We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“interesting”

Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Jaguar Rescue Center and La Ceiba Private Reserve Tour from Limon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Jaguar Rescue Center Public Tours: Monday - Saturday (closed Sunday) $20 per person. Children under 10 are FREE! No reservation needed for public tours. 1.5 hours Private Tours: Monday - Saturday (closed Sunday) $60 per person. Children under 10 FREE! Reservation required for private tours. 2.5 hours WHAT TO BRING: The tours are outside and you will be walking. Water, sunblock, rain jacket or poncho, insect repellent, closed shoes. ALSO VISIT LA CEIBA NATURE RESERVE FOR DAY AND EVENING NATURE HIKES
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“interesting”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

the tour was short, sweet. there was a lot of interesting animals and there stories.the tour guide, while very friendly did not seem to know much beyond her scripted tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,999
    477
    88
    28
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place really is worth the visit. All the proceeds go towards the fountain and it really is a good cause. All workers there are volunteers and are really dedicated to the animals.
Nice to see animals they have rescued and their stories how they arrived at the centre. There are owls, sloths, a deer, birds, snakes, monkeys. You get the opportunity to go into the monkey cage which really is an experience. The monkeys are mad and will take anything loose on you so ensure you bring nothing in to the cage with you, but you can leave your belongings outside.
Is definitely worth a visits and only takes up a morning. There is two tours, one at half 9 and one at half 11.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaFl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It’s wonderful to see caring and dedicated people rehabilitate injured animals. Both the owners and the volunteers at the Jaguar Rescue Center are doing such a great job!

During your visit to the center you can witness various animals getting their exercise out in the large yard under the watchful eye of their caregivers who prepare them to be released back into the wild once they get healthy enough. You will see all sorts of wildlife up close – from furry sloths and kinkajous, coatis and raccoons to frogs, snakes, birds, and spiders. Whoever is in need of medical assistance finds a temporary house there. But it’s not a zoo, their policy is to set animals free as soon as they get well and are ready to go back. Everyday a group of volunteers takes the adult monkeys out to the forest to have them interact and play with healthy wild monkeys, who they will hopefully eventually join for good. And as for the younger monkeys, if you’re lucky enough and they decide you’d be fun to climb, you can end up with one or two jumping on your head and pet their little tails and hands. It feels great – they are very playful and want to get some attention! We also saw some wild cats, like margays, which was such a treat. And of course, who can resist sloths…

At first we went for a group visit (they divide their guests into groups that consist of no more than 15 people and each group is assigned their own guide). Our guide was a local volunteer called Alex, who we really liked. In fact, we liked the whole experience so much that we returned for a private visit a couple of days later and this time were guided by a young Dutch nurse called Marloes, whose company we also enjoyed. A group visit costs $15 and a private visit is $50. I think the price is right and it’s a great cause to support.

During your visit you can learn some interesting and practical things as well. For example, you’ll get to see all different kinds of venomous snakes that live in Costa Rica (including the feared fer-de-lance and bushmasters), so that you can recognize them if you’re lucky enough to spot them in the wild, and learn a little about their behavior. You will also realize that many of the snakes are not aggressive and will not hurt humans unless they feel extremely threatened (like eyelash vipers).

I definitely recommend visiting and supporting this place. We had the best time and we are both adults, so it’s definitely not just for the little kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank curious_traveler_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Part of my vacation”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was the best interactive animal experience I've ever had. Comming from the U.S. we have zoos. We stand behind bars several feet away and just look-can't touch.
This was amazing, I loved seeing these animals up close and feeding the Spyder monkey a slice of orange as he took it out of my hand, WOW! That was great! The sloths are sooo cute, my favorite mammal with their continuing smiling face.
I would love to volunteer. This rescue center does an amazing job in what they do.

KUDOs to all the people that volunteer their time to help these creatures!
Tobey S-Sacramento, California

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tobemiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very nice animals! It is a good idea that volunteers work for all animals like this.
I really appreciate to learn more about "paraisseux" and others animals.
really cute!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank solenne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing