We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”
Review of Pagalu Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pagalu Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Pagalu is a fantastic hostel - it is extremely well designed, in a great location and run by lovely staff. It isn't a party place and it wasn't as social as some hostels, but as always, that depends on the people staying there at the time. I loved this place and if I return to Puerto Viejo, I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KVMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    43
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
80
114
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2011

This was a great hostel in every detail! The accomodations are modern, clean, and all in great condition. There's a great open community area with a great kitchen and music fitting to the mood always playing. Although there's no beach view, I would much rather know I have a hot shower and comfortable, quiet bed waiting when I leave the beach. One of the days of our stay, we were trapped inside the hostel due to a downpour of rain. However, it worked out great because we got time to sit around, meet some of the other travelers, and enjoy the ambiance. I would HIGHLY recommend it!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I've stayed at hostels in Europe, Japan, and Central America, and this was the best. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The kitchen was well equipped, with lots of dishes and cookware, and cheap cold drinking water on an honor system. The common area is open to the air on three sides. The razor wire fence around the perimeter isn't pretty, but makes you feel totally secure with the windows wide open at night to enjoy the breeze. They even had free WiFi. Only one caveat: if you're looking for a wild party every night, this isn't the right hostel for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twisteeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

i typically travel alone, so i tend to look for hostels where i can meet a lot of other backpackers. this is the first hostel i've ever stayed in where no one was particularly friendly. granted, it's definitely the luck of the draw...but i really didn't have much fun here. puerto viejo was really amazing, and i met tons of people in the area, and just used my hostel as a place to sleep at night. it was very clean, but just didn't feel very welcomed there at all. but as a tip...everyone should try to make their way to the sloth sanctuary if they are staying in the area! it's only a 30 minute bus ride north and the baby sloths are really adorable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greanpea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in a private room with bathroom. At $28 it is a little expensive for Costa Rica hostels, but it was well worth it. The room itself is more like a hotel room rather than a private hostel room. Good size, comfy new bed, ceiling fan, bedsides and a very nice tiled bathroom. Walls were thick so sleep quality great. Area to hang towels, wet clothes on balconies outside. We walked in without reservation and were lucky to get a room. Many people were turned away during our stay, very popular hostel. Shared areas great with well equipped kitchen and relaxed lounge area. Hostel does have wifi, but only for apple devices which was strange. Only 2 computers which is not enough for the number of people staying, need to put up a sign with 30mins max or something as some people just take way too long. Location great next to mega supermarket. Is a little dodgy at night, but its like that all over town. Was one of the nicest hostels i've stayed in, would definately recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

After travelling during 4 months in Central America (Mexico, Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Panama) and sleeping in lots and lots budget/backpackers hostels, this was the best, without a doubt. We paid US$ 20 for a double room with private bathroom. The hostel is beautiful, modern, clean, new (or fairly new), the kitchen is well equipped... it could well be in an architecture book/magazine!!!! Free WiFi... excellent choice. If you don't have a laptop, you may also use two Apple computers they have there. Amazing!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Thanks to the review I found on Trip Advisor, I decided to toss the lonely planet and what a great decision - this is perhaps my favorite hostel of all time. I was lucky enough to score a single room - it was simple, very clean, new and very comfortable mattress and pillow. The room was even cleaned every other day. The Swiss brothers that run the place were very friendly and helpful. The common areas were awesome - great kitchen, lounging areas, etc. I can't recommend enough. The word is obviously getting out, on my return they were booked, so reserve ahead!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jivika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
633 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#5 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocking J's
Rocking J's
#48 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagalu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagalu Hostel

Property: Pagalu Hostel
Address: Av. 69, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 121-7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this nice cozy hostel. Choose between Dorms, Singles and Doubles in in a good central part of town. The bus station, supermarket, restaurants and bars are within two blocks from the hostel as is the beach! Enjoy free internet, free coffee & tee, hot showers, nice common areas and great beds. Lockers are included with the dorms! Discover the Caribbean side of Costa Rica with us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pagalu Hotel Puerto Viejo
Pagalu Hostel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing