We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM, 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM
Save
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
from $125.00
More Info
from $58.47
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
Reviews (5,538)
Filter reviews
5,538 results
Traveler rating
4,758
603
118
39
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,758
603
118
39
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baby sloths private tour injured animals love animals costa rica local animals goat milk wild cats money goes entrance fee animal lovers beautiful animals their natural habitat run by volunteers an amazing place non profit great tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 5,538 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second time at the Rescue Center. We visited 3 years ago and took the standard one hour tour that was great. This time we opted for the two plus hour tour with our own guide. Our guide was Luis who is from Venezuela. A knowledgeable young man who obviously loves his work. He took us to each exhibit and explained the work being done to rehab each of the animals in order to reintroduce them to the wild. Sloths, three types of monkeys, crocodiles, caimans, sea turtle, cats (no jaguar) getting near release and parrots. Also had opportunity to meet the onsite veterinarian and several volunteers. Highly recommend the private tour. This is a wonderful place that needs our support for their work. We can't wait to go back.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank river3205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The guides were great and it seemed like the animals were very well taken care of. The Jaguar Rescue Center is a rehabilitation center that works to release most of the animals they receive. They only keep those that will not survive in the wild. We really loved this tour.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank alexwA8128FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of my highlights in Puerto Viejo!
The guide's are really enthusiastic about the center and work. Had the dutch guy which I found so funny. You could tell he was really passionate about the work they do. I really don't mind the entrance price when everything goes to a great cause. Yay, for this!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank agnetew89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked a tour with Jo (a German volunteer) and she told us a lot about the history of the rescue center and each animal. It was really touching to find out about what happened to them.
It was a great experience to see all the animals really close and to get to know something about the species living in Costa Rica.
It was definitely one of our highlights (especially the baby-sloths).

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank 575linneas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were very impressed with this rescue center and their obvious dedication to rehabilitating animals and giving them the best chance at a normal life in the wild possible. Our guide was very knowledgeable and explained about each of the types of animals present in the center and the process they go through for them. Animals come to the center for a variety of reasons including injury, being orphaned, and because they were previously illegal pets or used for entertainment. He told us about multiple successful releases, as well as failed attempts that ultimately resulted in the animal needing to stay at the center permanently. Every effort was clearly being made by the volunteers to prepare the animals for life back in the forest, using information about their wild habitats and behaviors. We learned so much about the animals themselves as well. What a great visit! Don’t miss it if you’re in the area!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank heidils2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews