We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Arbol
Nearby Hotels
$293
$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Banana Azul(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$150
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Umami Hotel(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$150
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Boutique Indalo(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Yare(Cocles)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Coco Loco Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Escape Caribeno(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
58
10
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
10
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjungle houserecommend elwildlife refugespider monkeysgracious hostsunique experiencepure naturereal jungle experienceblue morphosdoors and windowstin roofevery morningliving roomminute drivemagical placepunta uvajungle love
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 74 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We were the first guests to visit “El Arbol”. We didn’t know what to expect, but it exceeded all of our expectations.
El Arbol is situated in the Gandoca Manzanillo wildlife refuge, this is right next to the Carribean Coast. The house we stayed in was beautifully decorated! The owners just finished building it. There is a great kitchen, an amazing bathroom with a big Jacuzzi, a bedroom with a good bed, a living room and last but not least there is a large porch where you can sit and experience the jungle from your hammock.
The house stands on poles, and you really have the idea you live among the trees. Every morning when you wake up you can hear the howler monkeys, and with a bit of luck you can see them through your window. Believe us, this house is complete luxury in the jungle.

There is enough to do. You can visit the national parks, visit the beach, go snorkeling of scubadiving, visit the small town nearby. And you deffo have to eat at el Refugio, a small restaurant near the road that leads to el Arbol. Best food ever!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

What a beautiful and unique place. Two gorgeous houses in the middle of the Caribean Jungle, very close to beautiful beach. The Dutch couple that owns the place where very informative and were very attentive. The house was beautifully decorated. The wife, Marljorlein arranged for a wonderful massage, and dophin watching. This is the place to stay for peaceful comunion with nature with confort.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federico E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

El Arbol is set a couple kilometers off the main road to Manzanillo, placing it in what seems a world away from civilization, yet still featuring all of the comforts one needs for an enjoyable holiday. I was there with seven other friends and we rented both available houses.

The houses themselves are an architectural pleasure, with many thoughtful details throughout. The main level provides over 180 degrees of nearly uninterrupted view of the surrounding jungle, with a porch to match.

The kitchen provides everything one needs to create full meals at home, which my group of friends and I did numerous times. But for those lazier moments, pizza (and tasty pizza, at that!) can be delivered from nearby Manzanillo.

In the week that my group was there, we saw toucans, capybara, poison dart frogs, howler monkeys and numerous colorful reptiles and insects on the grounds of El Arbol (and thankfully, none of them were in the houses!)

Our group rented bicycles in Manzanillo and used them as our primary transportation during our stay, which proved to be a very pleasurable and peaceful way to get around the area. Manzanillo and its spectacular beach were about 10 minutes away, while the many other beaches and Puerto Viejo were between 15 minutes and an hour from El Arbol by bicycle, all along a mostly flat road with very little traffic.

The grounds and the houses themselves were kept very clean, with maid service every other day. Air conditioning is available, but my group found it unnecessary, as the houses remained quite cool throughout the day.

The hosts John and Marilyn could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. And what else would you expect from people who live on their own little slice of paradise?

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamstate23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We really loved our 2 weeks stay at El Arbol, it was a unique experience that I recommend to anybody who wants to live the jungle with very limited compromises on comfort. We were with our 2 young kids and had plenty of space. Almost everyday, we saw monkeys, very special butterflies and a lot of other species right from our very beautiful and large terrasse. All the house is made from beautiful woods and has a unique architecture. We had a blast taking a jacuzzi with jungle view to clean the sand from our time at the beach.

The hosts are just very nice, helpful and knowledgeable of the region. For example, they borrowed their BBQ so we could grill the fresh seafood we bought during the day.

The only thing is that you have to take your car to go to the each, but this is also an advantage because you are just far enough to garantee total peace.

We will definitely come back here again !

Room Tip: Get a car, it will make your life easier
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jefrenaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We absolutely loved El Arbol and stayed nearly a week. We were looking for an authentic experience in Costa Rica and certainly found it here. Waking up our first morning to the sound of howler monkeys is a sound I will cherish for the rest of my life. We were nestled in the midst of the jungle, while provided all the comforts of home. A fully stocked kitchen, comfortable sleeping arrangements and a wonderful wrap around deck where we spent relaxing hours watching Blue Morpho butterflys, Howler, Spider and White Capuchin monkeys, and colorful toucans while sipping wine. Now that's a vacation! The Manzanillo area is one I'd highly recommend with nearby Puerto Viejo providing excellent restaurants. Jann and Marjolein were perfect hosts providing great recommendations. Our favorite - a hired guide through Gandoca Manzanillo National Wildlife Reserve where we experienced wildlife, trees, spices and the beautiful scenery only Costa Rica can provide. We also followed their advice in selecting a zipline company and had a wonderful time. We would definitely visit El Arbol again!

1  Thank lornmelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews