We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent sanctuary, great guides”

Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Jaguar Rescue Center and La Ceiba Private Reserve Tour from Limon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Jaguar Rescue Center Public Tours: Monday - Saturday (closed Sunday) $20 per person. Children under 10 are FREE! No reservation needed for public tours. 1.5 hours Private Tours: Monday - Saturday (closed Sunday) $60 per person. Children under 10 FREE! Reservation required for private tours. 2.5 hours WHAT TO BRING: The tours are outside and you will be walking. Water, sunblock, rain jacket or poncho, insect repellent, closed shoes. ALSO VISIT LA CEIBA NATURE RESERVE FOR DAY AND EVENING NATURE HIKES
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
UK
Level Contributor
375 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Excellent sanctuary, great guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Loved seeing such a range of animals close up - was not expecting to be in a cage with 4 monkeys!- and obviously in such good care.
Took around 2 hours, Monday is the busiest day so get there on time - only 2 visits per day

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,002
    478
    88
    28
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We weren't sure whether to visit this place as we like to see animals in the wild,but after being woken up at 5am a couple of times by the howler monkeys, we felt we needed to know them better... And we weren't disappointed. There were 2 howler monkeys being looked after at the time of our visit, and we were lucky not only to see these fantastic creatures up close but also to hold them briefly. Yes, this place lets us humans in the monkey enclosure! An amazing experience!!

Helpful?
Thank edianem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hart, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sure way to see some animals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I went to this and had so much fun. Despite the name, there are no jaguars, but the reason for the name is touching and we still enjoyed the visit so much. I had a monkey climb on me and it was so cute! On our way out of the enclosure it tried to escape by jumping on my husbands back. It was so much fun we definitely recommend a visit. Also the fee is cheap and it helps the rescue center stay open so that they can continue to help sick animals.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Monkeys! And a great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We took the private tour (3hours)... Worth every dollar and every minute!
Place was amazing and the people were top notch! Thanks Nadia and Enga!

Helpful?
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A monkey made out with me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I had a great time here. The tours are $15 and totally worth it. The tour guides are nice and informative. Animals are all there because they are injured, and they are helping them. The monkeys were my favourite! Like the title says, one of the monkeys started biting my nose! lol it was really fun!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing