We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Kukula is an unforgettable experience”
Review of La Kukula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Kukula Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“La Kukula is an unforgettable experience”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

La Kukula is a wonderful eco-lodge in the jungle and situated near Costa Rica's most beautiful beaches, Playa Chiquita. La Kukula is located near the main road to Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo. We stayed in a comfortable and clean standard room. Every room has a deck outside with a table and chairs, and a hammock. This lodge is beautifully decorated with a perfect mix between nature and comfort. The architecture of the lodges make it unnecessarily to have A/C. The place cools off as a soon as the sun goes down. The breakfasts that are served are great with daily a fresh juice, toast, home-made jams, eggs or tomato spread.

The owners Pepo and Sonia are very warm, friendly and helpful. If you have any questions, they are always there to answer them for you.



La Kukula is an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rvdijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    42
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
93
184
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in La Kukula May2012 and are ashamed it's taken us this long to write a review.
What a fab place! Stunning eco-lodge set in beautifully managed jungle. Wake up to a dawn chorus of roaring howler monkeys (slightly unnerving for the kids at first) and eat a delicious home cooked breakfast whilst electric blue butterflies the size of your hand flutter past. Sonia and Pepo have brought their artistic, Spanish chic to the jungle and they were warm, welcoming hosts. La Kukula was well located (though a car really helps) and the kids really enjoyed having the small pool on site.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirleylixenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A very kind, fresh and genuine lodge with the most lovely owners! The breakfast was served as 5 dishes with different fresh fruits, home made marmalade and juices every day. It's situated at the border of the jungle, near the main road. There are no windows so you will hear the jungle wake up in the morning - absolute fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisaVidfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in La Kukula 8/5-8/8/12. La Kukula is a gem. Fabulous eco-lodge - beautiful architecture & wonderful Spanish owners- Pepo & Sonia. My husband, son, and I were very comfortable in our room, which had one queen size bed and one twin bed. The beds were so comfortable -- a true luxury in Costa Rica. There is no need for A/C because of the very high ceilings, great ventilation, and fan. Even though it was very hot at the time, we were comfortable and cool in our room. The rain-like shower is the most luxurious we had in CR. And I loved waking up to the sound of howler monkeys and birds. We loved the hammocks out on the deck, the fun art using recycled materials. The breakfast were delicious - icy exotic fruit juice, homemade jams, pan tostado, and huevos revueltos. Yum! And the coffee was THE BEST! Pepo and Sonia showed us the hidden wildlife around us -- exotic lizards and birds. It was such a joy to stay at La Kukula.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolB456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Me and 5 friends rented a Bungalow at La Kukula, and we were totally delighted to find this hidden place. It´s location is very convenient, near Costa RIca´s most beautiful caribbean beaches. It is all surrounded by the jungle. The construction, operation and decoration of the place is eco-friendly in very creative and interesting ways. Everything is done with love and you can see that in the decoration of the place, the way guests are received and how breakfast is prepared. It was a very inspiring experience to stay at this place in my beautiful country.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melacostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our family or 10 rented 5 bungalows for my various family members at La Kukala lodge this month. Pepo and Sonya are wonderful people and great hosts as so many have said in their reviews. The bungalows are very nice with unusually good mattresses for Costa Rica and the lodge is set on an acre of land in the middle of the jungle. It's easy to locate if you drive 5 kilometers past Puerto Viejo and begin looking for their small sign on the left side of the road where you will turn right and go a couple hundred yards up the unpaved (but good) road and you will see their parking lot on the right. They have a local guy that works for them each day that will help you with your luggage to your bungalow. Everyone in Puerto Viejo says that you don't need a/c which I feel is debatable if you are used to it, but as the sun goes down it does cool off and the fan above the bed will keep you comfortable during the night. We had zero problems with bugs or mosquito's in our room as the screens they have work very well. As you walk down the road and trail to the beach you might want to spray yourself down with OFF to help with the mosquitoes and the sand fleas. The beach, Playa Chicata is mostly deserted with no bars or restaurants and is etremely beautiful and trainquil. The breakfasts that are served are awesome, each day with a different fresh squeezed fruit juice, served with a yummy creation of an egg or toast with a tomato relish and always with fresh toast and wonderful jams or jellies. The portions are small but adequate to get your day started. The coffee is the BEST! The sounds of the jungle are awesome and somehow lull you to sleep until the howler monkeys begin their singing at around 4am. It's an absolutely one of a kind awesome experience. Our first night, a huge storm blew thru after a couple of months of no rain and knocked out an electric pole near the lodge so we were without electricity for two days and one night. Pepo & Sonya handled this like the true professionals they are, serving us breakfast under romantic candlelight and bringing candles to the bundgalo's that night. We still had gravity fed cold water to shower in which was better than it sounds. Of course Pepo apologized profusely but we all knew he had no controll over this.

We had dinner the first night at a small (4 table) jungle restaurant called Refugio Grill which was delightful and highly reccommended. Please email them and make reservations prior to your visit to ensure a table. They are an Argentinan couple, he cooks and she is the waitress and everything was surreal! Where else can you enjoy a worldclass meal in the middle of the jungle? The ambiance was incredible. Basically we reserved the entire place and the chef made a cake for one of our members using the local chocolate, it was very good! I watched them turn several people away since they just do not have the space for the demand so please make reservations!

The highight and a can't miss event was our visit to the Jaguar resque center. The owners are both biologists who live in a beautiful house on the grounds and have built a small empire around it. Your entry fee goes towards helping all of the resqued monkeys, sloths, parrots, etc, that they lovingly care for until most are returned to the wild. You have an unbelievable opportunity to enter a huge caged housed with the baby and small monkeys and interact with them. Many will jump on your shoulders and love the attention you give them. Please don't miss this inexpensive and very educational place. You can stay as long as you want after the tour and the tour guys & gals are voluteers and first class. If you are coming from the USA please visit their website prior to you leaving and you can bring (donate) some of the goat milk they so badly need with you. We were in Costa Rica for two weeks this trip and have been 5 times and I have to say this is one of the all time highlights of any of our visits.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sel6090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Don't be shy- go here. Perfect location in between Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo (rent a bike and ride to both - no problem at all!). Beautiful eco-lodge, wonderful owners. VERY CLEAN. We stayed in the double bed standard room - very spacious. There is a hammock outside. Kukula has a hidden pool that you will want to dip into after a hot day. The beach (playa chiquita) is literally a 5 minute walk and so clean and private! We spent 3 nights on the caribbean side before heading to the pacific (osa peninsula) for a week and the caribean ocean is much more enjoyable to swim in. Bike ride to Manzanillo, eat fresh sea food, enjoy the peace and quiet. Wonderful, relaxing atmosphere. Puerto Viejo is a bit busier and there is no need to sleep in town - all of the lodges just outside of town are so beautiful, clean, and close-by by bicycle. Go to town if you want to be busy, shop or taking surfing lessons - but leave to relax and be peaceful. The food at the local restaurants is incredible - a lot of vegan, vegetarian, lactose free options. The seafood is fresh, local and not from a frozen box. Visit the jaguar sanctuary if you have time (another bike ride away) - you don't need to go to the sloth sanctuary if you want to see sloths - the jaguar sanctuary has sloths and more! Don't forget your headlamp. Leave the car keys in your room and rent bikes - faster, cheaper, easier way to get around.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmug155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 8 in Cocles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Kukula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Kukula Lodge

Property: La Kukula Lodge
Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo 73000, Costa Rica | Carretera a Manzanillo, km 6, Puerto Viejo 73000, Costa Rica, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Kukula Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Kukula Lodge is situated in Playa Chiquita/ Puerto Viejo, next to Refugio de Vida Silvestre de Gandoca-Manzanillo and Cahuita N.P.Built in 2008, La Kukula Lodge follows the principles of sustainable architecture and only plantation wood (teak) has been used in its construction. With its tropical-contemporary style, the bungalows blend naturally with the wooded surroundings: an ideal location to enjoy the flora and fauna the region has to offer. A simple path system running through the garden links each bungalow, the “rancho-bar” and the swimming pool. There are only 8 rooms available, all are very spacious and airy, with their own deck, fans, bathrooms and hot water from a hybrid solar/electric system. All rooms have fantastic views from private terraces onto the sylvan garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Kukula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Kukula Hotel Puerto Viejo
La Kukula Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing