We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Perla del Caribe
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Host”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 2 days at the Villa in August. I was very concerned before I left, regarding the safety, the location etc etc. What a surprise!! Safety was the least concern here! Antonia has engineered wonderful strong walled brick houses, so no bugs, animals or people can get in!

Nadia was the best host I have had.. want to remain in touch with her. She was super friendly, had breakfast with her own homemade fresh juice. She took us into the town with her to show the grocery stores. She gave me a flashlight when I did not have one. She even had us over for coffee at her house. She gave us recommendations for things to do, and one of the best was the Chocolate tour behind her property. That was the highlight of our trip.

I loved this place and the hosts.. my kids were happy, we enjoyed the jungle, the beach, the town, and did not feel like bidding Nadia and Antonio good bye!

I hope to go again and would so recommend this place to anyone and every one!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshaPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
55
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

On our honeymoon we stopped 3 days with Nadia and Antonio (Antonio reminds me a famous italian actor).
Location of the house is beautiful, the quality of the accomodation was excellent, really above any expectation, due to the fact that Antonio built these accomodations with italian style and quality.
At your arrival you will be offered fresh fruit, tipical italian "ristretto" coffee and a glass of red wine.
If you are in Caribe threat yourselves with a stay in La Perla del Caribe.
Alessandra and Roberto

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My sister and I traveled to Puerto Viejo with our kids (hers: ages 25, 23, 12 and mine age 13). We rented two places. We had such a wonderful time. The houses are immaculate and very comfortable. They are very close to one of the beaches -- within walking distance. We were told that Playa Cocles was not a good beach for swimming, but the kids had a great time splashing in the waves (kind of what we are used to with Va and Carolina beaches). Nadia and Antonio really helped make our stay as great as it was. Nadia stopped by everyday to see if there was anything she could help organize for us, any calls we needed her to make for cabs, and excursions (ziplining-- what a blast! On our first day, she took us into the town herself and gave us a tour to help us get our bearings. She made great suggestions for places to see (Playa Manzanillo and if you visit you must visit the Jaguar rescue center). Also, Antonio pointed out a sloth in the trees just outside our villas, which was super cool. In our front yard, we saw color frogs, and lizards and cool purple and orange crickets or grasshoppers. But no bugs inside! The villas came stocked with coffee, spices for cooking, and Nadia made some fresh Starfruit juice for our first day. This was an enchanting place that we will definilty want to return to. Thanks Nadia and Antonio for all your help in making our stay so wonderful!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 785PennyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I don't think I'll ever forget my stay in Puerto Viejo at La Perla Del Caribe. My friends and I rang in the new year and rented one of the new villas that two amazing people, Nadia and Antonio, operate just 1km outside the "downtown" area of PV. The villa was extremely clean, kept cool, and complete with a full kitchen, shower, and front porch with swinging hammocks. Antonio has actually built all the villas at La Perla himself! They are all amazing, Italian architecture in the heart of the jungle. The amenities in each villa make the jungle stay extremely comfortable and relaxing. At night, we would walk from the villa into the town for dinner and drinks. We always felt safe heading in an out at any hour.

The villas are incredible but the real "perlas del caribe" were Antonio and Nadia. Nadia helped us book all our excursions, brought us extra towels, really anything we needed. Antonio stopped by a couple times to help us find sloths and toucans in the trees, sometimes just to tell us jokes. When we left, they invited us to their house on the property for coffee and breakfast. They are two wonderful people that played a major part in making our stay in Costa Rica so memorable. I had to post my first review on Trip Advisor just to make sure everyone knows that you absolutely CANNOT go wrong booking a villa at "La Perla Del Caribe". Fantastic, cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2nd villa. I believe the 3rd villa is the newest. All three are exceptional though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b4bendetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunnellon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Thank you very much for the nice stay!
We really enjoyed your house! It was a great adventure.
If you’re looking for eco-friendly accommodation, into nature and wildlife, but you don’t want to feel comfortless and be worried by anything..I mean, if you want to be sure your holiday will be just perfect, this is your place. Maybe is not a must for you to have TV, AC, fast WI-FI, a safe, but you’ll certainly find them to be useful.
You’ll feel that this is a second home. This place is a combination of beauty, comfort and nature. Sooo clean and pleasurable. Perfectly located. We spent many memorable days at ‘La Perla del Caribe’.
If you love birdwatching, you adore toucans, green parrots, blue huge butterflies, lazy sloths hanging out from the trees in front of your porch and to be awakened by howler monkeys.. paradise found!
We really want to thank you, Nadia and Antonio, for your hospitality; we
could not have picked a more perfect place or better hosts.
Puerto Viejo is just amazing; we suggest you take all possible tours and excursions and swim as much as you can in Punta Uva and enjoy long walks along the incredible beaches.
Hope we will be able to do it again,
Olivia & John

Room Tip: ask for the king size bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at La perla del Caribe for 4 days in march and it was absolutly amazing, nadia is very friendly and helpful even when our car broke down she followed up with the car rental agency on our behalf! she def. knows all the places to go in the town wether for fresh fish or amazing pizza! the cottage we stayed in was beautiful and spacious we woke up the animals! and because shes an amazing host she there are some staples that are in the kitchen as well great coffee! the porch has a great sitting area and hammcocks to lounge and enjoy the jungle!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HD0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts Creek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The best holiday ever.Our super hosts Antonio and Nadia welcomed us at midnight and for the next eight days made our stay in Puerto Viejo really something special. The villas are immaculate. Private,secure and great location. Very quite at night, slept like giant babies.We sat in our own yard and watched the jungle life around us.Loved walking the trail to town or riding bicycles down the jungle road. Great beaches in all directions, each one having its own unique environment. Puerto Viejo is a small town and having Nadia show us the shopping, banks, bicycle rentals really got our stay off to a good start. Lots of good little restaurants to choose from or shop and do some of your own cooking. Every one we met, tourist or local was friendly, respectful and not harassing at all, no one trying to get your business. Great vibe! We were able to travel to Cahuita or Manzanillo by local bus or bicycle, perfect central location to explore this part of the coast.We loved the sleepy hollow feel and hope it stays reasonably undeveloped.La Perla is a gem! We shall return

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla del Caribe

Property: La Perla del Caribe
Address: Playa Cocles, behind cabinas el tesoro, La Perla del Caribe road sign entrance. | one mile south from Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Perla del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'La Perla del Caribe'- Italian style Villas for Rent- Jungle&Beach - wildlife viewing - just 150 yards from Cocles blue flag Beach. Full Comfort&Beauty in gorgeous jungle setting. Great location less than a mile from downtown Puerto Viejo. Close to restaurants, markets, services and activities. Free speed wi-fi, cool wisper A/C, ceiling fans in every room, King size beds, orthopaedic mattresses & finest cotton linens, TV, fully equiped kitchen, abundant hot water, washer, luxury interior details and furniture, patio, tropical garden and private parking, charchoal BBQ, safe, security door, protective bars and mosquito-nets. BUGS FREE. Romantic unforgettable getaway for a couple, ideal for families and nature lovers, looking for a LOVELY UNIQUE accommodation, fully comfortable and modern amenities provided. Chill and unwind in a peaceful, private, secluted, secure, definitely adorable place. When you go so far away from your country to discover un unknown land, all you wish is everything to be perfect.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Perla del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Del Caribe Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing