was some construction going on while we were there, so we ended up having to switch rooms one night while the previous one was being painted.
We had our own kitchen and decent beds. The only problem was the loud neighborhood dogs!!!!!!!!!!! That was annoying, but I'm sure it would have been annoying anywhere else nearby. Rolando is so nice, and Puerto Viejo is awesome.
Do yourself a favor and rent a bike to ride down the beautiful howler monkey filled road to Manzanillo, just a few miles away to enjoy the beach there for a day. It's a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We never travel on an itinerary, always on a piano wire budget and have been married 33 years. What we save on accomodation, leaves us more for food, diving etc. This is a simple, clean, and relaxing place, no pool., swim in the caribbean ocean a few hundred yards away! Rolando hand picks his guests, and showed us his cabanas. A few blocks off the beaten path, surrounded by a tropical jungle setting. Lots of tile and natural wood. For 20 bucks a nite, they were the cleanest private rooms with patio, hammock, fan. We are from los angeles and are used to hot weather. With the fan going at nite, and a bit of repellent..., not one mosquito bite on our 10 day vacation to nic and coasta! Great food at reasonable prices right outside the cabanas! Rolando is from switzerland, an expat and married to a lovely costa rica native, glenda. He loaned me his lap top for my personal use. Note. Water pressure is weak all over central america. Don't flush with the handle, simply pour water from the bucket provided into the potty. Thank you rolando and glenda, we had a peaceful stay at your cabanas.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skykingd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Unikać bungalowu przy wejściu jest mało prywatny, wzięliśmy go za recepcję
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KansukeDoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: évitez les chambres donnant sur l'entrée de l'établissement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JEAN MICHEL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La mejor cabaña es la que tiene cocineta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Tati Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.8 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,562 reviews
3.1 mi away
Playa Chiquita Lodge
Playa Chiquita Lodge
#1 of 2 in Playa Chiquita
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Selvin's Cabinas
Selvin's Cabinas
#2 of 3 in Punta Uva
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Rolando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Rolando

Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $31 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Casa de Rolando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Rolando Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing