We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed. Misled by claims of ac.”
Review of El Arbol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Arbol
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I cannot correlate our stay with previous TA reviews. What am I missing?? We stayed May 27th, 2013 for two nights and every time I wanted to publish this review I reread previous reviews and have held back. Perhaps, others were not looking for a property with ac.

I am sad to write a negative review for a family operated business, especially after the warm welcome we received from Kelly, our hostess, who managed the property while the owners were on holiday in Europe. However, for people who prefer accommodations similar to our preferences, this is a heads-up. Tolerance of humidity, heat and cleanliness vary with each individual, so El Arbor may very well be a haven for many.

When making our reservation, I shared with the proprietor that air conditioning and cleanliness are important to us. I was told that a cleaning person comes every few days and will come before our stay. He assured me that there is air conditioning and the house was designed in a way that cool air circulates throughout the house. OOPS, I forgot to ask if the air conditioner cools and/or if the cleaning person cleans!

We were placed in the 2nd house as I had requested. The 5350 BTU, DAEWOO, model DWC-058RL air conditioner, the only air conditioner in the 600 sq. ft. house, located in the upstairs bedroom, has specifications of cooling 200 sq. ft. of a closed off room. The bedroom in which it is located cannot be closed off, so it communicates with the entire house (a total of 600 sq. ft. according to El Arbor’s website). The house may have been designed in order for cool air from the bedroom to descend to the lower level, BUT hey, let's get real, this is not happening because there isn't cooled air upstairs! Moreover, except for one bathroom window, the windows & and French doors DO NOT HAVE SCREENS. So despite somewhat cooler air outside, it really isn't a great idea to open windows or doors for ventilation.

It is difficult to determine whether the house was clean because it is built with wood and (unsealed??) concrete...both materials are dark, do not show dirt and have rough finishes that are extremely difficult to clean properly. Judging by smoothly finished materials, the dirty light switch plates and dirt on the AC intake makes the entire house suspect. The sheets were clean, as well as the bathroom sink. We dared not touch the walls of the shower.

Recycling: Kelly, suggested that the area does not have recycling availability, but she just may not have known. She encouraged us to take recycling wastes to our next destination. I hope that the owners are aware that.. "The Recycling Alliance has expanded the types of solid waste that it is collecting on the Caribbean Coast. Nearly everything can now be recycled." Pickup from Manzanillo is on Tuesdays and from Puerto Viejo, on Wednesdays.

If lack of AC, no window screens, very hot, and extraordinarily humid environment are not a deterrent, there were positive aspects to El Arbol:

. Kelly was absolutely delightful. She was nurturing, accommodating and extremely helpful with setting up tours and suggesting restaurants. There are not enough positive adjectives to describe Kelly.

. The 2 houses are located among very lush vegetation. Obviously animal sightings are nature dependent, and we did see many amazing Arthropods! No mammals.

. No bug bites! I did spray insect repellent on the edges of French doors that had gaps communicating with the outdoors and on the bed nets. Perhaps the bugs would have stayed outdoors without spray!?! I am not convinced that spraying repellant is either conducive to good health or the environment, but I wasn't going to take chances.

. The house accommodated our family of four, enabling us to 'bond', although by the second night we realized that bonding isn't all it is cracked up to be and we really needed two separate rooms. The nights spent here were 'memorable' and we will probably talk about them for years. Let's face it, who remembers a night spent at a Hilton or a Marriott?

. A four wheel drive vehicle was not necessary for our trip from San Jose to El Arbor when we went in 'green season' at the end of May 2013. If driving, place Congo Bongo into the GPS and then follow instructions given by El Arbor

When in the area, I highly recommend the Jaguar Rescue Center's private tour. Definitely worth the visit for us, as we had never been in Central America before and did not have previous exposure to the wildlife here. Don't expect to see jaguars. Set the GPS's destination to 'Villas Del Caribe' and look for signs placed only an hour prior to opening.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights, which were the highlight of our 3-week C.R. holiday. This was the best, most unique accommodation I have ever stayed in and the design and attention to detail in the house is excellent.

This is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy nature, and relax. Being awoken by howler monkeys is the best alarm clock! We enjoyed sitting on the porch hammock & swing morning, afternoon, and night watching the passing butterflies, monkeys, birds, moths, geckos, etc. The immediate surroundings are great to explore for frogs, spiders, insects, etc.

Marilyn helped us book a tour via a local guide, which was excellent. There are plenty of activities in the area, but we highly recommend the 5-hour nature tour. This was the best tour we took in C.R. and saw all of the exotic plants and flowers the area has to offer, plus frogs, monkeys, sloths, snakes, butterflies, spiders, crabs, etc. Our personal, knowledgeable tour guide minus the large tourist groups meant a LOT of beautiful nature!

We did not have a car, but this was no problem (Marilyn can suggest transport to/from your location, which was very helpful & easy). The house is within easy walking distance to beach, cafes/restaurants, and a small kiosk where you can shop for groceries (if you come with your own via car, we recommend stopping at the grocery store in Puerto Viejo, as it's bigger). The kitchen was perfect for our needs (fridge, stove, utensils, blender, etc.). Making smoothies with fresh tropical fruit was a real treat. (Not to mention the beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi!)

If you are a nature lover, in need of relaxation, and/or want to try something new, definitely stay here. If (or rather, when) we return to Costa Rica, El Arbol will be the first thing we book.

Thank you Marilyn & Jan for being such helpful, informative & welcoming hosts before & during our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BR2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

El Arbol consists of two houses set the jungle less than 1 km from Manzinillo.
It is run by a lovely couple (Marilyn & Jon) who looked after us very well.
We were driven here by Wilson from Coati Tours ( reservations@coatitours.com - much recommended) and as we didn't have transport, Marilyn organised golf cart hire for us at US$50 per day. This was a great way to get around.
Nice coffee is provided, but you will need to bring all food and drink.
There are many restaurants/sodas close by, so we didn't really do any cooking on site. Grocery stores are around.
Be prepared to be woken early by howler monkeys! and enjoy the lush greenery around you.
When it was time to leave, Marilyn helped with our transfer several kilometres down the road. She also kindly did a load of washing for us $10 (two adults and two children generate a fair amount of laundry!).
El Arbol is a nice relaxing place to spend a couple of days when exploring the southern Caribbean coast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Moriarty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 6 nights and kicked ourselves for not booking for longer! A car is a must for staying here because it is perfectly situated down a couple dirt roads in a pristine section of the jungle but still just minutes to the beach and town. The home is gorgeous, clean and well maintained. Our maid that came every other day was a really nice touch. We came to relax and El Arbol did not disappoint! We woke at 5am every morning to the sounds of the howler monkeys. The jungle sang us to sleep every night. During our daily afternoon naps, the monkeys woke us as they made their way through our trees. They visited at least once a day. Gorgeous blue butterflies made their morning flight each day while we drank our morning coffee. We enjoyed many bottles of wine on the spacious deck and ate almost every meal at home amongst the jungle neighbors. Our hosts suggested a jungle tour and canopy tour and even made the reservations for us!! Super nice people....next time we will plan a night of wine and dinner with them!! We visited several other resorts in town which confirmed to us that we definitely found the best place to stay with El Arbol! Now that we are back in Flagstaff in our beautiful mountain town, we still long for an evening on the deck in the jungle. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richiedolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

El Arbol is a gem. If what you are hoping for is a relaxing stay surrounded by the sounds and views of the jungle, then you will find it here. In the first 30mins of our stay, we spied some gorgeous blue morpho butterflies, a gecko and an Agouti! The house is located in Manzanillo, a sleepy beach town with a gorgeous strip of golden sand. We spent many hours on this beach and it took less then 20 mins to walk there from the house. The kitchen is fully equipped to make meals at home, if you so wish, so we stocked up on groceries at El Duende Gourmet Grocery store in Punta Uva (less than a 10mins drive away) and made most of our meals at El Arbol. What I can't stop raving about however, is the bed at El Arbol. I slept as soundly as I do in my own home, and that is a true testament of comfort while travelling. Jan and Marjolein were very welcoming from the very start and we cannot thank them enough for making our trip to Costa Rica so memorable. Thank you both!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loonygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Recently got back from a trip in central america and stopped off in Costa Rica. Booked El Arbol before we came after reading some of their reviews. Have to say that the reviews did not do justice to this place - it is so beautiful. Very private and homely houses with views into the jungle. Lots of wildlife to be seen. The owners of the houses are very friendly and helped us decide what to do and see while there. The area itself, to me, was the nicest place to visit in CR. The houses had everything we needed and more. I never felt so relaxed whilst sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine. We were lucky with the weather and thought we might get more rain but it was bright sunshine every day. Beaches were pretty empty and very clean. Got to see howler monkeys, sloths, toucans, humming birds etc etc etc. Fantastic place and would recommend it to anyone thinking about going.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JungleDreamz_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Waking up in our tree house every morning was like waking up in paradise. The sounds of the tropical birds and the dazzling greens surrounding you as you drink your morning coffee stay with you long after you're back in the ¨real world¨. Marilyn and Jan couldn't have been nicer and after spending nearly 2 weeks with them, my partner and I consider them more than gracious hosts, but lifelong friends. If you like your jungle to come with the comforts of home and the best beaches in the world a short walk away, then this is the place for you. El Arbol was pure magic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank everydaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
6.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Namasol
Casa Namasol
#12 of 17 in Manzanillo
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Se Ua B&B And House Of Adventure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Colibri Lodge
El Colibri Lodge
#5 of 17 in Manzanillo
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Faith Glamping Dome Costa Rica
2.2 mi away
The Toucan Stay Inn
The Toucan Stay Inn
#2 of 3 in Punta Uva
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Arbol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Arbol

Address: 400 m oeste de RECOPE Manzanillo | opp. Recope, Manzanillo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $100 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation house & jungle villa rental.Fascinating jungle experience in the middle of the Caribbean rainforest of Costa Rica! Our distinguished lodge on 16+ acres of private property is situated in the Gandoca Manzanillo wildlife refuge, with the beautiful Caribbean sea less then a mile away. You will stay in one of our luxurious, fully equipped houses on stilts. Experience the jungle like never before. Have the monkeys waiting outside your window as you wake up to the sounds of tropical birds singing (more than 100 species counted on our property). There are sloths, nosebears, other mammals, frogs, and so much more…Let comfort surround you while you are relaxing in the Costa Rican rain forest, drinking a good bottle of wine on your jungle porch. Have a massage, walk our private nature tracks or relax at the creek that runs through the property. Go on one of the many excursions we can arrange for you. Visit the picture perfect & quiet Caribbean beaches just a few minutes away! Venture into Cahuita National park or the Gandoca Manzanillo wildlife refuge. Enjoy a night out in the bustling beach town of Puerto Viejo (9 miles away). But most of all look forward to waking up in a jungle paradise that seems to have been created especially for you… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Arbol Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing