We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to have dinner and drinks in Puerto Viejo!!”

KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed September 25, 2012

You cannot visit Puerto Viejo without having dinner and drinks at this amazing restaurant!! We go there every time we visit this area of Costa Rica and it is a favorite eperience that we always look forward to. The owners, Christer and Jorge are the best hosts ever. The food is always excellent and the Mojitos are the very best in town!
Thanks Christer........Emily, Jeremy, Don and I will be back soon.
As a tip, the Churasco Steak is wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kokibeach, Owner at KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Terri and Don you guys are such a treat to have as guests each and every time you come back in town. Its so wonderful to have feed back from people that are frequent visitors to the area and choose to return to our dining spot. We are particularly honored when noticing we actually earned your one and only Costa Rican restaurant review. We guess you wont be surprised to learn that the Mojitos are our number one cocktail ! Thank you so much and hope to see you back soon again.

Cheers, J & C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 731 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

I spent six nights in Puerto Viejo and all six of them ended here at Koki Beach. The atmosphere, food, and drink were phenomenal. On top of that, the sunsets added to the beauty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kokibeach, Owner at KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you and we are admittedly speechless. Six nights out of six is probably the highest compliment we can conceivably receive. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The last time I came to Puerto Viejo (in 2008) it was still a pretty sleepy surf town and of course with time places develop. I'd say PV is developing in a good way. It's still local and laid back but with the addition of KOKI it gives it a little more elegance! It's one of those places where if you want to "dress up" to have a nice dinner with a significant other or friends it's the perfect spot. I don't know any restaurant in Puerto Viejo that looks nicer than this one. It's still has a beachy outdoor feel but great designs, beautiful wood furniture and very clean. The food and menu is also delightful! We tried the Filet Minon rubbed with Jalapeno peppers sauce, the Peruvian style ceviche and a Blue cheese burger. Being Peruvian I can say the ceviche was perfect, the steak was spicy and the burger was so big I couldn't even finish it! The price is fair for the service and amount of food you get. I give them a 5 star rating and thank them for bringing some luxurious vibe and still keeping it a Caribbean feel! Please go at least once, you won't miss it! It's right on the main road by the beach!;)

4  Thank LaGitanaElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kokibeach, Owner at KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Elena,

Thank you for your glowing review of Koki Beach and we are happy to know you truly enjoyed our place. I am sure many travelers will benefit from your honest and thorough feedback.

Pura Vida

Jorge M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The food was great, the service was 5 star. Very laid back easy going place where you don't have a choice but to feel relaxed. The owner was very nice and made sure that our meal was perfect. It's not cheap, but well worth the price.

1  Thank JymMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kokibeach, Owner at KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Jym,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at Koki Beach Restaurant with other travelers and please know that we greatly appreciate your feedback and value your opinion. Thank you once again and hope to see you back soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Loved the atmo and decor. The moma sloth w/ baby that might come to visit at around 7:30pm add to the scene in a special way. Super friendly staff. A great place to go when you want a little swank.

1  Thank adventuregurl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kokibeach, Owner at KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Glad to know you really enjoyed your visit at Koki Beach. The sloths has been very active lately especially Janeth (thats what we call her) and her new baby. The other day we had a little bit of a traffic jam with three sloths all at the same time maneuvering in the tree located in the middle of the dining room. They are real hams and our customers love them for it since everybody gets a chance to see them up close in their habitat

Pura Vida

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to KOKi Beach Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing