We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Blue Conga
Nearby Hotels
$195
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$132
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
VIP Hotel Playa Negra(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$142
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Escape Caribeno(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$71
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lizard King Hotel Resort(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$72
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tierra de Suenos Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$96
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Boutique Indalo(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$65
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Banana Azul(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tree House Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveler rating
504
148
26
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
148
26
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerpuerto viejohonor systemupstairs roomwalking distance to towncocles beachsuperior roomenjoyed our stayrooms are cleannice poolbreakfast includedevery morningsan josehot watermosquito netair conditioningcoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 704 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Blue Conga was my favorite hotel of our entire stay in Costa Rica. My daughter and I booked all our vacation hotels online, so it was an adventure! We landed in a couple of really neat places and one sketchy place. Every place had one thing in common, we never knew where we were going and dirt roads were involved. So when our gps told us to turn right down yet another unpaved road after a long drive, we all got the giggles and said oh no, here we go again! Then we pulled into the Blue Conga driveway and Erik was there to greet us and we all did the fist pump thing and said YES!

The Blue Conga is a little piece of paradise in Puerto Viejo. The beautiful pool, thatched roofed common room for breakfast and hanging out, clean spacious room with mosquito netted beds and a hammock on our balcony, and a great location combined to make our last leg of our vacation perfect. It is located just south of town, an easy walk to all the action. Although there is no AC in the rooms, they are all screened and fanned and we had no problem sleeping at all. Besides, who is in their rooms in the middle of the day when there's a beautiful beach just down the road or a sweet little pool downstairs?

Room had a refrigerator to keep our water and beer cold, wifi, and a safe for passports and money. Bed was comfy and linens were fresh and nice. Bathroom was clean and nice. Erik, the owner, was so nice! We really enjoyed him.

If, no WHEN, we return to Puerto Viejo, we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bzbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and nice. There where breakfast included served in a nice dining area outside under a roof next to the swimming pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful. You can rent bikes directly at the hotel, bikes are the preferred transportation for exploring the surroundings. We would definitely visit this hotel again!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Montana1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Highly recommend staying here. The location was perfect at the tail end of Puerto Viejo, just out of the hustle and bustle but close enough to cycle or even walk to restaurants and close enough to the next beaches and a wildlife refuge that was a highlight for our 6 year old daughter.

Eric the owner offers phenomenal service. He was always helpful, patient and accommodating and all of his recommendations were excellent. He even called a doctor for us when we became ill with the flu even though he was swamped as the place was full over the holidays.

Morning breakfast by the poolside is included and peaceful. Balconies that come with rooms on the second floor are an added bonus and rooms are clean and well appointed.

A must do as part of a great Costa Rica experience!

Room Tip: Our room was on the road-side and at times there was a bit of noise that woke us the first couple of nights so you might consider asking for a room on the pool-side instead.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

On our first trip to Costa Rica, there will be more for sure.

We hit a lot of the country and the first stay was in Puerto Viejo at the Blue Congo. The place was great it was like we were staying in a jungle with our own private pool! The pool was for all the guests but the place is small and the pool is open all night.

The room was great a king bed with a mosquito net there weren't many bugs but knowing your under a net you sleep so soundly. We did wake early to the sounds of nature but it was really awesome then breakfast was fresh and a nice size not too big.

The owners are very nice we had such a lovely stay.

There are bikes there to rent too this was our favorite day!!

Love Puerto Viejo!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The reason for my poor rating - is two things.
1) we were placed in a room next to the office, when we asked the reception if we would be disturbed because of noise. they guaranteed us that the office is closed at 8pm. You can see where this story is going. so at 1130pm as we are trying to sleep the office is very noisy with printing and noise. When I walked into the office - I explained the situation - the person in the office was the owner - he turned to me and said - just a couple more pages, said this with a smile. This was pretty obnoxious - especially considering the circumstances.
2) the place is very overpriced. You can find rooms as nice for about 50-75% of the cost.

The one positive is that the managers of the place were great and sweet people. And tried to make up for the owner's obnoxiousness. Unfortunately it was their last days at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueconga, Propriétaire at Hotel Blue Conga, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

You are perfectly right. I was not informed of your request of silence after 8 PM. The computer's printer was running and bothered you. I apologize and I had no intention to bother you. I am very saddened to your judgement because all the managers of the hotel have the same desire to meet your demands. However, it is normal that we will not be always the best for all. Our meeting lasted 5 minutes and that's enough to lose our place. I did not think you were angry. My smile was sincere.
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews