We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rocking J's
Nearby Hotels
$195
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$128
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Escape Caribeno(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$71
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Banana Azul(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shawandha Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Boutique Indalo(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
$65
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Blue Conga(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Maritza(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Loco Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveler rating
116
141
99
61
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
141
99
61
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstile mosaicspuerto viejoevery inchfun placebeach accessbackpackershammocksbonfiremozaicbikerentalcaribbean
Filter
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 489 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

One reviewer likened the place to your favorite dive bar, and I second that. It's a little rough around the edges, but it'll occupy a soft spot in your heart. It's as disarmingly offbeat as it's owner, a John Belushi-like, kind-hearted stoner named...J. The place is a feast for your eyes as it's one big colorful mosaic, guests provided with the ceramic tiles to add to the artwork. It's sprawling with a small field for soccer and the like, and it's right on the beach. The bar/restaurant is more fun than any in the area with a pool table, foosball, great tunes and surprisingly amazing food. I had too much fun here and preferred it to the other local bars. It's a low cost hostel so don't expect a first class sleep, but you don't stay at J's to sleep. You stay to meet people from all over the world in a very hip environment and PARTY with them.

Room Tip: I liked sleeping in the hammocks best.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

What was once perhaps a really cool place to go has now turned into a dump. The staff is the rudest i have met anywhere in central america. And everything is incredibly overpriced. E.g. a full load of laundry costs 14 USD. You dont even pay that much at a backpackers in switzerland or norway - and this is bloody central america. Once the place got elected as 'our pick' in lonely planet, quality just went down hard. It's dirty, the showers and toilets are terrible, and the kitchen looks like something out of a horror movie. In addition, unlike in most other costa rican hostels, they dont have computers for guests or potable water. The only cool thing at the place is the end of the world arc that the owner has built in the backyard. Although the titanic in its current condition is more likely to float than that thing. If lonely planet takes itself serious as a travel book, it will delete this place from its next edition.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TonyVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I went here with a group of friends for spring break, we heard great things about Rocking Js so we decided to check it out, big mistake, hammocks smelled like urine and alcohol, they had what appeared to be fleas, my friends all had to keep switching hammocks, they were still dirty. three of us caught lice!!! at this hostel, no doubt; the hammocks, my friend tried a rooms but had to switch because it was so hot and noisy. drunks stumbling everywhere till late morning. and the owner J.. hit on my brothers girlfriend several times.it was a bad experience and would never return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Cozy welcoming Camping.
For real backpackers as we are. Not too many facilities, many mosquitoes, humid hammocks..but cool and easy. We met a lot of nice people and we had a great time in Rocking J's.
Really recommend it to other backpackers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Rocking J's. It really made the difference to our stay in Peurto Viejo, we would have been lost without the place! First of all, we arrived on an extremely rainy weekend - it rained constantly for 2 days without a break. We would have been bored out of our minds in any other hostel. But because Rocking J's is such a huge hostel, we made friends quickly and easily and passed the time playing (drinking) games! It's a very fun place, be sure you're ready to party on the weekends if you come here. We arrived on a Friday and stayed til Wednesday. Went out Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Tuesday - was great! Peurto Viejo itself is extremely extremely expensive. The food in the hostel is good, about 8 dollars for a main meal, but that seems to be going price in Peurto Viejo (we payed 6 dollars for 2 cans of tuna!!! ridiculous!)
One of the days, we got to paint a locker! It's a very artsy creative place, with a very cool atmosphere. On one of our days there, there was even a film shoot going on! Bit of entertainment for our rainy days. You can rent bikes as well, which was fun. The beach is about 10 minute walk along the forest out the back. The town is a good 15 minute walk, but I'd definitely recommend Rocking J's as the place to stay in Peurto viejo! We stayed in a tent, which turned out to be very comfy, although in the humid hot weather I'm not sure how it would work out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aoifekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews