We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its ok, although pretty expensive”

KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It has a really nice location, great place to be with friends and have a good time, great service but I noticed it was almost twice as expensive than the many other places we went to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank looking4nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kokibeach, General Manager at KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for sharing your view on our restaurant. We are glad you had a good time with us though we regret you felt the price was a little high.

We are aware that we might not be the cheapest option for dinner in town nor do we strive to be. Our emphasis is on quality, ambiance and all over dining experience. As for our drinks we use premium brands as our well drinks - even during happy hour - so you can safely enjoy our cocktails without having regretting them the morning after. We have noticed that many client appreciate that and make us their preferred cocktail spot for that very reason.

Once again, thank you for sharing your opinion and we do take all feed back in consideration.

Pura Vida

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 686 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

food was ok, service kind of pushy when I wasn't ready. I went 2 times both times the over charged me. Make sure you check your check carefully.

1  Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kokibeach, Owner at KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Jim M,

We were dumbfounded by your claim that you had been overcharged since this is the first time in over three years we have been in business this issue has come up. Yet, oddly enough, you did not notify the owners or the manager present on site of the occurrence ?

When we contacted you to request more information, since you provided no detail in your posting, you recanted your claim to "service was really chaotic that night" without no further detail.

Without any of the pertinent information we are unfortunately left without means to understand and much less address your posting.

Sincerely,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went to Koki on a recommendation from a local. Incredible place to sit out and chill. I ordered the steak w/ chimchurri sauce per a recommendation. It wasn't exactly my style of steak (flap meat/skirt steak) but I can see how people would dig it. $14 for dinner, $8 for a mojito. I was a little shocked at the price for drinks (are we in LA or Chicago?)....

Amazing open air seating concept, the resident sloth with her baby made an appearance through one of the trees in the restaurant. Pretty amazing to have something like that happen when you're eating steak and sucking down a mojito.

The deck is a beautiful place to see a sunset or watch a lightning show (as happened to us).

Prices are high, but you're paying for atmosphere.

I'd come back for happy hour (between 5-7 pm, 2x1).

Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kokibeach, Owner at KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for sharing your view on our restaurant. We are glad you had a good time with us and that you got a chance to see the momma sloth and her baby carouse while you enjoyed your dinner and drinks.

We are aware that we might not be the cheapest option for dinner in town nor do we strive to be. Our emphasis is on quality, ambiance and all over dining experience. As for our drinks we use premium brands such as Bacardi Superior, Jose Cuervo Tequila Especial and Absolute Vodka as our well drinks - even during happy hour - so you can safely enjoy our cocktails without having to wake up to a head ache the following day. It doesn't make us the cheapest on the block but it guarantees us return customers.

Once again, thanks a million for your wonderful review and we look forward having you back visiting us soon again.

Cheers,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place was amazing! The food was fancy and delicious. Huge portions of freshly made dishes. The ceviche was the best I ever had. Pina Colada is a must. Tastes like heaven in a glass!

1  Thank alexis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kokibeach, Owner at KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Alexis,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at Koki Beach with other travelers. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and just so you know our ceviche is Peruvian style and made to order so its always guaranteed to be fresh. No exceptions.

Pura Vida

Jorge M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Be it just a special wonderful end of a vacation day or you want to celebrate something, the KOKi Beach Restaurant has a most individual and wonderful environment, seatings inside and outside, very cozy, very relaxing and every seat / table seems to be different. The food is great with lots of choices and the service is very friendly and -for those who do not speak Spanish- very patient and helpful, even cheering up our friends who went there based on our recommendation.
If you want to end a great day, or want to make it great, go there !
If you only have an Amex credit card, do not forget to take cash to pay (which by the way is true for the most places at the Caribbean coast) :-) Enjoy !!

4  Thank DagmarMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kokibeach, Owner at KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for taking time out to write a review of our establishment. Knowing you are food and wine lovers its really flattering that you recommend us as that special place for a special occasion. Thank you for your kind words and while we do not accept Amex you are welcome to use your Visa/MasterCard as well as US dollars when settling your bill

We hope you had a great trip back home

Pura Vida

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing