We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable food. Great setting”

KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unbelievable food. Great setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

What a memorable experience. After spending much of the day driving from San Jose and whitewater rafting my partner and I made it to Puerto Viejo just in time for dinner. Fortunately we picked Koki Beach that night because they were closed the other two nights we were there (low season). I had tuna and it was unbelievably good. Cocktails were great too. Chatted with one of the owners for a while too! Highly highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AustinANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    291
    71
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fish - We Caught It, They Cooked It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Koki Beach sits right across from the harbor where the fishing boats come in. It's a beautiful place to watch the sunset over the water. After we came to shore from a very successful day of fishing with Wahoo Fishing tours we were too tired to cook, so we took our fish to Koki Beach. They did a fantastic job of cooking up our King Mackerel and provided delicious accompaniments of salad, potatoes and veggies. Everything was exquisitely prepared and the atmosphere was lovely Caribbean Rustic/Plush. We were delighted when twice, the owner Christer, came out to talk to us personally and see how we liked the meal. The service was excellent, which along with the food and the sunset created a perfect ending to a great day in Costa Rica's Caribbean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed dinner at Koki Beach while in Puerto Viejo. The restaurant is open air and is across the street from the bay. They have a great spot as you enter to stop and have drinks- happy hour spot. This has an eclectic array of chairs and tables set up to accommodate small groups of people. Our food was excellent and reasonably priced. The restaurant lighting was perfect for a romantic setting. Everything exceeded our expectations. I would recommend for a happy hour meet up or a romantic evening with your special someone!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Joe249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great date spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I took my partner here for her birthday dinner, where we watched the sunset over spectacular mojitos and piña coladas, calamari and plates of shrimp on rice. All of these things were really good, but if i had to go back for one thing only, it would be for their drinks. And the calamari. (OK, that was two things.) I'm no alcoholic, but damn, those drinks were divine- and sneakily strong! A great deal at $6 ea considering that is how much you would pay for a basic G&T at any North American bar/club. The food was also tasty and priced just as it would be in North America: ~$15+/entree. Aside from all those obvious things that make a place a good date spot, the atmosphere is one that I don't think can be beat in this sleepy surfer town. You are situated so close to the beach, you could throw rocks in the water from where you are sitting. The decor was very modern and chic with a great combination of textures, colours and lighting throughout. The space combined with the food combined with the service makes this place a perfect place for a swanky night out with someone special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank bellalugosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
1 review
“Best location on space!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have been there in March 2013 and I have to say, a really, really great place to be. You will expect a large selection of cocktails, very fresh prepared. The atmosphere is comparable with a fashion bar in a big city, like Miami, very urban! A nice and friendly staff is working there too and the owners are always taking time for a chat.
Furthermore the (sea)food ist incredibel, for example the Carribean Loster is absolutely recommendable and of course the rest too! You really can taste good the fresh ingredients.The bar is the perfect location for a sundowner with an imposing seascape.
Everyone will expect a treated and clubby atmosphere with nice people, enjoy!!! ;)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex02579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing