We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE STOP SHOPPING”

Gecko Trail - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gecko Trail Costa Rica is full service travel agency based in Costa Rica. We offer a wide selection of tours, activities and transportation all over the country. We are specialized in helping clients to set up a customized and authentic experience of the real Costa Rica. We plan your trip to maximize your holiday time enjoying the incredible nature and wide selection of activities, and make sure to offer a fun, safe and hassle-free experience of the best Costa Rica has to offer - whether this is for individual travelers, couples or groups, we make sure you get the right fit. Our Vision• Excellence in customer service• Innovative travel options• Professionalism in dealing with clients as well as with vendors• Provide the best quality possible• Use local providers and help the local community grow in a sustainable way• Fair employment of local staff including accurate training and salary
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“ONE STOP SHOPPING”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked 5 excursions thru Gecko in addition to airport transfers, and all went so smooth!! Nadieh was extremely helpfull from the very start with answering questions to booking tours. She even stopped by on her day off to introduce herself to us while we were on one of the tours!! Let them plan everything and just enjoy!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bolognafrank1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    36
    6
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Convenient and Safe”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We got to the airport at 6:00am Costa Rica time in San Jose and we exited the airport to be greeted with a big sign with my name on it held by a smiling driver wearing a shirt with the embroidered logo “Gecko Trail Adventures.” Paying Gecko Trail in advance to buy the public bus tickets, pick you up at the airport and take you the several miles to the bus stop is well worth the money. They also picked us up from the bus stop and took us to our hotel when we got back from the coast, and it was convenient to pay for that by credit card in advance and cost no more than a cab would have. Gecko Trail made us feel safe in Costa Rica.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank wildprecioustribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful honeymoon thanks to Gecko Trail Adventures!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I came across Gecko Trail on tripadvisor when trying to find info to plan our 10 day Costa Rican honeymoon. Emailed the company and got a VERY quick reply and that was the start of planning our trip. They helped customize our trip to meet everything we wanted to do. It was awesome to basically step off the plane in San Jose and know that everything for our honeymoon was all taken care of. We were pleased with every tour we went on and every hotel we stayed in. You have to take care of airfare yourself, but once you book your flights they are able to finalize your itinerary and you can place a deposit on your trip and pay the balance a month before you leave. I emailed them several times in the planning process with questions and ideas for our itinerary and each time received a very prompt reply(even on the weekends). They exceeded our expectations and I would not hesistant to contact them again next time we visit Costa Rica to plan our trip. You can trust that you will be booked on tours with reputable companies if you use Gecko. In fact....on our volcano hike and hot spring tour they booked for us in Arenal, everyone else on our bus was taken to various hot springs, we were taken to The Springs Resort(where the Bachelor was filmed at when it was in CR and a five star luxury resort with amazing hot springs). All because Gecko booked us there.

When traveling to a place you have never been, it can be intimidating to plan it. Let Gecko Trail Adventure take care of your trip and all you have to do is relax and enjoy your vacation, knowing you have a fabulous trip customized just for you!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoTrail, Owner at Gecko Trail - Day Tours, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful time in Costa Rica and that we were able to make your honeymoon an unforgettable experience. I will share your review with the team as it is very motivating for them to know their work gets appreciated and that responding in time, detailed and with helpful information is what makes the difference. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very helpful - fully recommended”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We used Gecko Travel to book our shuttles around Costa Rica (from San Jose to Manuel Antonio, from there to Arenal, from Montezuma to San Jose...everything last moment. We also booked rafting on Pacuare and a trip to Poas volcano with Gecko.
The staff was very helpful, everyone replied immediately and they also helped us with finding hotels at last moment. I fully recommend Gecko if you travel around Costa Rica. The people we were in touch with from Gecko were Ashton, Ernesto, Yeiling, Nancy, Nathalia, Lidieth. Thank you, guys for making our stay easier!
Pura Vida!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eva_kvetinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beyond All Expectations”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have been travelling in Costa Rica since December, 2012. We have used Gecko and their staff person, Nadieh, to book all of our shuttle bus requirements, from San Jose to Manzanillo, to Fortuna, to Santa Elena, to Lberia, to Samara, and back to San Jose. Everything worked out as planned, on schedule, with absolutely no worries or problems.
Along the way we peppered Nadieh with other questions, everything from looking at other communities to visit, to hotel possibilities, to finding out information on arts and culture performances, and beyond. Everytime, Nadieh responded with a welcoming friendliness, and went out of her way to look for the information we needed. Thanks.
We were able to practise wriitng Spanish to Nadieh, as she responded back to us in English.
We would fully recommend Gecko. ecko is lucky to have staff like Nadieh.
Gavin and Joan

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gavin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko Trail - Day Tours also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to Gecko Trail - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing