We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste treat”
Review of Bread & Chocolate

Bread & Chocolate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Granby, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A taste treat”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Everything is delicious, the service is friendly and fast, and the coffee is amazing. Here's a hint: get the mint-chocolate brownie on the way out. You won't regret it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,069
    283
    61
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mmmm chocolate”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I stopped here twice during my stay for a quick afternoon chocolate fix. I tried the chocolate brownie with mocha iced coffee, the orange-ginger chocolate truffle and a caramel (my favorite!). They were all absolutely decadent and satisfying. The food looked great too, and the ambiance is nice--it's set a bit off the main road and has a more relaxed, open feel than some of the other restaurants in the area. Free WiFi is a plus if you want to sit and stay awhile.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reminds me of Panera Bread - only a whole lot better!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

As we were sitting in the restaurant, the atmosphere reminded me of the Panera Bread we used to go to in the states. Except:

1. The food is made from locally sourced fresh fruits, vegetables, coffee, chocolate, vanilla, and herbs.

2. In addition to the bakery goods, they also make their own ice cream, peanut butter, cream cheese, chocolate (from locally grown beans), candies, juices, and other items.

3. The restaurant is small, friendly, clean, casual, and open air.

4. The locally sourced coffee is served in a French Press to extract the best flavor.

Recommendations? For breakfast try the "slow cooked" scrambled eggs and fresh bagels - and of course the coffee. For lunch try any sandwich and the Gazpacho soup. I used to think my wife made the best Gazpacho but now I know better (she agrees). For dessert try anything with the home made ice cream.

You can't go wrong!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom_in_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A nice little american style restaurant. :)”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have visited Bread and Chocolate a lot of times now. Their bagel, egg, and cheese sandwich is very good. Their potato fries are killer! The waffle with chocolate sauce is also very good. For desserts… try their peanut butter truffle, balsamic vinegar truffle, (sounds weird, tastes great!) queen of sheba cake, almond chocolate tart, ginger bread cookies, and muffins are all very good. My person favorite:their brownies - especially the mint! Outrageously good! :)

For a refreshing drink try their ginger lemonade.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 255j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Place”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ate lunch there today for lunch and had the italian sandwich. Lunch was great however......the Mint brownies are outrageously good!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread & Chocolate also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Bread & Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing