We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here for an Amazing Vacation”
Review of Korrigan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Korrigan Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed at the Korrigan Lodge for one week and were treated to an amazing vacation. Ingrid and Erwan and some of the friendliest people you will meet and are always there to help make your vacation great. Their bungalows (we stayed in HEOL) were clean and large and had a great shower. They booked our tours, dinner reservations, and our transport in and out AND had free bikes which we used to go to both Manzanillo and Puerto Viejo.

We took their 4 recommended tours: the Jungle tour with Florantino, the Chocolate tour, the Jaguar Refuge centre, and the canopy treehouse with Peter. They were all great and we still had the afternoon off to go to Punta Uva beach with their dog Bassam for some sun and swimming every day.

It only rained once during the day during our week stay, so I think we were lucky and the only time we were bothered by mosquitoes was during the chocolate tour.

As for food, my girlfriend is a vegetarian, but it seems that all the restaurants had vegetarian options which made travel for us much easier. The quality of the restaurants that we visited was great. We visited both Pita Bonita (about 25 mins by foot) and the Refugio Grill (about 5 mins by foot) most nights for dinner. Just remember to bring a flashlight if you plan on walking home after 8:00pm

This vacation was everything we could have asked for. There was lots of activities and still time to relax in the afternoon and evenings. It's great to hear the jungle noise machine at night. By the end of the week you can start to figure out what sounds are being made by which animal! I would definitely recommend staying at the Korrigan Lodge if you have the opportunity.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tynanwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 433 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

We did not have a car so we walked, rode bikes, and took the bus around. No problem for us. We can see why this place is top rated and the only thing i can say is we should of stayed here last because nothing could match this place. The owners are right there and make your delicious free breakfast for you each morning and they love talking about the area. They both have engineering backgrounds and built the place themselves and the bungalows are very very cool, with safes and security systems when you go out for the day or evening. Erwan and Ingrid are very different from each other (in a good way) and make the stay remarkable. The jungle is right outside your door and we saw howler monkeys, spider monkeys, sloths, trogons, rhinoceros beetle, and more right there on the grounds. We did fine without a car but some might say it is better to have one. Two extra nice beaches within walking distance. They will set up jungle or birdwatching tours for you. We absolutely LOVED this place!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treeshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Korrigan Lodge is by far the most comfortable and welcoming place my husband and I have ever stayed away from home, plus it's gorgeous. The owners, Ingrid and Erwan, are incredibly helpful and will help you with anything you need gladly. They helped us arrange tours, make dinner reservations, and get around. On top of that, they make a delicious, fresh breakfast every morning with fresh fruit, pastry (croissant, chocolate cake, pan au chocolat), granola and yogurt, eggs and bacon/sausage, and bread/toast, plus fresh juice and your choice of coffee, tea, or organic hot chocolate (our favorite!). Plus, they have the world's coolest dog (other than our own), named Bassam, who will literally guide you to the beach if you take him with you, and an adorable little boy who cheerfully bikes around the grounds. The family is just the best.

People aside, our bungalow, HEOL, was excellent. It was beautiful on the outside, and incredibly nicely done on the inside. It's decorated to feel beachy but still high-end. The shower is nice and big and the bed was relatively comfortable. There's no air conditioner, but the bungalow stayed cool enough at night to sleep with no problem. On top of that, the room is equipped with a remote-controlled security system with alarm if you're really worried about security. We never armed the alarm, though, as Korrigan and Punta Uva felt incredibly safe. The patio has a beautiful view and a super comfortable hammock that we fell asleep in every night.

The area of Punta Uva is really, really beautiful. The beaches are incredible and just a quick walk away. There were rarely more than 5-6 other people on the beach at a time. It was awesome. There are animals everywhere, you're literally living among monkeys and sloths. The first night there was a family of howler monkeys overhead who woke us (in a good way!) with their howling at dawn. The last morning, a family of spider monkeys were swinging around the trees. This is right above where you're staying! You don't have to go anywhere to see wildlife! The Korrigan grounds have beautiful trees, plants, and flowers as well.

Of course, if you want to get away from the beach and bungalow, you can take bikes provided by Erwan and Ingrid (for free!) and bike around. You can get to a lot of restaurants and a little supermarket, as well as the other beaches. There are also some good places in walking distance (El Refugio is highly recommended). You can take a taxi to Puerto Viejo for $10 each way, too. We didn't rent a car and it was fine. The roads are pretty rough, so I wouldn't necessarily recommend getting your own car.

Everything about staying here was the best. The only way I could see not recommending it is if you don't want to relax at night. If you want to go party or go to bars or dance clubs, perhaps staying in Puerto Viejo or the Pacific coast would be more your speed. Also, there's no WIFI, if you absolutely have to be connected. We loved being disconnected, but there are internet cafes in town. But if you're looking for relaxation, nature, beautiful beaches, and the best possible service, Korrigan is awesome. And on top of that, it's a great value. We only stayed three nights and truly did not want to leave. If it had been possible and we didn't have other plans made, we would've definitely stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rebecca-IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Korrigans Lodge is quite possibly the finest lodge of its type that I have been to anywhere in ths part of the world and that included 6 months travelling up from Buenos Aries to Mexico city. Our 1st time to Puerto Viejo Korrigans Lodge had only been open 2 months and we had not heard about it. The second time we went back to Puerto Viejo we booked in for 3 nights in between Christmas and New Year. I can honestly say the service and attention to detail are what makes this place so special. Ingrid and Erwan were incredibly attentive and served some of the greatest breakfasts in central and South America. Yes you could stay in more luxurious places closer to Playa Cocles, but you won't get the friendliness of Korrigans Lodge. If you are into photography and you enjoy being in the middle of nature with howler, white faced capuccins and spider monkeys running over head, then there is no better place to stay in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeyface69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We stayed here for 5 days and it was fantastic. Beautiful setting a short, lovely walk or bike ride to one of the best beaches in the area. You can snorkel right off the beach. The bungalows were beautiful and set right in the jungle with the howlers and sloths in the trees around you. They have a lovely design with a large bathroom and shower with plenty of hot water. The beds are extra firm but I got used to it after awhile. Erwon and Ingrid are truly two of the nicest people on the planet. They go out of their way to make sure that your stay is enjoyable. They made all of the arrangements for our tours and even for our rental car from Poas who delivered it to the lodge and then picked it up the morning of our last day. They also arranged for a golf cart rental which was fun for a few days. and the breakfasts are incredible. Cooked to order. It kept us full for most of the day. The rafting trip is a must but not for the faint of heart although I did feel very safe. (The guides definately know what they are doing.) This is a lovely area to visit and Korrigan Lodge is a FABULOUS place to stay with FABULOUS hosts. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara94941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 days and highly recommend it. The location is great because it's a short drive or ride to the main Puerto Veijo town but far enough away from it that you feel like you're not amongst all the other travelers. It is also right across the road from one of the nicest and quietest beaches in the area. The place itself is great with very well designed, clean and modern rooms and a very friendly feel, made even better by the owners who are extremely welcoming and helpful with anything you are looking to do/see in the area. The lodge is also far enough off the road that you feel like you are in the middle of the jungle and all the wildlife around you is like something we've never experienced. I would definitely recommend this place for a couple or group.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Wonderful location and wonderful hosts - friendly and helpful. Beautiful part of the world and extremely comfortable accomodation. Particularly liked Bassan the dog, who guided us to the beach on a couple of occasions! Noise of the jungle only obstacle to sleep, but it's a great sound!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,518 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
668 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
702 reviews
2.8 mi away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 8 in Cocles
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korrigan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korrigan Lodge

Address: Punta Uva | Korrigan Lodge - Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $129 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Korrigan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Korrigan Lodge is located in Punta Uva, just a few steps from a beautiful beach, nestled in the heart of the tropical forest. This is an ideal place to fully appreciate the richness of nature with its lush vegetation and its abundance of animal life.Ingrid and Erwan, your French hosts offer quality lodging in 4 comfortable and luxurious bungalows surrounded by a harmonious and enchanting environment designed to guarantee relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Korrigan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korrigan Hotel Puerto Viejo
Korrigan Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing