We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip Highlight”

Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Jaguar Rescue Center and La Ceiba Private Reserve Tour from Limon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Jaguar Rescue Center Public Tours: Monday - Saturday (closed Sunday) $20 per person. Children under 10 are FREE! No reservation needed for public tours. 1.5 hours Private Tours: Monday - Saturday (closed Sunday) $60 per person. Children under 10 FREE! Reservation required for private tours. 2.5 hours WHAT TO BRING: The tours are outside and you will be walking. Water, sunblock, rain jacket or poncho, insect repellent, closed shoes. ALSO VISIT LA CEIBA NATURE RESERVE FOR DAY AND EVENING NATURE HIKES
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Trip Highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was an amazing visit. From the guides around the property to the amount of wildlife you get to see to the fact that the admission money is used to support the center. We saw sloths, snakes, birds, had baby howler monkeys jumping on our heads and other animals that I had never even heard of. The guides are very knowledgeable and passionate. Loved it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WanderWasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,999
    477
    88
    28
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An opportunity to give back to the animals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

As an animal lover it warmed my heart to be shown with my own eyes how much these people care. There needs to be more people in the world like the people at JRC that are willing to love, mend and protect these beautiful animals. Daniella was our tour guide and I loved that you could feel her passion when she spoke of these injured animals. She truly cares and wants the best for them. All of these animals have a story, a sad story. (I had tears in my eyes and down my cheeks more than once) By taking this tour we have not only been given knowledge, but also the opportunity to give back and help these beautiful injured animals rehabilitate in such a loving safe environment.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very cool place doing great work. Totally worth the visit and the entrance fee. We really enjoyed it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fishee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Work”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

The JRC has an enthusiastic and welcoming staff. The grounds are clean and well maintained. I was impressed with the professionalism and the educational component of the tour. The goal of the center is to reintroduce the animals to the wild. If you want to learn about animals of Costa Rica, their natural history, and how they interact with people, then this is a great place to start.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We visited this rescue center (so named because their first animal was a jaguar, not because they currently have jaguars) with our three children, and it was one of the highlights of our two-week vacation. I expected the facility to be grim and depressing, but all of the animals looked active and well cared-for. Holding baby monkeys was definitely a peak experience, and our knowledgeable guide shared lots of interesting information about snakes, sloths, owls, and every other critter you can imagine. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amatitlania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to Foundation Jaguar Rescue Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing