We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place, a must see if you're in the area, don't hesitate!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center

Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Jaguar Rescue Center and La Ceiba Private Reserve Tour from Limon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Jaguar Rescue Center Public Tours: Monday - Saturday (closed Sunday) $20 per person. Children under 10 are FREE! No reservation needed for public tours. 1.5 hours Private Tours: Monday - Saturday (closed Sunday) $60 per person. Children under 10 FREE! Reservation required for private tours. 2.5 hours WHAT TO BRING: The tours are outside and you will be walking. Water, sunblock, rain jacket or poncho, insect repellent, closed shoes. ALSO VISIT LA CEIBA NATURE RESERVE FOR DAY AND EVENING NATURE HIKES
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
south florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great little place, a must see if you're in the area, don't hesitate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Loved this place. Great tours, both english and spanish. Just an awesome little place to support. You'll see beautiful animals and learn lots. it's literally right off the road so it's a breeze to get to.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank flyingtetas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,947
    464
    87
    28
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipp City, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Interesting Animal Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Definitely worth visiting this center. Most employees are volunteers and the guide we had really knew her stuff. She explained why the animals were there and their plans to release them as soon as feasible. All animals are native Costa Rican.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A true sanctuary, they really care for the animals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

I really liked this sanctuary! It was very informative, and our guide answered all of our questions. The monkeys were a hit with my wife and kids!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DctThirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A "Must See" while in Limon, Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a great time at the Jaguar Rescue Center. All the volunteers were very friendly and really knowledgeable and you could tell that they loved being there. It was a great experience & we got to play with monkeys, who wouldn't love that!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Wright1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money to take the private tour, you will not regret it. We took our tour at 8 am and got to see the staff preparing for the day. Our tour took about three hours and our guide was fantastic. You could tell that she cared about each and every animal. She answered all of our questions and explained how the animals had come to be at the rescue center and the methods that they use to rehabilitate or socialize the animal depending on whether or not the animal could be reintroduced to the wild.
Because we had a private tour we were able to see many of the animals from inside their enclosures and we got to spend about thirty minutes with the baby howler monkeys, which was an absolutely amazing experience. We also got to interact with the anteater, feed the baby kinkajous and get an up close peek at the baby sloth. The extra money for the private tour was worth every penny!
Don't forget to check their website before you go to see if there are any supplies that you can bring-we ordered some stuff off Amazon and brought it along and they were extremely grateful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DawnK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing