We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is definetly the place to choose: Amazing Location, Awesome Villas.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Perla del Caribe
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I, we had a wonderful time at La Perla. We spent a second week at Congo Bongo but we found it would have been nice for for a night or two. Very much like camping which we love but very wet and sticky. The highlight of our trip was at beautiful La Perla Del Caribe. The setting was amazing, very peaceful, wildlife viewing: sloths, tucans, humming birds, butterflies, iguanas...and the well behaved sweet dogs! We did go to the rescue center and that was fun. Tyler got to hold one of those noisy howler monkeys. I can’t believe they are so small and can make such a noise. We had a wonderful trip to Tortuguero National Park. Don’t forget to enjoy Punta Uva beaches. Shatsu&Fusion restaurant is highly recommendable.
We’re planning to come back asap and we’ll stay at La Perla for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Las Olas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 143 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We found this place to be perfect, nothing to say, eccept exceptional.
Top notch Vacation Rental!
We were very surprised when we arrived at La Perla del Caribe. The place was absolutely beautiful and semplicity was the watchword! Starting from the warm informal welcome we received,
we found this rental to be perfect for us, most demanding retired couple, because of the amenities provided, the tranquillity of the setting and the vicinity of town and services.
BEAUTY & NATURE lovers will adore this place! A sloth was hanging out from our tree, humming birds and tucans were always flying around, but no any ants nor mosquitoes inside the Villa!!
This is the ideal place to relax, enjoy unspoiled beaches, pristine nature, with maximum comfort and privacy.
We do not suggest this place to All-inclusive resort lovers because this is a very simple and true place and they would not find at La Perla hotel service.
Thank you Nadia for your sweetness. Hug to your nice dogs, the sloths and the monkeys! 

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time at La Perla de Caribe and we really want to recommend this place.
The cottage was wonderful and so conveniently located that we have been able to be at the beach and do many other activities.
We didn’t expect to find a real house, beautiful and full modern amenities provided, into the jungle!
Secluted place, veeery clean. Finally NO COCKROACHES as we found somewhere else!!
We felt like home.
Thank you Nadia and Antonio!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our second time at La Perla!! Enjoyed more than the first time!
Thank you Nadia and Antonio, you're simply great! Peaceful setting 2 minuts walk from the beach.

If you are looking for wild nature & pristine beaches.. and a place where the jungle meets the ocean, without sacrificing full comfort and modern amenities (speed internet access provided) this is the spot.
Insects screens on the windows/doors will let you enjoy a wonderful stay. AC is pretty necessary because of high-humidity.

Top noch Villas, pictures don’t do any justice...!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raimond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The site is perfectly designed, perfectly located, near the beach, near the center of Puerto Viejo and at the same time in a very quiet place into the jungle.
We had a fabulous time there and the owners Nadia and Antonio made it so special for us! We’ve already recommended this place to several friends.
Their Villas are preatty unique in this laid-back, forgotten place. They offer for sure the best quality of building, safety & beauty of the Caribbean Coast. A big deal would be to own a place like that and enjoy their enviable life style.
Pura vida guys!

Jason&Maggie

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I'm a frequent traveler but never bother with reviews until now...La Perla was a true delight! Lovingly owned & managed by Antonio and Nadia-who welcomed us warmly (although it was in the middle of the night!) The villas were set in an oasis of natural beauty (complete w/ sloths, morphos, dart-frogs, agoti's & more) There was hardly a reason to book a wildlife viewing tour! The beautiful beach was a short stroll away (had it pretty much to ourselves) and town was a short walk away. Since we arrived so late, Nadia offered to pick up a few necessities for our breakfast (I'm thinking coffee & some toast) but she went all out and arranged a fully stocked frig. as well as flowers & other goodies (i.e. home-made jams, chocolates & more! ) We felt like royalty.

Since it was our first time to Puerto Viejo (and we were on a budget) Nadia gave us some great cost-cutting advice, and made arrangements for all our "adventures" including transp. from San Jose & our local excursions, making it a very fun and affordable vacation. Antonio & Nadia made a point of making feel special by inviting our family for breakfast in their home! We felt like we were part of their "Italian family" enjoying great meals & great conversation. I felt very safe (though I consider Costa Rica to be a safe destination) @ La Perla as the owners live onsite, and have 2 very well-behaved dogs that keep an eye on things. They seemed to "know" we were guests because we never heard them bark at all, even when we were in their yard!

As far as the units themselves, they were far & above the usual construction (Antonio's handiwork)- great screens to keep the bugs out-much appreciated by my teen daughters. Happy to have a/c, though it was hardly necessary, the close proximity to the coast kept it mostly cool. Having a kitchen was nice, but we hardly used it since we found so many great places to eat in town (recommended by Nadia too!)

I would highly recommend the Perla to anyone that appreciates a true Costa Rican experience-no high-rises, jet-setter digs, but a clean, safe, beautiful accommodation with wonderful hosts! Can't wait to go back! Kudos to Nadia & Antonio! Theresa & her family

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4flamingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

When visiting our daughter in Puerto Viejo, she recommended the villas as a place where we would feel comfortable and safe. Everything exceeded our expectations! It was extremely clean. The beds were very comfortable and the furnishings and decor were attractive. Internet was provided and a flat screen TV with some English language channels. The small kitchenette was fully equipped - incuding a cold beverage, coffee and some basic items provided by Nadia upon our arrival. If you have more than two people, you will probably eat on the veranda and enjoy the jungle view, the birds, and the sloth which hung out in our back yard. Even though you are tucked away in a private and secluded area, Nadia and Antonio have made sure the location is very safe. It is just a short stroll to the ocean and there were times when we had the beach almost to ourselves. We were there in February and found that with the ceiling fans we only needed to run the A/C for a short time in the late afternoon. The nights were cool during the time we were there. We shared the villa with another couple and the nightly rate was actually cheaper than booking two seaprate hotel rooms. - and no noisy neighbors to deal with. It does take some coordination though with one bath and a small kitchen area. Nadia is so helpful and will assist you in securing transportation, recommending local attractions, or whatever you need. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Californianawic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,043 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla del Caribe

Address: Playa Cocles, behind cabinas el tesoro, La Perla del Caribe road sign entrance. | one mile south from Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $87 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Perla del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'La Perla del Caribe'- Italian style Villas for Rent- Jungle&Beach - wildlife viewing - just 150 yards from Cocles blue flag Beach. Full Comfort&Beauty in gorgeous jungle setting. Great location less than a mile from downtown Puerto Viejo. Close to restaurants, markets, services and activities. Free speed wi-fi, cool wisper A/C, ceiling fans in every room, King size beds, orthopaedic mattresses & finest cotton linens, TV, fully equiped kitchen, abundant hot water, washer, luxury interior details and furniture, patio, tropical garden and private parking, charchoal BBQ, safe, security door, protective bars and mosquito-nets. BUGS FREE. Romantic unforgettable getaway for a couple, ideal for families and nature lovers, looking for a LOVELY UNIQUE accommodation, fully comfortable and modern amenities provided. Chill and unwind in a peaceful, private, secluted, secure, definitely adorable place. When you go so far away from your country to discover un unknown land, all you wish is everything to be perfect.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your La Perla del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Del Caribe Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing