We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond All Expectations”

Gecko Trail - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gecko Trail Costa Rica is full service travel agency based in Costa Rica. We offer a wide selection of tours, activities and transportation all over the country. We are specialized in helping clients to set up a customized and authentic experience of the real Costa Rica. We plan your trip to maximize your holiday time enjoying the incredible nature and wide selection of activities, and make sure to offer a fun, safe and hassle-free experience of the best Costa Rica has to offer - whether this is for individual travelers, couples or groups, we make sure you get the right fit. Our Vision• Excellence in customer service• Innovative travel options• Professionalism in dealing with clients as well as with vendors• Provide the best quality possible• Use local providers and help the local community grow in a sustainable way• Fair employment of local staff including accurate training and salary
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have been travelling in Costa Rica since December, 2012. We have used Gecko and their staff person, Nadieh, to book all of our shuttle bus requirements, from San Jose to Manzanillo, to Fortuna, to Santa Elena, to Lberia, to Samara, and back to San Jose. Everything worked out as planned, on schedule, with absolutely no worries or problems.
Along the way we peppered Nadieh with other questions, everything from looking at other communities to visit, to hotel possibilities, to finding out information on arts and culture performances, and beyond. Everytime, Nadieh responded with a welcoming friendliness, and went out of her way to look for the information we needed. Thanks.
We were able to practise wriitng Spanish to Nadieh, as she responded back to us in English.
We would fully recommend Gecko. ecko is lucky to have staff like Nadieh.
Gavin and Joan

Thank gavin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 242 of 425 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

My three friends and I recently booked two separate outings with Gecko Trail -- the Cahuita snorkeling/hiking and the Punta Uva river/sea kayaking and hike. Both were incredible adventures in every way, and they far exceeded our expectations! Our guide Fernando was wonderful -- very knowledgeable, pleasant, funny, and eager to teach us as much as he could about the incredible beauty all around us. We saw many monkeys, sloths, lizards, a toucan, drank refreshing pipa juice from freshly picked pipas, etc. Our adventures with Gecko Trail have left us with amazing, lifelong memories to cherish. Thank you Fernando and Gecko Trail!! If you are reading this and thinking of booking an outing with them, do not hesitate! You will not regret it! Our vacation in Costa Rica was spectacular in every way -- what an incredible, gorgeous country. The locals go out of their way to welcome you and make sure you are enjoying every aspect of your stay -- and the Gecko Trail Adventures guides certainly go out of their way to be sure that your adventures with them are safe, enjoyable, and memorable! PURA VIDA!

Thank naturegals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The BEST vacation my wife and I have ever experienced. Not a lot to add because it's hard to improve on PERFECT !!! Everything, and I mean everything was accomplished efficiently by Gecko Trail Adventures. All the staff, transfers, and adventures were awesome. Thanks to everyone that worked so hard to put this together, especially Lidieth. We left our winter coats in Samara and thought that's the last time we'd see them. Lidieth made special arrangements to have the coats picked up and delivered to our hotel room in San Jose before our flight left for the USA. That was clearly an effort above and beyond the call of duty. What a great company !!!

Thank spiritualoutfitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I dont recomend this group to surfers going to costa rica. after mentioning i had four boards they booked me on a shuttle that didnt allowed boards! one day prior my departure back home i went to their office to make sure they do carry boards and for my surprise they offered me a private shuttle to take my boards instead.i had to pay extra 100 dolars cause i didnt had time to book something else.on my way to airport with the private shuttle, it engine broke down and the driver said i couldnt complain to gecko office cause they ve already passed the money to the shuttle company. after 1 hour waiting on the side of the road in the middle of costa rica, the driver luckly fixed the bug in the engine and we arrived at airport very late!dont go with gecko, they dont like surfers!

2  Thank Vitor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoTrail, Owner at Gecko Trail - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Vitor F

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. It is very important to me that our clients let us know if things have not gone the way they should or if our service did not meat the expectations.

Travellers with surfboards have indeed been a challenge. Not because of the travellers but because each provider has a different rule about how they like to handle the surfboards. Some charge extra for each board, others do not allow them at all. We try our best to be up to date on the constantly changing rules in regards to surfboards.

I have gone through your booking requests and e-mail correspondence and also spoke to the agent in charge of your booking. He admits that due to the extensive e-mail exchange, by the time he finally made the booking, he did not recall the surfbag you mentioned in one of your first e-mails. I also reviewed the situation with the agent who was attending you in our office. Given the fact we knew about your surfbag, he should not have charged you the difference for the private van. We will refund you the difference paid and do apologise for the mistakes happened. Though we try to provide excellent customer service, we unfortunately cannot always avoid that a mistake happens.

As for the engine problems, according to the report we received from the driver, he had to stop 20 minutes to look into the problem with the engine and was able to fix it. He reported no delay of arrival at the airport since you did not do the usual break we calculate into a travel.

Once more our apologises and we will go ahead with the refund in the next 2 to 3 days.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Coast to coast with Gecko Trail Adventures in Costa Rica january 2013: perfectly organized, safe transportation, everything on time, cool trips, lots of individual opportunities for every taste, beautiful and amazing country.
Don't worry, go for Gecko Trail Adventures.

1  Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko Trail - Day Tours also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to Gecko Trail - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing