We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and amazing food in a wonderful town.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bread & Chocolate

Bread & Chocolate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and amazing food in a wonderful town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

I visited this restaurant daily during my stay in PV. The restaurant is very inviting to families and solo travelers alike, and the waitresses are very sweet. It also doesn't hurt that the owner is very cute. This is by far the best breakfast and brunch in PV and most people who travel to PV make this their first stop. Everything on the menu is fresh (quality and consistency are the highest priority) and made in-house. I would recommend anything on the menu (you can't go wrong) and to also try some of the fabulous desserts (peanut butter cups and mint brownies are my favorite).

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel2020_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,040
    274
    59
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Another great visit; a must visit every trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

I first ate at Bread and Chocolate in August 2011, and go at least once every time I visit Limon Province. Simply the best breakfast anywhere in the Province. Be sure to buy the bread to take home; it's made on site and really good, as are all the chocolate deserts. Purchasing T-shirts on site assists local charities, so please consider this!
This is my 3rd visit to Costa Rica after August, 2011, and the standards are the same: Tom's crew serves excellent meals and deserts! I took my wife and daughter there after the daughter's sleepover in the Cocles area. The place was full, as usual, a testiment to how great the food is. It was as wonderful as the first time; Pura Vida, Tom!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rink64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Our waitress had a somewhat rotten attitude but it is owned by a cute young guy who created a cool menu of normal American breakfast foods paired with exquisite desserts and fresh ingredients!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hueneme, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

This place is AMAZING! I loved it, if you go to Puerto Veijo you must eat here! delish!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank darlizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

the food was one of the highlights of my trip, and this place had a lot to do with that!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread & Chocolate also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Bread & Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing