We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
59
10
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
10
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recommend el jungle house wildlife refuge spider monkeys gracious hosts unique experience pure nature real jungle experience blue morphos doors and windows tin roof every morning living room minute drive magical place punta uva jungle love
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 75 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2018

Nice place if you want to be all alone. bit of a distance to stores and restaraunts. A little noisey when it rains because of the tin roof but sill enjoyable and you can hear the howler monkeys. tight stairway to upstairs so if you go to the bathroom at night take a bucket or something so you don't have to come down those stairs at night..

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank bocasbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

Wow! If you want a REAL jungle experience, I am certain this is the only place that can offer this in the area. El Arbol is literally a dream which became a reality for us. My girlfriend and I absolutely loved this place. Generally, we arrive at a place and find little issues that were not mentioned, however, at El Arbol this was not the case. Everything worked well and our trip went extremely smoothly. I attribute this to the wonderful jungle-house as well as our gracious hosts. Marilyn went above and beyond anything we could have ever imagined. Upon our arrival, she helped us plan some awesome excursions and then booked them for us. She also gave us recommendations for almost all of our meals. If we ever needed anything, she was just around the corner and happy to answer any questions. This place is about a 20 minute drive from Puerto Viejo and a few minutes from the Manzanillo beaches. There are also amazing beaches just down the road in Punta Uva which Marilyn was happy to direct us to. The location is definitely secluded and really makes it feel like you are the only ones out in the middle of the Jungle(a very unique and calming feeling). Of course Marilyn and her family are just around the corner and there is another jungle house next to the one we stayed in. Falling asleep to the sleepless jungle and waking up to howler monkeys is an extremely unforgettable experience. If you enjoy wildlife and nature, I can not explain how perfect this place is. We honestly can't wait to plan our next trip here! Recommendations if you go: - Jungle hike with Florentino (You will see incredible wildlife and learn more about nature than you could imagine) - Wake up early and watch the monkeys, blue morphos, and whatever other wildlife greats in the morning from your porch. -The Jaguar Rescue Center Restaurants: Jungle Love, Cool and Calm Cafe, Bread and Chocolate. I doubt anyone can be disappointed at this place. Just book it already!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Max O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile

Our family really enjoyed El Árbol! We were looking for a unique experience and staying in this jungle house provided that.
The hosts were very helpful and communicated so well. Would highly recommend!

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank C4837IDaaronh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Casa del Arbol, superb experience in the middle of the rainforest. I spent 6 nights with my husband and 2 kids and was a lovely opportunity to be the 4 of us surrounded by nature. We woke up with the sound of the monkeys and crickets. Even if it rained for 3 days, our time there was fantastic! Marilyn and her kids couldn't have been more wonderful and helpful. We'd love to come back next year!!

Room tip: Both bungalows are spectacular
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Our vacation staying at El Arbol was truly magical. Jan & Marjolein were such responsive and welcoming hosts from my first questions on line to when we sadly had to leave. They knew everyone locally and recommended the best restaurants and places to go and hired us the greatest boat captain to go snorkeling and dolphin watching. The house we stayed in was clean,comfortable and well provisioned and the jacuzzi tub was great after hiking all day.

Having the jungle surrounding us was an amazing experience.. Watching the birds and spider monkeys swing through the trees was so entertaining and such a nice break from the way we live in the States. Away from it all but very close to everything the Puerto Viejo area has to offer. Also, El Arbol is at the bottom of a huge hill with old stone steps leading up as it was the old route to walk to Panama. So cool and a great workout as well.. We nicknamed it the butt hill! We would highly recommend El Arbol to anyone who wants to get away and just chill by the beautiful Caribbean beaches.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank DianeL1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews