We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place Ever”
Review of Korrigan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Korrigan Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Best Place Ever”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I simply loved Korrigan Lodge. It is surrounded by beautiful untouched nature where you can very easily spot different species of monkeys, little mammals, colorful birds... Rooms at Korrigan are beautiful, very comfortable, and tranquil. The owners are two amazing people, very helpful, communicative who care about nature. There was not one single thing that would have made me upset or unsatisfied. I highly recommend you to chose Korrigan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monikita_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
282
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved staying here!! I really can't say enough positive things about our stay here, in regards to both the accommodations and Pierre and Marise. Even after reading all of the positive reviews here, my expectations were still exceeded. Pierre and Marise are exceptionally nice, helpful and knowledgeable about the local area and wildlife. They both made the vacation easy and enjoyable, scheduling activities, transportation, etc. at our request. The breakfasts were excellent and plated decoratively. Bassam, the dog at Korrigan, was a joy! Pierre and Marise were both dedicated to making sure all of their guests were having an enjoyable experience and really made us feel welcomed! If you are traveling to Costa Rica, you really have to stay here at least for a couple of nights! We stayed for 4 and were really sad to leave!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our last 3 night stay of a 10 day trip. I found this place on trip adviser and relied solely on the reviews I read to book it. I am so glad that I did! Marise and Pierre were our gracious hosts and were so warm and welcoming. Our room was small but clean and very pretty. We had breakfast prepared fresh for us every morning and it was delicious and very filling! Pierre went out of his way to take us to Chauita Park and show us the different animals and such that live there. I was lucky enough to even see a tarantula. He also showed us around the beaches and gave us information about the people, animals and plants that inhabit this beautiful place. Marise was so nice to give us a ride into town to have dinner one evening. We shared many wonderful conversations over our delicious breakfast and long walks. They did such a great job that I can't wait to go back and I will definitely be staying at Korrigan Lodge again. Also, the howler monkeys are living with you in this paradise, so you do not need an alarm clock:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kimberly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there at mid may 2013 for 4 nights, and it was great. Pierre and Marise are the couple running it, and they were extremely nice and informative. Besides, pierre is a true animal lover and adventurer and goes on hikes few times a week, and has so much knowledge about the places and animals and it does it for free! It was so much fun in chauita park with him.

Plus, their dog Basam is adorable!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickeyl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Korrigian lodge was our last stay in Costa Rica, we spent there five nights. Firstly I would like to tell about people which take care about the place, Marise and Pierre. They are so nice, friendly, helpful people. First day Marise gave us lot of useful information about the place and surroundings, recommended us some restaurants and places where we could go and visit. During our stay my husband had some stomach disorder, she gave us lot of attention and helped us very much! Pierre is keen of nature, he took us for short walk to nearby beach. It was easy even for our six years old son, however we saw lots of animals as monkeys, birds, crabs, sloths, iguanas but we wouldn´t seen them without Pierre. He said that he is not a professional guide but Pierre, believe me, you are a professional!!! He has plenty of enthusiasm and knowledges about animals and nature. And finaly Bassam, big friend of our son, first day he took us to the beach and all the time he looked after us carefully. He is the cleverest dog I have seen. We are so glad that we have chosen the Korrigian lodge, we spent there really nice time and it was because of Pierre and Marise, so thank you again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BETS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Korrigan is an incredible place to stay. It has everything you need to enjoy a Costa Rican holiday. Marise, Pierre, and Bassam are great hosts and went to great lengths to ensure we enjoyed Puerto Viejo. The Korrigan really has it all; great location near a beautiful beach, plenty of activities (hiking, biking, exploring, relaxing), nearby restaurants and markets, free bikes, comfortable and nicely appointed bungalows, delicious breakfasts, abundant wildlife, wonderful hosts, and a great dog! Marise and Pierre provided valuable assistance in organizing activites (including a great massage), informing us about the area and wildlife (Pierre's howler monkey imitation is spot-on), and scheduling transportation to/from the lodge and around Puerto Viejo.

Great stay!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NameAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winamac
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our stay at the lodge was most enjoyable. Marise & Pierre made the stay much more enjoyable than we had ever imagined. Marise would schedule any tours that we wished to attend and would also find/suggest tours to us to help us enjoy our stay. Pierre was always filled with joy and gave us a local tour of the surroundings and the animals. His local knowledge about the animals was amazing! The breakfast at the lodge was also delicious and was a meal we both looked forward to each day! We found the lodge's dog to be as enjoyable, or maybe even more, than other reviewers have noted. He was quite friendly and a welcomed companion around the lodge and elsewhere. His extreme loyalty to us was amazing. Enough couldn't be said to compliment the lodge and Marise and Pierre. Everything about our stay was enjoyable and would hope we could return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaneS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,442 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,014 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
467 reviews
2.8 mi away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 8 in Cocles
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korrigan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korrigan Lodge

Property: Korrigan Lodge
Address: Punta Uva | Korrigan Lodge - Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Korrigan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Korrigan Lodge is located in Punta Uva, just a few steps from a beautiful beach, nestled in the heart of the tropical forest. This is an ideal place to fully appreciate the richness of nature with its lush vegetation and its abundance of animal life.Ingrid and Erwan, your French hosts offer quality lodging in 4 comfortable and luxurious bungalows surrounded by a harmonious and enchanting environment designed to guarantee relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Korrigan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korrigan Hotel Puerto Viejo
Korrigan Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing