We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Rooms and Tranquil Setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vista Verde Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms and Tranquil Setting!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We came here after staying at an awful place in town. It was so nice coming to such a peaceful tranquil place after our bad experience.

We stayed in a room upstairs which was HUGE and very open and airy. My boyfriend and I both loved it. It was also very clean, infact the whole place was spotless.

The showers were nice and hot and the kitchen was very well equipped - which is a deal breaker for me when you are a budget traveller!

I would definetely stay here again :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelonTrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    23
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
40
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berg
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed at Vista Verde for 2 nights. The location is great, it's very quiet and beautifully green with lots of plants around it and plenty of hammocks to enjoy the view. There is a kitchen which seems to be equipped alright (didn't actually use it).
However, the rooms were a bit too basic and not quite clean enough for our taste. The 'windows' are just big wooden shutters which you have to close when you leave the room if you wan't to be sure nobody will enter your room through them. Thus our room was very stuffy when we got back in the evening, and the mosquito nets were a bit smelly too. Also, the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner.
Overall it's not a bad place to stay if you don't mind sleeping in a very basic room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doedae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. The German owners, Olaf and Kathy are very friendly. Very clean, relaxing, safe. It's cozy, so there are not so many people, which was perfect for us. Hot shower. Very close to everything. No internet. We used the kitchen a couple of times, everything is very organized. If we go back to Puerto Viejo, we'll stay there again no doubt.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Our stay in Hospedaje Vista Verde was one of the highlights of our trip. Charming place, very friendly and helpful owners.
The rooms were basic but very clean.
Lovely building and the kitchen/dinning room area was perfect for a relaxing dinner surrounded by vegetation and wildlife.
I would deffinetly recommned it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natilia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Looking for a great hostel in PV? This is it! Excellent facilities, kind hosts, abundant wildlife, quiet, excellent location, and the price is right! Olaf and Katy made us feel like family. We loved chilling in the hammocks, watching the frogs, butterflies, and honey bears, and joking around with Olaf!

Room Tip: We liked the room at the back upstairs - quiet, private and reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Puerto Viejo is a really great beach resort but can feel a little dangerous and sketchy at times; Vista Verde is a great option if you want some where safe, clean and welcoming. The German owners were very kind and helpful, we were staying at Puerto Viejo for a birthday weekend and the owners even brought my friend a birthday card and a cake. I would say this place is best for families, couples and friends that want to relax and not best for people that want a crazy drunken time. It is a little out of town and I'm not sure if it would be safe to walk to and from the hotel at night, alone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shenzhen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

我们非常庆幸选择了这家客栈。主人是一对来自德国的夫妇,房间非常整洁,每天都会专门整理。虽然距离小镇中心需要步行几分钟,但是这个位置非常安静,并且附近的餐馆和超市也都不错,而且客栈提供厨房还可以做饭。最特别的是这个客栈的花园很好,面积非常大,每天可以看到很多不同的动物,松鼠、蝴蝶与特别的鸟类,甚至每天可以看到绿黑相间皮肤的青蛙。
We're very glad and lucky to choose the hotel in Puerto Viejo.
Clean room, quiet place and useful kitchen. The garden is very special and wonderful. We saw many birds, butterfly, squirrel and green-black frogs.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#16 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#3 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Tower Hotel
Sea Tower Hotel
#13 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.6 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#4 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Verde Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Verde Guest House

Property: Vista Verde Guest House
Address: 40 m south of Elena Brown Restaurant, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Vista VerdeWe have five beautiful private bedrooms with two shared bathrooms and showers immersed in a nice tropical garden in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca-Caribe Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Vista Verde Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Vista Verde Hotel Puerto Viejo
Vista Verde Guest House Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing