We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay--would have stayed longer!”
Review of Korrigan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Korrigan Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 31, 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights of our honeymoon to Costa Rica at the Korrigan Lodge. We really enjoyed our stay here and again, our only complaint was that we wished we would have stayed longer. Unfortunately, we had already booked a hotel for the next portion of our trip (in Panama) and were only able to stay for 2 nights. Our bungalow was very clean and decorated nicely. There was a mosquito net for the bed and a safe to keep belongings locked up. The bungalows are located in the jungle, so you can hear howler monkeys, birds, etc. early in the morning and at dusk. We loved it! The hosts are wonderful, kind, and helpful. When we would arrive at our room at dusk, there would be a mosquito coil burning to keep the bugs away, which was great. The hotel is a short walk to a beautiful beach and a longer walk to a restaurant. Getting to a restaurant at night was a little more of an task--but it was an adventure! The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants, but walking along the street in the dark can be a little scary for moments. Breakfast at the hotel was delicious and very filling. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at Korrigan Lodge and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phunkyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Korrigan Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 427 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2009

we stayed at Korrigan Lodge for 7 nights during our honeymoon. They are located in Punta Uva which is just outside of Puerto Viejo, on the road to Manzanillo. The property is owned by a French Couple and their young son, it is a few acres of big rain forest trees, and 4 private cabanas or huts. Everything is brand new and super nice. The beds are king size and made of wood, the showers are beautifully tiled. This place has the best hot water in Costa Rica! Breakfast is included in the price, and they do a good job with it- Crepes, Bacon, Toast, Fruit, Eggs, French Toast, Coffee, and fruit drinks.

One of the best features of Korrigan Lodge is that every morning we awoke to the sounds of Howler Monkies in the trees! There are several different troops of monkies that live in the area and they usually spent the morning above our room in the trees. So you could watch them while you ate breakfast. When they call to each other they sound kind of like dogs barking, it was truly amazing to see and hear them!

Playa Uva is a 2 minute walk across a dirt road. It's the nicest beach in the area and there was nobody there all week, although the weekend did get a little busier when locals showed up- It was a national holiday that weekend.

Overall I would recommend this place for a honeymoon or romantic get away because it's very quiet and relaxing. There are no TV's or distractions like a pool or bar. It's always super calm and quiet so really get to spend some quality time together!

If you do go be sure to ask about Jaguar Rescue Center which is a mile down the road. The rescue mistreated or injuried animals that are brought to them by police or locals. They have many species of snakes, baby sloths, a jaguar, and they specalize in baby howler monkies. For $10 you get a tour of the center and at the end you go into a large area whith the baby howler monkies to play with them. We spent an hour just playing with and holding baby monkies. It was an experience of a life time!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamiltondepartures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We recently stayed at the Korrigan Lodge for 7 nights, and we absolutely loved it. Ingrid and Erwin have created a wonderful world in the heart of the rain forest, with beautiful, modern bungalows surrounded by majestic trees filled with wildlife. In our week there we saw three species of monkeys, two species of sloth, and innumerable birds, lizards, and butterflies right outside our door. There are two gorgeous, unspoiled beaches within 500 yards, one of which is perfect for children. There are also numerous activities within a very short distance to keep you busy; during our visit we went zip-lining, snorkeling, saw artisanal chocolate being made, took a night-time hike in the jungle, visited a wildlife rescue center and took a surfing lesson. Ingrid and Erwin have their ear to the ground and hooked us up with guides and made arrangements for all our activities. The rooms are clean, well-appointed, and surprisingly cool and bug-free even in the summer. Breakfast is included, and they put out a terrific spread with fresh fruit, bread and pastry baked that morning, and eggs cooked to order. There are literally dozens of restaurants close by, and I can honestly say that we never had a disappointing meal. Nearby Puerto Viejo and has lots of interesting shops, beaches, and restaurants, and is reachable by car, taxi, or bike. We rented a car and found it to be very handy, but other guests did well with their rented bikes. This was our first visit to Costa Rica, but it won’t be our last, and we will definitely return to Korrigan Lodge. Just a wonderful experience all around.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arltingontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

My wife and I went on vacation to Costa Rica for 10 days, from which we stayed four nights at Korrigan Lodge. We stayed in different parts of the country begging at Punta Uva continuing to Arenal Volcano, Monteverde Rain Forest and Manuel Antonio National Park. From all the places at which we stayed in Costa Rica we really enjoyed staying the most at Korrigan Lodge. The Bungalows are nicely located in the Jungle right next to a wonderful beach which wasn't crowded at all. The bungalows were very clean and enjoyable to stay in. There were many things that kept us occupied at Puna Uva. Through the help of the wanderfull owners of Korrigans Lodge we went on a hiking trip with a local guide to Manzanillo Jungle, which was a wonderful experience seeing so many different animals including monkeys. We also visited Cahuita National Park and their beautiful Coral Reef, which is a short drive away from Korrigans. Also, what is so great about this place are the owners who are very friendly and eager to help with any thing that we needed. Their breakfast that is included was the most tasty and filling we had through out the whole trip. My wife and I would strongly recommend Korrigan Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcinasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying with Erwan and Ingrid for 4 nights this July. I can't say enough about their hospitality and eagerness to please.
The rooms were spotless and beautifully decorated with attention given to the smallest details. The beds were very comfortable and we loved the rain shower in the bathroom..
Erwans breakfasts were delicious every morning...coffee, freshly blended fruit juice, bowls of fresh fruit, crepes or french toast (by this time we were full) and then he would still offer eggs, sausage and cheese! (the crepes and french toast were to die for!!)
Ingrid and Erwan know the area very well and were really helpful with recommending tours and restaurants and also with spotting wildlife on their property.
The couple have a beautiful little boy, Youinne, who is just a sweetheart and a black lab named Basam, our beach buddy! (I'm sure I've messed up on the spelling of names...sorry)
We loved our time with Erwan, Ingrid and their family and would highly recommend Korrigan Lodge to anyone staying in the area.
Thanks so much for a wonderful stay...... The Hieberts.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trippeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

A warmfull small family hotel, very, very confortable bungalow, enchanting tropical forest, richness of nature, the most beautifull white sand beaches of Punta Uva, ALL IN HARMONY!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLemieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Korrigan Lodge was conveniently located near the nicest beach of Punta Uva. Its surroundings are phenominal and we had a chance to see plenty of wild life.

We slept very well and we really liked the breakfast. The hosts are very helpful and friendly. They helped make our visit to Costa Rica very special.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlemieuxpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,479 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
654 reviews
2.8 mi away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 8 in Cocles
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korrigan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korrigan Lodge

Address: Punta Uva | Korrigan Lodge - Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $93 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Korrigan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Korrigan Lodge is located in Punta Uva, just a few steps from a beautiful beach, nestled in the heart of the tropical forest. This is an ideal place to fully appreciate the richness of nature with its lush vegetation and its abundance of animal life.Ingrid and Erwan, your French hosts offer quality lodging in 4 comfortable and luxurious bungalows surrounded by a harmonious and enchanting environment designed to guarantee relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Korrigan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korrigan Hotel Puerto Viejo
Korrigan Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing