We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking holiday house '' Casa del Bosque ''What an Experience!!”
Review of Geckoes Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Geckoes Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Groningen
1 review
“Breathtaking holiday house '' Casa del Bosque ''What an Experience!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2009

After a long trip, starting in Bremen(Germany) we arrived in a totaly different world in the Caribbbean part of Costa Rica. Geckoes lodge offers two beautiful houses.We stayed in Casa del Bosque. In the morning you open the windows and you see the overwhelming rainforest. it's a very romantic house. nearby are beautiful beaches en lot's of animals sharing their world with you! Indeed barefoot luxury .
The owners(Zoe and Tom) are perfect hosts who make you feel comfortabel from the start.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bafdonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
103
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2009

By far the best lodge we have been during our 3 weeks stay
We spent eight nights at Geckoes in the Casa Bromelia (2 times 2 bedrooms) and enjoyed a wonderful vacation despite above average rainfall. The house is new, very clean and in a very nice cultivated property in the middle of the jungle.
The house is very high quality and has a nice architecture with lot of well designed details. We traveled a lot in this area and we never saw a comparable house. On the property are 4 houses, in one lives the owner, in the other one lives the gardener Jose together with his wife Tita. Tita is responsible for cleaning the house and running a laundry service which she did perfect.
We always found beautiful tropical bouquet of flowers not only in the living area, but also in the two bedrooms and in the two bathrooms.
The kitchen is fully equipped with high quality equipment. We found enough coffee and a big basked of fresh fruits to survive the first days. Well sorted supermarkets are just 5 min away by car.
The property is big enough that no one in the 4 houses disturbed each other. We and our two kits enjoyed also our private pool/Jacuzzi very much.
Everything in this house is above the norm. The bathroom has a big window to the jungle so you have the impression that you take the shower in the middle of the jungle.
Both bedrooms have fans and mosquito nets. Btw., we had no mosquitoes during our whole stay.
The owners Tom and Zoe are thoughtful and kind, giving their guests enough privacy but offering all sorts of help when called upon. My wife for example asked for a hair dryer, the next day Zoe provided to us two hair driers, one for my wife and one for my daughter.
The location is perfect. You have a couple of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen in Costa Rica very close to the property. Manzanillo is just a 30 min drive away. We have been there several times and enjoyed the beaches and food at Maxi’s.
We have visited the Parque National Cahuita during a day trip and had a great dinner in Cahuita at Coral Reef.
Tom and Zoe know the area very well and were really helpful with recommending tours and restaurants.
Thanks so much to Tom and Zoe for making our start to our 3 week Costa Rica unforgettable. We definitely will come back to Geckoes being next time in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mem0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed in the 1 bedroom Bosque villa for 4 nights at the end of July, and it was more than we could have hoped for! The property is truly amazing - beautiful open space teeming with nature/wildlife and just a short drive away from some amazing beaches & restaurants. There are 4 villas (2 for rent) on the property - all of which were just finished within the past year. Each one is an architectural masterpiece!

Bosque had doors/windows that made up all 4 walls of the bedroom, which when you opened you were completely surrounded by the outside jungle. The bathroom is the only other portion of the villa that is inside. The place does not have AC, but it definitely does not need it! The way the villa was designed brings in fresh air and a breeze, and it also has a ceiling fan. We were never hot or uncomfortable when going to bed.

The kitchen & sitting area were both located on the outside of the villa in full open air format. We loved coming back to our "jungle house" after long afternoons at the beach or exploring the nearby towns to sit in the hammock and read or lounge in the pool with a few beers! We didn't actually cook in the kitchen, but they had everything we would have needed if we had decided to.

The best part of the entire experience was actually the villa owners - Tom & Zoe. They are the nicest, most generous and helpful people. They live on the property and are always willing and able to provide advice & recommendations on things to do & places to eat. They welcomed us when we first arrived and Tom showed us around the villa. They had a bottle of wine and some fruit waiting, which were both very thoughtful gestures. We really became attached to them and their cat Pen during our stay! They both have such warm personalities and interesting back stories. We'll definitely be making the trip back to visit them at Geckoes in the near future.

Nearby PV restaurant recommendations = Bread & Chocolate, Chile Rojo, Loco Natural, Pecora Negra. All were delish & most were recommendations directly from Tom & Zoe!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodiekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We recently stayed at the Casa del Bosque in Geckoes Lodge and it was truly a memorable experience. When I first looked at the site, I was very excited about the photos and envisioning what it would be like, but getting there blew my expectations away. The cabins really do look as beautiful and enchanting as their website portrays, which is not always the case with other hotels. The room was absolutely gorgeous with wooden doors that swing open to let in the beauty of the surrounding jungle just outside your doorstep. Every bit of this cabin is carefully thought out from the elegant decor, to the hammock in the living area, to the rainshower showerheads in the bathroom, to the kitchen utensils and barbecue by the private pool. Yes, I said private pool!

It really is a hidden gem and a perfect location for getting away and just enjoying "pura vida". How can you not enjoy yourself with birds chirping, humming birds whizzing by and a warm sunny sky? I don't think we could have asked for more from our hotel in Puerto Viejo. It's pretty close to town and there are a lot of activities to take advantage of in the area. Tom and Zoë provide brochures if you don't already have your stay planned.

And speaking of Tom and Zoë, they were really a pleasure to have met. We sat down with them for a chat a couple of times during our stay and it was inspiring to hear about how they decided to move to Costa Rica and start this lodge, especially considering all the places in the world they have visited. They were very hospitable and accommodating and very interested in feedback in order to make our stay even more enjoyable.

Feel free to take a look at my Geckoes Lodge photo set on Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/pixiegirl729/sets/72157618598278840/

I can't wait to go back to Costa Rica, and when I do, I will for sure be coming back to Geckoes Lodge!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiegirl729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

The most cherished part of our holiday in Costa Rica was our 11 night stay at Geckoes Lodge in their Casa del Bosque. It was truly enchanting. The house is a very solid and exquisite piece of architecture with well-designed lighting that helps to capture the many thoughtful details. Beautiful landscaping surrounded us while a delicious plunge pool and a hammock in the shade tended to our afternoon relaxation. Tasteful decor, a fully-equipped kitchen and a wonderful bathroom and shower are just a few of the many features. The most favourite aspect of the house for us was the bedroom. Five double doors swing wide open, allowing us to feel in the full presence of the jungle. High, well-ventilated ceilings created a delightful cross breeze which kept us cool at night and a fabulous bed with high quality sheets and pillows found us sleeping like we've never slept before. Full appreciation is given to the architect of this magnificent home during a tropical rainstorm when heavy rain cascades down and through well-designed channels and pathways to keep us completely dry and yet unbelievably open to nature.

We enjoyed the best of all worlds - the privacy and exotic nature of the jungle on our doorstep along with the gorgeous beach and all its quaint beach-side restaurants and markets in close proximity.
Our hosts were so very gracious, our safety, security and privacy was well-considered, and our home was well maintained and immaculately cleaned daily. We can not say enough good things about this lovely vacation rental. We're definitely coming back and we can not wait to share this lovely stay with our family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2009

For us to get as far away from civilization as possible was important so when we arrived at Geckoes Lodge and were welcomed by Zoe and Tom we were more than pleasantly surprised.
The rain forest lodge house we had rented was situated back off the road on a knoll in the partial shadow of a large canopy tree full of birds of all types. We were shown the layout of a very tastefully built lodge house by Tom with all the luxuries one would expect from a 5 star hotel plus a plunge pool and then left to unwind. The plunge pool was most welcome as the later part of the trip had been pretty dusty and we just wanted take a cool dip, have a drink or two and relax. What overcame us pretty quickly,besides the drinks, was the sheer luxury and thoughtful layout of Cas del Bosque, our particular lodge house,as well as the way it had been set in the jungle. The sounds of the jungle took over even though it was still early afternoon, so enabling us to shake off the memories of the so called civilization we had left behind the day before. There is so much nature surrounding one so it takes a while to get use it so take your time and enjoy it.
The best part of Geckoes Lodge besides,Tom and Zoe and their hospitality, is the location in relationship to the coastal road (1K) and the numerous beautiful beaches and great restaurants. Now we have to say something more about the restaurants. We like our food and like a diversified range of food and that is what we found readily available,inexpensive,fresh,really fresh and and made to surprisingly high standards. There are numerous restaurants in different locations all relatively close to Geckoes Lodge that one can walk to, ride a bike or take a car to . Along with the restaurants are numerous activities to numerous to list that both Tom and Zoe can advise you on before travel down to Geckoes do call them so you arrived prepared.
As to what we did not like I can only say is that we got tired of the potholes and the dust and found ourselves praying for a quick cloud burst to settle things.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gglasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicureo
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Fantastic cabin where the bedroom have doors (terraces) to all sides and an extremly fine dark wooden floor. The kitchen and living area is outside which means the room does not have walls and leaves you with all the views and sounds of the jungle around you. There are big butterflies passing through the living "room" and from there you can observe hummingbirds in the flowers around. And there is as well a plunge pool. Fantastic!!! If you love nature and like to have a first class accommodation that is defintely the place. The kitchen is fully equipped and as a welcome there was a good Chilean Chardonnay in the fridge. It is extremly romantic. And the owners are very lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,442 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
671 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
633 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tree House Lodge
Tree House Lodge
#17 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geckoes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geckoes Lodge

Property: Geckoes Lodge
Address: Margarita Road | Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geckoes Lodge has two luxury holiday houses, each with a private plunge pool in a magnificent rain forest setting. Each house has a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, bedrooms with bathrooms en suite, terrace and barbecue next to your private pool. It's a place to escape to but only minutes from spectacular beaches, superb restaurants and all the activities this coast has to offer. Holiday in Barefoot Luxury at Geckoes Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Geckoes Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing