We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jungle Love Cafe - CLOSED

Jungle Love Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Fusion, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a small family run restaurant that is located below our home. Our food is a fusion style of flavors that we love and hope you will too. We try to have a little something for everyone. Everything is homemade and we use almost all locally sourced ingredients. When you come to eat at Jungle Love you are eating in our home....We hope you feel welcome and at ease. And we can't wait to meet you. :)P
Indiana
Level Contributor
225 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“best restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We enjoyed the attention both to service and to the cuisine at this small restaurant. Reservations recommended as the buzz is out. I cannot recall what we ate except that my daughter had a pizza and they had sold out of a couple of items, but I do recall liking it all. This is the only place where we felt like the price was commensurate with the quality of the meal, as we are picky foodies ourselves. Restaurant has all-outdoor seating and small parking lot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gazooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    59
    22
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Will Try Again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Didn't get to try the tuna because the fish weren't biting due to the weather. We ordered the pizza with most of the toppings. The crust was bland and tough, and there was a lot of raw garlic on the pizza. Lots of garlic is good, in my opinion, but raw garlic is harsh and I think it would have tasted much better if the garlic had been sauteed first to tone it down and just remove the harshness. The toppings were fresh and ample, and there was plenty of cheese and a nice hint of fresh herb. Could have been a great pizza with improvements to the crust and garlic preparation. We had the Jungle Love Milkshake (we asked to have it without the guaro) and it was delicious. We would like to go back and try the tuna and the chicken. The service was excellent. Only a few tables so reservations are recommended. Open for dinner only. Prices are fair.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had a lovely night out at Jungle Love. Delicious pizza, great cocktails and fine service! We really liked the space as well. For a night out with the kids, it hit the mark. The folks who worked there made us feel right at home and gave our kids lots of attention. They have mentioned this place several times as well. Definitely make some time to have dinner here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfection!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Just a 10 min. taxi ride south of Puerto Viejo, this lovely spot in the jungle will dazzle your taste buds. The owners, a charming American couple, are friendly, attentive, and eager to please. He does the cooking. She creates the delectable desserts. We shared the Tokyo Tuna (a very generous portion bursting with flavor) and the fish of the day (Dorado in ginger sauce). Entrees are beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. These are professional chefs, and you can taste it in every bite. For dessert, we shared the baked lime pudding and a slice of chocolate decadence cake. Cake was rich and very yummy, but the pudding was so light and bursting with fresh lime, that my friend ordered a second one (all for himself). The setting is lovely; outdoor seating with white holiday-style lights to set a nice ambience.

Make a reservation in advance, as seating is limited.

We noted that they also rent rooms here. I didn't see them, but am guessing that they are as nice as the restaurant. Beach is close by, so this would be a great place to stay (away from the funkiness of downtown Puerto Viejo).

This is was definitely a dining highlight for our two week stay in Costa Rica!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best margaritas in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I visited Jungle Love 3 times during our stay in Costa Rica. We were on our honeymoon and Jungle Love was one of the best parts of our trip! During our first visit the owner had a large party coming in, but still took the time to serve us some absolutely incredible margaritas at the bar. We made reservations for the next night. I highly recommend making a reservation! You don't want to miss the chance of visiting this awesome place! After our incredible dinner the next evening (Chips and Guacamole, Chipotle Chicken Pizza, and of course more delicious margaritas) we made another reservation! I just wish we had found out about Jungle Love sooner, so we could have visited more! We will definitely be back to Costa Rica and back to Jungle Love!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JasonToddSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Love Cafe also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing