We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recomended”
Review of Pagalu Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pagalu Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great place for everything. The cleaness is perfect. The bathrooms, the kitchen, the dorms and the common place are just exactly what backpakers need!
The staff is very good.
The location is perfect, not on the main street which is good for the noise. Bike rental next door, and supermarket 50m away.
We loved this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole_globetrotteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 345 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

It is hard to find a clean hostal when travelling.Rented a private room with private bathroom, and because it was so cheap I didnt expect much. The room and shower were surprisingly big, comfortable and clean. The staff was very helpful. Met lots of people from all over the world. Good location as it is right in town, and felt really safe too.This is probably your best bet if youre looking for quality and cheap accomodation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eternaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hostel is the best we have stayed in over 4 months in Central America! Both dorm and private rooms are spacious and immaculate. Great kitchen which is always clean with free salt, cooking oil, garlic etc. Wonderful facilities and common areas to sit and relax. Safe and secure with very helpful staff. The supermarket is just around the corner which is extremely handy!! Don't stay anywhere else in puerto Viejo and book ahead as it is very popular!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hailz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I planned on staying one day in Puerto Viejo until I stumbled upon this hostel. Truly, I wasn't sure I'd be able to find something that was quality at a price I could afford. Not only is Pagalu quality, it's fantastic. The open air concept is wonderful--I met people immediately. It's not backpacker-esque. It's far more modern, yet very friendly. I am so very happy that I found this place.

Great rooms.
Nice, modern showers.
Internet that works!
Helpful, friendly staff.
Beautifully planned and decorated.
Quiet.

Room Tip: There is no reason to pay more. They are great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Great hostal! Dorms are 6-person and everyone has huge lockers you can store your bags in with bedside light & shelf in each bunk. Private rooms are fairly spacious too.

Very clean hostel, good showers.

Great open-plan socialising area with big kitchen; and really helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLPKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I love the Pagalú Hostel! We had such a good time there and spent almost a week at the hostel. The rooms are nice and clean and the staff is very helpful. The best thing about the hostel is the lobby area with the open kitchen. This is where you can really meet people, socialize and hang out in between partying and exploring the area. I would stay there again any time!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nischu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great clean, quiet and friendly place for staying in the centre of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca. 30 seconds away from the supermarket.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
660 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Playa 506
Playa 506
#3 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#9 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagalu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagalu Hostel

Address: Av. 69, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 121-7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this nice cozy hostel. Choose between Dorms, Singles and Doubles in in a good central part of town. The bus station, supermarket, restaurants and bars are within two blocks from the hostel as is the beach! Enjoy free internet, free coffee & tee, hot showers, nice common areas and great beds. Lockers are included with the dorms! Discover the Caribbean side of Costa Rica with us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pagalu Hotel Puerto Viejo
Pagalu Hostel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing