We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”
Review of Pagalu Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pagalu Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great hostel”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was really happy with this place. The common area was spacious and open, in between the common area and private rooms were big trees. We got a private double room with shared bathroom - room was clean and tidy. It's a good location, not a party hostel, but everyone who wanted to go out just headed out to the bars.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    43
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
82
115
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Pagalu is a nice modern hostel, a nice place to relax, not a party hostel. It's located very near the center of Puerto Viejo, so everything is within easy walking distance. There's a supermarket across the street and a great restaurant right around the corner.

It's a pretty modern place. Nice dorm rooms, mine only had 4 beds (two bunks), I'm not sure about the rest. Each bed has a charging outlet and a night light. The beds are clean and comfortable.

There is a nice large common area, though I mostly saw people eating, reading, and smart-phoning there, as opposed to being social. That might say more about the people that were staying there at the time though, rather than the hostel itself. There's a pretty nice kitchen attached to the common area. They have oil, salt, etc. available for everyone to use so you don't have to buy that stuff. They also have water refills, 500ml (16oz) for 100 colones, which is about 18 cents. Cheaper than the supermarket.

The facility seems secure, with a gate that they buzz you through. The rooms have giant lockers plenty big for a backpack, and they have a built-in lock. The desk staff are usually friendly, and always helpful. They were happy to point me to a good restaurant, the nearest ATM, etc.

Overall quite a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I really enjoyed staying in Pagalu Hostel, wich is actually the best hostel I've been in all Costa Rica! The place is really clean, the commun space big and bright with a kitchen open all day long and full equiped, they even provide all the basic as salt, oil, spices, coffe,......The hot showers are just great , and the four beds dorms are quiet, equiped with fan ,reading lamp and huge locker. Most of all, the staff and the owner are really helpfull and genuinly kind, they give you good and neutral informations with a smile and share their good mood. I will definitly go back there and recommand it.
Giu

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights in a private double with a shared bathroom and really have no complaints. Amenities are all close by, having the water refills is very useful too. The shared area is really nice and allowed everyone to be really sociable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful too. Bare in mind that they like it to be quiet after 11pm but there are plenty of places to go to in town so it isnt a problem. If I had any complaint it would be to request a mirror in the room as some mornings there were several people gathered around one trying to apply suncream, but that is a very petty request! would definitely recommend Pagalu to anyone visiting Puerto Viejo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunprecedented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Amazing hostel and especially excellent stuff! We stayed there for 5 nights and we don't have anything bad to say. Very very clean, great shower and very comfortable rooms! The stuff is amazing helping with everything you need!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

After staying in several hotels of the same pricecategory, hostel Palagu offered us excellent value for our money. We stayed in the dorms which are spacious and the shared showers are warm and tidy. The shared kitchen and hang out area are next to the garden and are inviting and clean. There is also a big locker in the dorm rooms to safely guard your belongings. The location is excellent if you like a safe haven in an otherwise vibrant beachtown. For me personnaly the only things which could be improved is a better functioning fan!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackay
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for 5 nights in both a dorm and private room and thought this was a very well-designed hostel with friendly staff. Very clean, well-equipped kitchen and a nice chill out area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImoMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
639 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#5 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagalu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagalu Hostel

Property: Pagalu Hostel
Address: Av. 69, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 121-7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this nice cozy hostel. Choose between Dorms, Singles and Doubles in in a good central part of town. The bus station, supermarket, restaurants and bars are within two blocks from the hostel as is the beach! Enjoy free internet, free coffee & tee, hot showers, nice common areas and great beds. Lockers are included with the dorms! Discover the Caribbean side of Costa Rica with us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pagalu Hotel Puerto Viejo
Pagalu Hostel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing