We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cosily stay in Punta Uva”
Review of Cabinas Punta Uva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Punta Uva
Certificate of Excellence
cologne
2 reviews
“The cosily stay in Punta Uva”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Absolutely recommendable!
Pepa and Edi made as such a great time in their cosy and nice bungalows. We had many good hangarounds with these to pleasant Spaniard.
Located directly at the beach, there is nothing better to do as swimming in the sea, relaxing, hanging around in hammocks, watching monkeys and sloths. You don´t need nothing than your bikini, a good book and fresh coconuts from the huge garden.
The bungalows are absolutely clean and equipped with a ventilator and a mosquito-mesh. There is well equipped kitchen that is used from to bungalows. Edi makes fresh coffee for the guests every morning. When I think about our great stay...I start missing Pepa and Edi and Cabinas Punta Uva! One day we´ll come back:-)...maybe to make a diving - lesson with Edi!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanasebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    18
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
54
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the cabinas Punta Uva for 5 nights AND came back at the end of our vacation 2 weeks later for another 5 nights because we liked it that much!! The cabinas are located right at the beach in the middle of a forest with a lot of wildlife. It's clean, safe and there is a kitchen you can use. Edi and Pepa are the best hosts and another reason why we came back :-)! The most friendly and helpful people you can imagine and you will feel at home from beginning. If you don't like standard Resort-vacation and if you enjoy the quiet of the nature and a beautiful beach...Cabinas Punta Uva it is!! We will be back any time :-)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Silv67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this place and it really is spectacular. Could improve the kitchen area, buying better tools and improving the faucet. The grounds look lush though neglected, as the gateway to the cabins. Upon arrival we were not informed about the facilities of the place, for example the use of WIFI.

It is a beautiful place but requires some maintenance

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have been traveling Costa Rica for 30 years mostly on the Pacific coast. We decided to return to the Caribbean side for our 6 week vacation. We stumbled across this place while enjoying the beautiful beaches at Punta UVA. The cabinas are spotless and in a beautiful garden setting full of wildlife. The sloths in the trees, the monkeys the humming birds nesting on the plants outside our room gave us something to watch everyday from the very comfortable surroundings. Eddy and his lovely wife are from Spain and make you feel right at home. They have a great outdoor kitchen, seating area that really makes this place special. Everything you need is their so at 5 am when your up you can have coffee and watch the sunrise over this awesome beach and not disturb anyone else. The sound of the surf is so soothing that I have never sleep so well. I spent days spotting and photographing some of the great wildlife. The most we have seen yet. The water is so clear and the beach very wide and spotless. We can't wait to return next year to stay even longer.

Room Tip: Just a little ways out of town so you have to watch for the sign. Location is great because you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flody444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stumbled upon this place by accident. The PERFECT location for peace and quiet....except early in the morning when listening to the howling monkeys only feet above our cabin, but how cool is that? You feel like you are in the middle of the rain forest but then you hit the beautiful sand only feet away. Eddie and Peppa were the brand new caretakers (I believe we were their first guests) and we could not have asked for friendlier or more accommodating hosts. I've read some of the other reviews and have to say this....if you are planning your first trip to Costa rica and expect everything to be spotless, pristine and air conditioned, you better book your stay at a 5 star all inclusive resort. If you prefer to get off the grid a bit, explore, meet fabulous people and have an adventure, Cabinas Punta Uva is a great place to start!! We are hoping to swing back by and stay again. Thank you soooo much Eddie and Peppa (and to our 4 legged walking companions, Makki and Una).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tigra De Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Yo con mi familia, estubo en cabinas Punta Uva y tenia muy bueno tiempo, excelente servicio, habitacion, baño con cosina esta muy limpio, leer un poste anterior y pruebe econtrar un raton y no se puede:)! La Playa nosotros le gustamos mucho, eso primero ves que fuimos al Caribian costa y playa Uva le gusta mas que otros - limpio, agua transparente, arena amarillo, muy buena vista, cabinas muy cerco de la playa! Quiero desir mucho gracias al señor Alejandro y señor Domingo por muy bueno tiempo y ellos ayuda! Cuando vamos al proxima ves, sabemos a donde acostamos!
Denis, Olga y Andrey
I and my famaly been at cabinas Punta Uva and had very good time! Excelent service, room bathroom and kitchen are very clean, we saw last post about rat and try find it, but can not:)
We like this beach so much and more than another - very clean, transperent water, yellow sand, perfect view, hostel very closed from the beach! I want say thank you so much for Alejandro and Domingo for their help and perfect time that we had! When we decided next time come at the beach, we know where we will stap!!!
Denis, Olga y Andrey
Я и моя семья остановились в кабинах Punta Uva и провели очень хорошо время! Отличный сервис, комната, туалет и кухня очень чистые, мы прочитали предыдущий отзыв и попытались найти крысу, но так и не нашли ;) Этот пляж нам понравился больше чем другие - чистый, прозрачная вода, желтый песок и райский вид! Мы хотим сказать огромное спасибо Алехандро и Доминго за их помощь и прекрасно проведенное время, когда мы в следующий раз поедем на Карибы мы знаем где остановимся!!!
Denis, Olga y Andrey

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlgayDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This place is a little paradise, it´s so peaceful and beutiful. The bungalows are great, with big verandas where we spent a lot of time as we had a lot of rain. There is a very good and clean outdoor kitchen where it´s nice to hang around as well. The dogs of the hotel are big but friendly, one of them followed us on our long beach walks. There are a few restaurants and a little shop within 5 minutes walking distance. A lot more restaurants and a better supermarket are by the next beach, a 15-minutes walk. The young spanish people running the hotel are friendly enough but didn´t seem to have much experience from running a hotel. The bungalows were not cleaned during our 5-day stay which puts down the grades one step.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SwedenFamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
675 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#3 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Punta Uva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Punta Uva

Property: Cabinas Punta Uva
Address: Playa Punta Uva 100mts South Rest. Selvin, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic cabinas in a beautiful JUNGLE surroundings. On front of Caribbean Sea. Jungle with ocean view. Room with double beds and private bathroom. We offer, relax, jungle and sea. Do you need more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Punta Uva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Punta Uva Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cabinas Punta Uva Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing