We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable with great volunteers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center

Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Jaguar Rescue Center and La Ceiba Private Reserve Tour from Limon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Jaguar Rescue Center Public Tours: Monday - Saturday (closed Sunday) $20 per person. Children under 10 are FREE! No reservation needed for public tours. 1.5 hours Private Tours: Monday - Saturday (closed Sunday) $60 per person. Children under 10 FREE! Reservation required for private tours. 2.5 hours WHAT TO BRING: The tours are outside and you will be walking. Water, sunblock, rain jacket or poncho, insect repellent, closed shoes. ALSO VISIT LA CEIBA NATURE RESERVE FOR DAY AND EVENING NATURE HIKES
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable with great volunteers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had a fun time getting to see some animals and briefly interacting with monkeys. We were impressed by the volunteers' commitment. Seems like a great cause to donate money to, we were happy we went.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marissa910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,947
    464
    87
    28
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not the typical 'zoo'... much better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was hesitant to go here when i first heard about it as I do not support zoos and holding animals in cages! But after being convinced that it isnt the usual animal welfare institution I was very relieved to see what these guys are doing. Animals and brought here to be helped... once they are better they are actually released back into the wild (given they will be healthy enough to survive) but others are given the chance to come and go as they please.... a little like a drop in!! it was so nice to be learning about the interesting animals from this area and see them walking around freely! My only criticism would be there is alot of handling of the animals. People are allowed to touch many of the animals they have here... although this may be an attraction for many?! well worth the couple of dollars to enter but do check the days and time you want to go as there are only 2 entrance times and on particular days.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fulfillyourdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

All the volunteers are very knowledgeable and their main goal is to get the animals back into the wilderness. It was a great experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Got to see some of the animals i missed out on my treks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Visited several areas in Costa Rica, like Monte Verde, Arenal and Manuel Antonio. We did several treks to the jungle but rarely saw any animals. The Rescue Centre had some of the animals that we were hoping to see and thats enough for us. They allow you to play with the monkeys and you can also touch other animals: frogs, deer, toucan if you catch him. Its small and run by volunteers, the price is a bit steep, 8000 colones that somehow turn to 15 dollars with their exchange rate. The tour lasts 1.5 hours and you get taken in groups of about 10 to 15 people. Probably a great activity with kids.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeya_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dont' miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Absolutely recommended if you're around Puerto Viejo. The guys working in are very friendly and really eager to show you all the animals living in the center. These guys make really great efforts to pursuite this important commitment. Have a look yourself!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roberta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing