We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rocking J's
Nearby Hotels
$146
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$132
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Escape Caribeno(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$71
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Banana Azul(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Boutique Indalo(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$65
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Maritza(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shawandha Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blue Conga(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$75
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Loco Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveler rating
116
141
99
61
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
141
99
61
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstile mosaicspuerto viejoevery inchfun placebeach accessbackpackershammocksbonfiremozaicbikerentalcaribbean
Filter
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 489 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2009

ive been to hostels all over the world and this one is amazing.. filled with inspirations for an artist with the mozeic all over the place. the restuaraNT IS AMAZING everything about rocking js is amazing and thats it!

Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
Thank LuanaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

I think every young traveler should try this place. The tents were a good value, the hammocks you could not go wrong with, but the rooms looked like a joke. We were planning on just 2 nights there as we worked our way down to Panama but ended up staying for 4 night then made a point to stay on our way back through.
The bar and restaurant there was a crap ton of fun and a very good eat!!! The brother of the owner I believe is a train chef so make a point to eat his specials!! The beer was cheep and smokes only $1.30. If you’re a "fun seeking" traveler then make a point to try this place out!
Oh and by the way we were all 30 years old just looking for a low key place to have a good time and this was it!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MstrGolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

One of the dirtiest and least organised places I have ever stayed at. I think it's obvious that they only get business by being Lonely Planet's favourite and because many tourists are afraid to go to places that aren't filled with other backpackers. They actually rent out tents that are lined up one next to another for the starving to death backpackers who couldn't possibly afford a private room. Everything was filthy and they charge for everything...even a cup of coffee. After one night here we went to Cabinas Lika Bird (which I couldn't find in Trip Advisor) and for the same money got a super clean private room in a little hotel with a super friendly owner. I'm embarressed to be a backpacker when I see how most of them choose to live!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lil_lottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

This place is REALLY dirty. Every inch of the place is filthy. We booked the King Suite and Junior Suite. Nicest they have. We walked in, so bad we walked out and went to another place. We didn't even care that we lost our money. When Jay got back he agreed and redid the junior suite that day, and started fixing the plumbing problem inthe main suite. Even with fixing that it is just to dirty for me. We met MANY people who had also made reservations and left. IMO if you get a hammock and are just out of highschool or college then you may be able to deal. Anyone over the age of 25 we met coldn't stay. Rockin J's is really fun, and a wonderful place to meet people. The restaurant is good. Jay has made a kingdom for himself, where he is the king ;) I admire him greatly for that. It is a fun place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrolfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

This is a great hostel for backpackers - huge with mozaic and original designs everywhere it not only is a great place to meet people but has a great atmosphere too. The bar/restaurant is really nice, the food is delicious although slightly on the expensive side. Rooms are dead cheap at $8 for a dorm and $5 for a hammock (incl. lockers). A 5 minute walk from "surfers beach" a huge stretch of white sand with surfers and swimmers, its location is good but is a good 10 minute walk away from the centre of Puerto Viejo. Ask reception to call a cab for $1/$2 each way.

Great chill out atmosphere!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews