We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“National Geographic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Kukula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Kukula Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Porto, Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“National Geographic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have spent 6 wonderful days over there. It really looks like you're in one of those National Geographic spots! Right in the middle of the Caribean Jungle, but in a very confortable house with lovely deck, pool-table and awesome swimming pool. 5 minute walking you're in (probably) the best beach in the world, where you can swim at ANY time of the day :)
Also you're not far from Porto Viejo ( 10mns), a little town where you find mostly everything from supermarkets to nice bars and restaurants.
And, of course, La Kukula Lodge is runned by the Best possible people : Sonia and Pepo! They will help you and will made your stay even better, trust me :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0seOrland0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    41
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
93
183
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Wanting a hotel that was on the jungle, this hotel delivered. The sounds of the jungle are right there with you on your room. Not big luxuries on the room, but always clean, comfortable, very nice bathroom and awesome deck, where you can just either sit on the veranda or lay on the hammock and listen to the rain or the jungle.
Pepo and Sonia are just wonderful and are willing to help you in any way. The all natural jams made by Sonia are to die for (craving the pineapple ginger one!!!).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaKind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Nice spot with great attention to detail. The property is really great, secondary rainforest with lots of easy to spot wildlife (monkeys, sloths, watusas, birds) and it is really well taken care of - wild and natural but well maintained. The owners are very attentive hosts. The breakfast was possibly the best we had in Costa Rica. You can see a lot of thinking has gone into the design. The accomodation itself is very comfortable and clean, with great hammocks in front. They do not offer individual cabinas (which means you share the terrace area with others) and the buildings themselves are not totally at one with the surroundings. We were expecting to be slightly closer to the beach (you have to cross a road and pass through another lodge to get there) but it is still very close to a beautiful and very private beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZelenEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We arrived late after a four-and-a-half hour bus ride and Pepo greeted us by our names on the pathway approaching the reception. We stayed in room 5 and our favorite things about it was its openness - the air flows freely as there are only nets in place of windows; even one whole wall of the bathroom is looking out to the jungle that surrounds the place. And a huge showerhead in the bathroom makes it feel like you are standing under a waterfall. The only downside is that it has only one hammock on the porch in front of the room. It is about 5km from Puerto Viejo and some 150m from the main road, which makes it a perfect secluded place for relaxation. Playa Chiquta is a 10-min walk from the place and there are several restaurants on this stretch as well. Also, the breakfast was delicious. Pepo and Sonia were super nice and the whole place had a very laid-back feel to it. Several sloths live in the garden around the lodge and they seem to be enjoying the place, too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We spent last Christmas holidays in the Sloth House of Kukula Lodge and enjoyed it 100%. This place is so much better than whatever luxury hotel. I could even live here for a long time, in harmony with nature. The owners, Pepo and Sonia were very hospitable, correct and helpful.
The breakfast Sonia and her companions prepare, is varying each day and very good. One of the best places I ever been!!! A hidden treasure...

Room Tip: If you are 5 to 8 people, go for the Sloth House
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankMGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at the Kukula lodge. It is a nice lodge, runned by friendly owners. We were lucky. We got the Kukula house (next to the lodge) just for the two of us for a very friendly price. It has a private swimming pool, a pool billiard (small model), two bath rooms, three bed rooms, a fully operational kitchen, a large living room (outdoor), and on top of it a large own private garden.

The lodge is located in the jungle, and you can hear the jungle at night in full. I suggest to have a car if you stay at the lodge although there are some restaurants and a supermarket closeby.

Room Tip: The house is normally rented to families. As an experiment we got the house - just for the two of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiebe_de_Witte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
free for a year!
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

After a terrible three nights in other so-called eco-accommodation our arrival to Kukula Lodge was perfect. We arrived tired and wet after a long day of bus rides with our four kids (10,8,6 &3). We were shown to our two rooms, that turned out to be just like a private bungalow. It was CLEAN and fresh and eco in every way. Everything about the lodge was done to perfection. Sofia and Pepo were extremely helpful and even went out of their way to lend us a bike that had a second seat for one of the kids to ride safely. Their recommendations were appropriate for the kids ages and the weather and made our three nights with them very relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 8 in Cocles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Kukula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Kukula Lodge

Property: La Kukula Lodge
Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo 73000, Costa Rica | Carretera a Manzanillo, km 6, Puerto Viejo 73000, Costa Rica, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Kukula Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Kukula Lodge is situated in Playa Chiquita/ Puerto Viejo, next to Refugio de Vida Silvestre de Gandoca-Manzanillo and Cahuita N.P.Built in 2008, La Kukula Lodge follows the principles of sustainable architecture and only plantation wood (teak) has been used in its construction. With its tropical-contemporary style, the bungalows blend naturally with the wooded surroundings: an ideal location to enjoy the flora and fauna the region has to offer. A simple path system running through the garden links each bungalow, the “rancho-bar” and the swimming pool. There are only 8 rooms available, all are very spacious and airy, with their own deck, fans, bathrooms and hot water from a hybrid solar/electric system. All rooms have fantastic views from private terraces onto the sylvan garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Kukula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Kukula Hotel Puerto Viejo
La Kukula Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing