We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be deleted from lonely planet”
Review of Rocking J's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocking J's
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

What was once perhaps a really cool place to go has now turned into a dump. The staff is the rudest i have met anywhere in central america. And everything is incredibly overpriced. E.g. a full load of laundry costs 14 USD. You dont even pay that much at a backpackers in switzerland or norway - and this is bloody central america. Once the place got elected as 'our pick' in lonely planet, quality just went down hard. It's dirty, the showers and toilets are terrible, and the kitchen looks like something out of a horror movie. In addition, unlike in most other costa rican hostels, they dont have computers for guests or potable water. The only cool thing at the place is the end of the world arc that the owner has built in the backyard. Although the titanic in its current condition is more likely to float than that thing. If lonely planet takes itself serious as a travel book, it will delete this place from its next edition.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TonyVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 485 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

I went here with a group of friends for spring break, we heard great things about Rocking Js so we decided to check it out, big mistake, hammocks smelled like urine and alcohol, they had what appeared to be fleas, my friends all had to keep switching hammocks, they were still dirty. three of us caught lice!!! at this hostel, no doubt; the hammocks, my friend tried a rooms but had to switch because it was so hot and noisy. drunks stumbling everywhere till late morning. and the owner J.. hit on my brothers girlfriend several times.it was a bad experience and would never return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Cozy welcoming Camping.
For real backpackers as we are. Not too many facilities, many mosquitoes, humid hammocks..but cool and easy. We met a lot of nice people and we had a great time in Rocking J's.
Really recommend it to other backpackers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Rocking J's. It really made the difference to our stay in Peurto Viejo, we would have been lost without the place! First of all, we arrived on an extremely rainy weekend - it rained constantly for 2 days without a break. We would have been bored out of our minds in any other hostel. But because Rocking J's is such a huge hostel, we made friends quickly and easily and passed the time playing (drinking) games! It's a very fun place, be sure you're ready to party on the weekends if you come here. We arrived on a Friday and stayed til Wednesday. Went out Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Tuesday - was great! Peurto Viejo itself is extremely extremely expensive. The food in the hostel is good, about 8 dollars for a main meal, but that seems to be going price in Peurto Viejo (we payed 6 dollars for 2 cans of tuna!!! ridiculous!)
One of the days, we got to paint a locker! It's a very artsy creative place, with a very cool atmosphere. On one of our days there, there was even a film shoot going on! Bit of entertainment for our rainy days. You can rent bikes as well, which was fun. The beach is about 10 minute walk along the forest out the back. The town is a good 15 minute walk, but I'd definitely recommend Rocking J's as the place to stay in Peurto viejo! We stayed in a tent, which turned out to be very comfy, although in the humid hot weather I'm not sure how it would work out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aoifekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The food at Rocking J's is amazing the staff that works the bar are fantastic!! I seriously love their vibe but everything else about Rocking J's sucks. The noise, the tents, the hammocks ugh never again but I would go back for the food so good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Rocking J's is not a place that you happen to stay at just to get by while you do more important things. Rocking J's is the reason you go to the area. Then- you happen to do some other things. The bar staff and food were amazing, my beers were only 2$ each, and it was clean. I went with 5 friends and we all slept in hammocks for two nights. The cool night air was great and you can hear the water while you relax. Another bonus is that this place attracts good people and you don't even need to leave to find a good time. I will absolutely be back.

Room Tip: Bug spray is necessary, not for the hostel, but for the area in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcudlob27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

if ur up for a party hostel this is the place,biggest hostel I've seen in central America,nice big area to chill out..lots of tents and hammocks for hire.

if you need a good night sleep ,this is not the place!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiefsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Kalunai Hostel
Kalunai Hostel
#6 of 121 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Butterfly Hotel
Blue Butterfly Hotel
#49 of 57 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
74 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa 506
Playa 506
#2 of 121 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Puerto Viejo
#68 of 121 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
114 reviews
4 mi away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#75 of 121 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
120 reviews
1 mi away
Selina
Selina
#18 of 121 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking J's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking J's

Address: Playa Salsa Brava, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 63735, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $14 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rocking J's 1.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rocking J's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocking j`s Hotel Puerto Viejo
Rocking J's Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing