We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing sandwiches!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bread & Chocolate

Bread & Chocolate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing sandwiches!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here one day for a quick bite--- and it turned out to be a delicious lunch. Definitely the best place to eat in downtown puerto veijo area! Highly recommend the turkey bacon sandwich. The potato salad is homemade and to die for!

Helpful?
Thank Travelbird4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,059
    282
    61
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST place to eat!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This restaurant was absolutely wonderful. It is tucked away hidden by trees which is awesome when it is super hot. The service was GREAT and the food was WONDERFUL! We were a little thrown off by the name, but they serve all kinds of food at a great price. Do not leave without trying this place out! Everything is fresh and they even offer baked goods that are made that day. Check it out!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mkc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

All I can say is this is an outstanding restaurant. It's owner, Tom and his servers make sure it is a very special experience. The creamy scrambled eggs are the best, served with fresh fruit and toast made from their homemade bread, to die for!
We returned a second day and had waffles, with cinnamon, homemade jam and whipped cream, one of the best I had ever eaten.
The prices are very reasonable, and I only wish they were open later for dinner!
A good reason to return to puerto Viejo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpatchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilamate, Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So good!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I fell in love with this place! Their food is so delicious and fresh! They make their own breads and other items. I usually try to eat at places that seem more "local", but I have no regrets trying this place out. The only bad thing was they started a week long remodel the second day I was in town, so I didn't have an opportunity to eat there more than once.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarmonyRosales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a sweet tooth”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I went here for an afternoon delight of something cool. We both had a milkshake and a peanut butter cup. OH MY GOODNESS!!! It was so yummy. The only had thing, they are not open 7days a week.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread & Chocolate also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Bread & Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing